Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor

Unilever Reviews

Updated May 23, 2017
700 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Paul Polman
Paul Polman
368 Ratings

700 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • work life balance might be tough (in 156 reviews)

  • Matrix structure can slow down decision making as does need to build consensus for all major decisions (in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Procurement Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Employee empowerment; diversity; training opportunities;employee performance management system (is not perfect) but works

    Cons

    High turnover of employees; having Unilever on the resume is a selling point!

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Unilever Response

    May 22, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thanks for your review and feedback. It’s great to see that you highlight employee empowerment and training opportunities as particular positives of your time here. We’ll ensure that your comment ... More


  2. "Unilever"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work life balance
    Lots of career opportunities
    Supports further education

    Cons

    Lower average salary compared to regional and national averages

    Advice to Management

    Continue to give challenging opportunities to your team members to allow them to grow and develop

    Unilever Response

    May 18, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  3. "team leader (assistant manager)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    we worked as a team good vibes

    Cons

    not too much footfall after certain hours we don't have a lot of consumers


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Business Insights Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity for Advancement
    Collaborative working environment

    Cons

    Lisle office relocation to New Jersey

    Unilever Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it's great to receive feedback. We'll ensure your comments and experiences are passed on to the respective teams. We wish you continued success ... More


  6. "HR Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Trumbull, CT
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Trumbull, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever (More than a year)

    Pros

    Caliber of management and most employees was outstanding. Really worked as a team. Open discussions of ideas encouraged by management and often acted upon.

    Cons

    Sometimes get too bogged down in "the process."

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you do.

    Unilever Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your previous role with us. It's great to see that you mention management, the team ethos and open discussion as particular positives ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I found Unilever to be a great company to work for. The people and atmosphere are friendly and the company listens to and respects their employees and their feedback. They offer a lot of benefits (i.e. stock options, 401k, company store, fitness center...) and support a work/life balance.

    Cons

    My department was located in a different building and sometimes we felt isolated from the rest of the company, however, they are in the process of incorporating all departments into one building which will resolve this issue.


  8. "Operator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Sikeston, MO
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Sikeston, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoy the job

    Cons

    I havent come across any cons

    Unilever Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feedback. We'll ensure your comments are passed on to the respective teams. We wish you continued success and all the best.


  9. Helpful (14)

    "Great people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/Marketing Middle Management in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Former Employee - Sales/Marketing Middle Management in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities for advancement in cross functional areas. Senior management always does what they say they will do. Speed is built into the culture and we could get things done. I worked here for many years and everyone of them was enjoyable. I wish I had not left. Really smart people everywhere.

    Cons

    No real negatives. For a company of this size to run as well as it does is amazing.

    Advice to Management

    To many meetings and to much one size fits all in process. Sometimes goals were not aligned from top to bottom. Although the numbers have to work, Finance should not be running the company. Additionally, sales should stop thinking they they run the company. Cut the travel budgets on huge meetings they are a waste of money and people would be happier with smaller local team meetings. Another thing agency's and consultants are ripping you off. The consumer would never notice if those budgets were cut by 1/3

    Unilever Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review - we really do appreciate the feedback. It's pleasing to see that you mention a number of positives surrounding your previous role with us, including career ... More


  10. "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Trumbull, CT
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Trumbull, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very flexible with working remotely - Unilever embraces agile working and provides the proper tool sets to allow employees to work remotely. Great benefits and employee perks. .

    Cons

    Very political environment, it is very much about who you know and having someone up the ladder advocating for you. Global teams require working very much off hours. Agile working offsets this but there are times 11PM calls are followed up by 530AM calls the next morning depending on the region you are working with.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to find a way to remove the politics, Unilever is a great company with great people .


  11. "Brand Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brandmanager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Former Employee - Brandmanager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing company and people. Best company I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    Slow to promote and career is too dependent on the manager.

    Unilever Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feedback. We'll ensure your comments are passed on to the respective teams. We wish you continued success and all the best.


Showing 700 of 2,808 reviews
Reset Filters