Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor

Unilever Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
210 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Paul Polman
Paul Polman
75 Ratings

210 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Burlington, VT
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Always something new to work on.

    Cons

    Engineering management structure keep changing always in doubt of next project.

    Unilever Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We'll ensure it is passed on to the respective teams. We hope your new role is proving successful and we wish you all the best.


  2. "Unilever is a company that you can only get a job there if you know someone already there who manages people..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Supply Chain Analyst in Trumbull, CT
    Former Contractor - Supply Chain Analyst in Trumbull, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    They promote a well rounded background of skills. Often you see people who have done accounting, customer service, material planning, logistics, and sales across their value chain. Each position you stay in it at min 12-18 months depending on supervisors discretion. I find this to be their best and worst policy.

    Cons

    Favoritism and politics are a real problem here. Thats true of any company but with larger companies its worse. People in power think they are untouchable, questionable ethics, always about who has more pull up high to override a decision. They value more about an educational degree than relative experience. In their eyes, 20 years in a relative management postion with no college degree is less valuable than 2 years experience with a bachelors. I was passed over multiple full time positions my background matched because of this. It sure felt like it. Maybe they didnt want to pay the finders fee from the temp agency, who knows. I had positive recommendations from management too that vouched with the hiring staff. Still nothing. Gave up and concidered myself lucky. I got used, overworked, and thrown away once they no longer needed me.

    Relies on temp contract workers with good skill sets and background to improve process in departments with the potential of a full time position. To cut costs of adding new employee, the temp TRAINS an existing full time employee who came from another department internally so there is no need for the company to add head count with you.

    In addition to the 'best and worst policy' i mentioned above, as a result there are few solid experts in the departments, long term projects drag on because you can be allowed to transfer to another department, leaving the project to essentially start from scratch with a new person having to learn about it. A common side effect of this policy is the middle management is often gutted every few years where people are fired or moved around while director/executive leadership remains relatively unchanged.

    Advice to Management

    Temp contractors are treated unequally to full time employees. If you promote internally, dont forget the people who cleaned up your mess of an organization instead of kicking a hard worker to the curb. I certainly wouldnt recommend anyone to work here unless their was a dump truck of money in it for them!

    Unilever Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to relay a number of points - including the well rounded nature of your role and training. We will ensure your... More

  3. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    The company offers really good benefits

    Cons

    In my experience, there is too much bureaucracy

    Unilever Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  4. "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever as a contractor

    Pros

    Good money and easy work

    Cons

    No benefits No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Please make everyone fulltime , because y'all make us temps feel useless sometimes

    Unilever Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your comments, including your points around benefits and advancement, and will ensure they are passed on to the respective teams.


  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Good communication skills and used to working on own initiative

    Cons

    Not sure I want to set out cons

    Unilever Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Location Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Trumbull, CT
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Trumbull, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    A good work/life balance, blah, blah

    Cons

    evaporation of an IT presence in US

    Unilever Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Don't waste a secon of your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work from home on fridays. You get some small discounts on some products and you get free ice cream every day.

    Cons

    Too much work, tons of hours with no gratitude or extra pay. Really bad management team. Lots of stress. Everyone is leaving the company so time to move on.

    Advice to Management

    Well start treating people like people not like numbers and spend more time focusing on your employees rather than trying to sell how awesome your culture is

    Unilever Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention flexible working and benefits as particular positives of your... More

  8. "Material supplier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    It was very diverse in the people who finally

    Cons

    Bad management go to supervisor on the same page

    Advice to Management

    N/,A

    Unilever Response

    Aug 1, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  9. "Raw & Pack Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Katowice (Poland)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Katowice (Poland)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good collaboration with my colleagues

    Cons

    Too much cost reduction at the moment (7/2017) even on the instant coffee!

    Unilever Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate your comments around collaboration and cost reduction, and will ensure they are passed to the team.


  10. "Contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Data Scientist in Port Sunlight, England (UK)
    Current Contractor - Data Scientist in Port Sunlight, England (UK)
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever as a contractor (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Contracts appear frequently, and gives employees a chance to gain a wealth of experience form different categories.

    Cons

    As a contractor I feel expendable , like a pawn in a chess piece. Unilever looks after it's employees, but does not offer the same benefits to contractors.

    Advice to Management

    Use contracts as a long term job interview, ensuring a higher number of contractors receive a permanent role after their contract ends, rather than having to leave and go elsewhere.

    Unilever Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention the breadth of roles and opportunities available is a particular... More


Showing 210 of 2,991 reviews
Reset Filters