Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor

Unilever Reviews

Updated August 22, 2017
2,587 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2,587 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging organization and culture - US FTEs reduction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    View of a large global organization
    Broad cultural experience
    Good pay scale compared to other companies of the same size

    Cons

    Reducing US jobs for several years in exchange for regions with cheaper labor costs.
    Limited to no opportunities for US employees who want to move up.
    Early and/or late US work hours depend on global teams time zone coordination
    Challenging cultural ways of working
    Slow to move to new technologies for production due to vast differences in regions - One size does not fit all

    Unilever Response

    Jun 27, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention our broad cultural experience and renumeration scales as particular... More


  2. "Poor Development Plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Employees are compensated well, sustainable company

    Cons

    Basically no time is spent on developing UFLPs. We are thrown into roles and expected to deliver with little to no training and managers who don't want to coach us. We are also promised to become managers in three years after graduating the program, however almost every promise made has been revoked.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time developing your new hires. You are hiring talented individuals, and your retention rate is about 20% because of the poor way they are managed and this program is organized.

    Unilever Response

    Jun 27, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention renumeration and sustainability as particular positives of your role... More

  3. "Returns Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and great place to learn.

    Cons

    In Ecuador, where I worked, some positions didn't have a transparent hiring procedure.

    Unilever Response

    Jun 6, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review. It's good to see that you highlight the work environment and opportunities to learn as particular positives. We hope your current role is proving successful and we wish... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    ""Tried and true, but at times weak and blue.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Has great benefits and good use of the company store.

    Cons

    It makes things a bit difficult to get work finished when there's a lack of communication from upper management that computer systems are going to shut down randomly that runs the entire plant. Also, the bureaucratic motion of decision making. Some decisions need to be faster and more efficient.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better with your staff. That will save you so much time and money in the end.

    Unilever Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us. It’s really pleasing to see that you highlight a number of positives, including benefits and the company... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Service Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Analyst in Shelton, CT
    Former Employee - Customer Service Analyst in Shelton, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to work from home; flexible hours; new, modern building with game room and free ice cream; sit/stand desks with ergonomic chairs; friendly co-workers; half-days on Friday during summer; end of year bonus; good company values; holiday party

    Cons

    End-of-year calibration where managers are required to assign each worker a ranking that operates on a bell curve, resulting in good workers being let go for "low performance" and causing employees to work against each other to get ahead; usually a round of layoffs every 2-3 years; shifting focus of company objectives from year to year; only paid for 37.5 hours a week when usually working 40+, inconsistent training/onboarding for new hires; cancelling holiday party or other social events due to budget cuts; difficult to get promoted to management level unless part of Future Leaders program or ex-military

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within instead of hiring externally for management roles; improve worker morale through more social events; have more consistent training programs for new hires; have managers collaborate more with workers on decisions instead of top-down "no questions asked" policy; change end-of-year calibration system

    Unilever Response

    Jun 2, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for your review and comments - your feedback is very much appreciated. It's great to see that you mention our flexible working approach and company values as particular... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "High turnover due to the hours expected to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, great brands, mostly good people

    Cons

    Burn people into the ground, expect people to be on 24/7 . . . Including Easter Sunday

    Advice to Management

    Get work life balance under control

    Unilever Response

    Jun 27, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your comments, including your points around hours of work and work life balance, and will ensure they are passed on to the... More


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Long Term Trend is Negative; Do Not Believe all the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There are still a lot of smart, passionate people at Unilever who are great to work with and learn from.
    Many people actually believe in Unilever’s social and sustainability strategy, and act accordingly. The majority of people behave ethically and politely.
    It’s a great place to build up your skills quickly, and in some parts of the world, having Unilever on your CV is still meaningful

    Cons

    1. In many roles, the amount of work and hours required is overwhelming. Headcount is always being reduced, but the work required is always increasing.
    2. Unilever’s compassion does not extend to its employees. In some areas, layoffs and restructuring are constant. Employee turnover is high, for example, in Unilever’s global business services, 80% of the management team has left in the past 6 months. Most of next level of the organization is being laid off as their roles are eliminated or shifted to low cost countries.
    3. Pay is average, bonuses are decreasing, and the company continues to cut benefits. Almost all the offices are open seating, so the work environment is noisy and frequently filthy.
    4. Unilever has a huge amount of outsourcing, offshoring, contractors, and consultants. In some areas, the shadow organization is so strong, Unilever has lost control of the company.
    5. Management knee jerk reacts to every consultancy recommendation. Lately, they are all running around worried about travel costs and colored printing instead of the structural defects in their business model. The board is invisible.
    6. Unilever moves slowly, it takes forever to make a decision (if it ever even gets made). Processes are complex and brittle, and everything being outsourced makes it more difficult to get even the simplest thing accomplished.
    7. Unilever relentlessly markets their “save the world” mission to employees, with an equally strong message of "save money wherever, however possible." Customers and consumers are an after thought.
    8. Unilever discriminates against anyone who doesn't meet the current correct "identity." If you are in the developed world or white or male or over 40, expect to be laid off.

    Advice to Management

    Senior leaders believe their own marketing, and are blind to the fact that the company has lost touch with people who buy their products. There is a lot of hypocrisy at senior levels -- in public people support Unilever's mission, but they do not in their day to day operations.

    Unilever Response

    May 23, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for your review and comments. We always appreciate candid feedback - both positive and constructive. Firstly, we would like to suggest setting up a meeting with your HR... More

  8. "Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Amazing company. Would recommend to everyone to join the great culture.

    Cons

    Massive company so very competitive to get promoted to management.

    Unilever Response

    May 22, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    good perks, room for growth, good brand awareness, relaxed atmosphere, great pay

    Cons

    process often not followed which can be frustrating

    Unilever Response

    May 22, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  10. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance
    Benefits
    Office culture

    Cons

    Hard to work with corporate office

    Unilever Response

    May 23, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


Showing 2,587 of 2,996 reviews
Reset Filters