Union Pacific Manager of Yard Operations Reviews | Glassdoor

Union Pacific Manager of Yard Operations Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Make the Railroad Great Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager II of Yard Operations in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Salary, benefits, and promotion opportunities. - Gain extensive and prestigious management experience. - Large operations support network and resources. - If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere.

    Cons

    - Long Hours, unionized employees demand respect and everything under the stars but fail to return the same respect. - Work/life balance is not the best but constant improvements are being made/attempted. - Your experience will vary depending on your team and location.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-10-04
  2. Helpful (9)

    "UP needs to improve their culture if they want to succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Yard Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay (and I suppose opportunity to move up seeing as a lot of people are leaving/getting laid off/"involuntarily separated)

    Cons

    I was excited when I first joined up. Great OMT Program that psuedo-prepares you for management. Class said that if you were to have challenges, it would most likely be with the "Agreement Professionals" aka the union guys, but I guess I got lucky. All of my guys were amazing, and taught me more than management ever did (besides how to record/brief metrics). It's blatantly obvious that upper management really doesn't care about it's employees; I mean, read the other reviews. The company preaches work-life balance, but if you want to stand out and be good at your job (or perceived to be) you have to pull long hours, especially at when you're not at a big terminal and it's just you out there. Since I left there have been 2 (maybe 3?) rounds of layoffs. All to maximize shareholder value. It's such a shame because they preach safety, but then reduce the amount of the workforce, Agree and Salary (like management) alike and expect safer, more efficient work ethic. I just don't see that happening... Overall, I learned a lot from UP in the short time I was there ( only 16 months), but I'm glad that I left. Think twice before applying, especially if you have a family.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-10-11
  3. "Demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Laredo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience, leadership skills, problem solving

    Cons

    Work life balance inexistent. Management does not really care.

    Union Pacific2019-07-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move within the organization.

    Cons

    Have not experienced any problems.

    Union Pacific2019-06-15
  5. "Don’t do it!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing good to say about this company.

    Cons

    No home life. Stressful job.

    Union Pacific2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Terrible Work / Life Balance with HORRIBLE Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Yearly Salary is ok but not worth the hours you have to work to get it.

    Cons

    The worst management team I have ever seen. Directors and Sr. Managers who are not qualified to do the job. Nepotism is rampant. Buddy system promotions is all there is. It is not what you know but who you know at this place. Hourly pay from the yearly salary divided by all the hours you work. Days off being canceled and taken away. 12+ hour shifts 24 hour coverage while your work partner has his days off Expectation to live your life around UPRR Not enough people hired to work so they rely on those still around to do more and put in more time with no benefit.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-03-29
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Not as many opportunities as I was promised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Freeport, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. I am making more than I ever expected I would for my first job out of college

    Cons

    They do not take care of their employees. In the 2 years I have been here there have been 3 rounds of cuts with another 2 more in the next 5 months. I have not been concerned for my job, but it is more and more discouraging when I was expecting to be able to transfer to Omaha in the next year, but the chances of that are looking very slim

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2018-12-27
  8. "Managment Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Manager of Yard Operations in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, good people to work with, staple in the community, plenty of room for advancement.

    Cons

    Long hrs, stressful environment, constantly changing schedules.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2018-05-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits Good Salary, but 60 hour weeks are the norm

    Cons

    No Work Life Balance Little to no information flow Junior manager's ideas not taken seriously

    Union Pacific2017-09-16
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Manager of Yard Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Yard Operations in Hermiston, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, employee discounts, brand recognition

    Cons

    work life, stress levels, time off, vacation

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2017-07-16
Found 22 reviews