Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor

Unilever Reviews

Updated December 17, 2017
1,758 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Paul Polman
Paul Polman
885 Ratings

1,758 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Amazing People and Purpose and an Awesome Place to Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The list of reasons why Unilever is the best place to work is way too long. So below are just a few:

    Purpose – UL realizes the value of people who have a purpose as much as our brands with a purpose.
    People – the organization cares about their employees as much as they do customers and consumers. Also the people who work at UL are smart, nice and most importantly authentic.
    Brands – It is really an awesome feeling to let people know you work for this amazing company Unilever, and “Oh by the way, they make Dove, Hellmann’s, Ben & Jerry’s”.
    Flexibility – agile work environment. Being able to get your job done from wherever, whenever.
    Empowerment – being encouraged to own and make decisions and knowing that the leaders have your back.

    and many more...

    Cons

    With all large organization, process can get in the way of being able to get things done quickly. Unilever has done a tremendous job over the past few years of tackling this barrier by changing the way we work. This has removed a lot of the complexity which has allowed things to be done quicker and simpler.

    Unilever Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for providing such an insightful review of your time with us so far. It's great to see you mention a number of positives including our shared values, colleagues, brands and... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment
    Flexible
    Room for advancement

    Cons

    Wastes a lot of time and energy on various "goals" not essential to the business. Millions spent on various programs, but then bonuses and pay levels stagnant?

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the business more

    Unilever Response

    Dec 14, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback - it's very much appreciated. It's good to see that you mention the work environment, flexibility and progression opportunities as particular highlights of... More

  3. "Customer Development UFLP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    I love the rotational aspect of this program! Great opportunity to explore different areas of the business as well as different global offices.

    Cons

    None that jump out immediately.

    Unilever Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Solid company with great vision and mission. Good benefits compared with other companies in NJ. Great products that make the employees proud of.

    Cons

    Employees are overloaded and performing two to three jobs. Great policies on well being but reality are employees that can barely have lunch time. Weak leadership that has different bias from the company's main mission on diversity and inclusion.

    Advice to Management

    Align senior leadership behaviors with company's values and mission.

    Unilever Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your comments, including your points around our vision, overload of work and ensuring company vision is put in place and will ensure... More


  5. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Elizabeth, NJ
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Elizabeth, NJ

    I have been working at Unilever (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is a work life/home life balance

    Cons

    Vacation time could be more.

    Unilever Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "A flexible, global experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    family-friendly benefits
    international exposure
    brand / marketing experience and training
    flexible working

    Cons

    promotional opportunities
    salary is not competive

    Unilever Response

    Nov 13, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review. It's good to see that you highlight the benefits on offer and flexible working as particular positives. We wish you continued success and all the best.


  7. "Quickly falling apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Operator in Jefferson City, MO
    Current Employee - Technical Operator in Jefferson City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Decent pay, solid insurance but switching to a new provider next year so that could change and there are some pretty good people that work there.

    Cons

    12 hours schedule is a disaster, HR is a joke, work/life balance on night shift is non existent, constant management changes, over spending on new equipment with no acknowledgment that it takes skill people to run it, no training plan in place and the list could go on indefinitely, Overall this place is good for a decent paycheck and that is about it.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a plan and stick with it, hold yourselves to the same standard that you hold your employees.

    Unilever Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention renumeration and good colleagues as particular positives of your role... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "procurement analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great brands, flexibility, good benefits

    Cons

    political, hard to get promoted

    Unilever Response

    Nov 7, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great brand name company with a strong reputation, great/nice people to work with, flexible hours that are very accommodating of life needs, strong brands that offer a great learning opportunity

    Cons

    offices located in NJ/hard to get to, size of the company means projects often move slowly, accountability sometimes difficult because process and division of labor means no one ever owns an entire chain of responsibility (e.g., when experiencing supply chain issues with a new product launch, no one on either the brand or supply chain teams was able to determine what the cause was and no one was necessarily empowered to step up)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to give employees opportunities across different parts of the business. Restructuring efforts should continue to focus on enabling business to be more nimble and give more ownership to individuals

    Unilever Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us. It’s really pleasing to see that you highlight a number of positives, including the brand name, colleagues... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    The company is very large, as it owns various brands worldwide. There is opportunity to grow depending on your upper management. Discounts on brands they own, profit sharing...etc.

    Cons

    Some of the management will act as if they are listening, but will totally ignore your concern unless it affects them directly. More sick days and less targeting of certain employees.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more..they are the front line of your company.

    Unilever Response

    Nov 16, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention opportunities for growth and perks as particular positives of your... More


Showing 1,758 of 3,300 reviews
Reset Filters