Union Pacific Electrician Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Electrician

Union Pacific Electrician Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.6
1%
Recommend to a Friend
4%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
39 Ratings
  1. "Mechanical Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Decent Pay, Relaxed Work Environment, Job Security, Safety

    Cons

    Many Employees are Often Bitter and Negative, Seniority Based Schedule

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2017-07-15
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Positive reviewers are LYING, they are management damage control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in Hermiston, OR
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay was good and I loved my coworkers!

    Cons

    Talk about the scum of the earth as far as upper echelon leadership! I can’t believe, in my wildest dreams, they think it’s ok to treat people like such garbage! They lie to the public and district them with the “Big Boy” to direct their attention away from the slimy things they’re doing to their employees. Heavy impact on small communities by closing shops. Not giving employees the opportunity to use their seniority to follow their work. “Furloughs” are actually just mass firings.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-01-22
  3. Helpful (3)

    "If you want to be unappreciated, join UP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in Carson, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok, but should be more for skilled labor. $33.10

    Cons

    Poor management, terrible days off, weak union.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-01-14
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Management doesn’t care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pays the bills but is not as competitive as other jobs with better hours, rest days, and insurance

    Cons

    Childish rules, arbitrary discipline standards, upper management throws temper tantrums, lack of tools and supplies on sight, safety first until it gets in the way of production. Job security, job satisfaction, job training, outdated prints, outdated technical resources, un realistic job accountability time tables. I’m trained upper and middle management. Total lack of confusion and no clue on how to correct course.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Going downhill fast... not reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Retirement if you make it Medical insurance.

    Cons

    Morale is a dumpster fire and the ego maniac CEO is oblivious to the pulse of the company. Every employee from crafts up to management is constantly on edge and worried about our job. The people who are left after the layoffs we've had so far feel trapped by the retirement and benefits. From the looks of it those look to be going away during future negotiations. No sick pay and strict vacation scheduling policies Nobody I work with would reccomend union pacific to a friend or family. Stay away until the Fritz era is over. They speak highly of safety but have been relaxing safety minded rules to increase efficiency. 5 fatalities in the past year. I can keep going but you get the point by now.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-11-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "No job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is really the only positive thing about the company.

    Cons

    Management, work life balance, not a secure job

    Union Pacific2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician Foreman in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, great people to work with

    Cons

    Unstable jobs, not concerned about employees They only care about the shareholders

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-05-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fair pay tough schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in West Colton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay vs effort is a fair trade. You'll work with a great bunch of guys - they hire a lot of previous military which is great.

    Cons

    Currently the company is going through a phase to cut costs and become more efficient which = furloughs, micro managing and a failure to acknowledge the team that's on the floor working to make sure trains can run Hours - 3 shifts run 24 hrs a day. Takes a decade to be able to work 6-2 pm. 7 days a week so expect tues /wed off as a New hire and for your first 10 yrs.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-05-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "used to be a great place to work......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in North Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    health insurance and railroad retirement if you can make it that long.

    Cons

    odd shift, odd days off, and this is constantly changing forget making any type of plans. mis communication among management and employees, nobody cares.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-06-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Once a great company, not anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The insurance is ok but on a fast decline.

    Cons

    Terrible management, terrible attendance policy, terrible job security. Terrible employee appreciation and outreach.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-06-19
Found 54 reviews