Union Pacific Conductor Reviews | Glassdoor

Union Pacific Conductor Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.6
11%
Recommend to a Friend
2%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
116 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conductor in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money especially if you work on holidays, good people, brotherhood,

    Cons

    work all the time, away from home a bunch

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-06-21
  2. "Building America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor 

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dental, Vision, Health, offer 401(k), FSA

    Cons

    Away from family a lot during the first 10 years, no 401(k) match unless you're a manager

    Union Pacific2020-03-21
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Choose one, great pay or family life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time

    Pros

    Great pay when you come to work. Since new 2020 plan with Precision Railroading within the company; if you make the cut you will be working everyday for over 12+ hours most days.

    Cons

    Say goodbye to personal life and your family. you're missing birthdays, graduations, holidays. and if you call off. you get punished. Not to mention they keep cutting people to save themselves some cash. good luck holding a job unless you got 15+ years of seniority. even those guys are wondering if theyre gonna have a job the next day

    Union Pacific2020-03-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Union Pacific Railroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Conductor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are descent. Good retirement plan if you can last.

    Cons

    Forfeit of your quality of life. Very unstable job from about first to 15 years of seniority. Be prepared to be forced over 300 miles from your home terminal! Be prepared to be furloughed for months at a time. My first 17 years was ruff.1st day I marked up forced to work in a different location 120 miles from where I hired out. Had to sleep in my car many times because leasing a apartment was out of the question , you never knew when you would be forced to a different location. I had 6 years of seniority and was furloughed for 3 years Oct. 1985 until Oct. 1988. I have missed holidays, weddings, funerals and graduations. On call 24/7 may work at 100am one day and 200pm next day. You will never have a set sleep pattern. You will need to buy job insurance to protect your income if you get disciplined. You could be suspended for rules violations any where from 1 day up to 2 years without pay. That’s if the arbitrator puts you back to work. Or it could be termination. And believe me the railroad management test for rules violations all the time. They will watch you for hours until you make a mistake. They do random drug and alcohol test all the time. Then they have probable cause drug test any time something goes wrong or you violate a major rule they will drug test you.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-03-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Be prepared to miss out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits for you.

    Cons

    You never know when you are going to work.

    Union Pacific2020-02-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "👎🏿"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Conductor in Houston, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific

    Pros

    Pay is average, + benefits

    Cons

    Company taking away benefits each contract. Pay not as good as other railroads

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-03-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "You can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Conductor in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is pretty good.

    Cons

    No work- life balance. Very low morale.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-03-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Do not come here looking for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, working alongside a diverse group of industry professionals.

    Cons

    Work life balance issues, constant downsizing, a "do more with less" mentality, working with the knowledge that you are viewed as an unnecessary expense that impedes shareholder profits.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-03-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and good retirement.

    Cons

    Being a road conductor you have no home life. The company expects you to be available 24/7 and with their new attendance policy you are only allowed off one day a month. Any more than that and you are pulled out of service. I would not leave any job to come to this horrible place. There is a reason Union Pacific was rated as the third worst place to work in the country.

    Union Pacific2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A Bad Company That Breeds Bad Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conductor in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Medical benefits, no experience needed

    Cons

    Management, lifestyle, culture, bleak outlook

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-03-09
Found 227 reviews