Union Pacific Project Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
4%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
17 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Union Pacific and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    great company

    Dec 15, 2017 - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    laid back and very good people

    Cons

    very demanding and lots of work to be done

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Decent workspace but lacks transparency.

    Feb 23, 2021 - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits and a Relaxed Culture

    Cons

    For the most-part working hard at Union Pacific goes unrewarded. They definitely prioritize seniors. I know a person on my team who barely gets any work done, probably actually performs productive tasks for an hour or two. Yet somehow he gets double the raises I do. There is also a lack of communication on what would get you promoted. It would be absolutely fantastic if your manager would sit down with you and say, if you deliver for us A, B and C you'll get a raise. But Nope, all you get is just keep working hard and maybe we will promote you.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Pays Well But Will Destroy Your Spirit

    Aug 19, 2020 - Associate Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits, recently partnered with UNO to easily provide free tuition for all employees, for any course of study or degree program. Some good coworkers. Free 24-hour fitness center.

    Cons

    A very draining and spiritually unfulfilling job and environment. They have made it very clear that employees are not valued or appreciated and are replaceable. Has been proudly laying off scores of employees for several years in favor of "Unified Plan 2020" to make shareholders happy. Senior management is unconcerned with employee satisfaction and severely understaffed teams, and are more concerned with cute statistics they can hand up the ladder. Harmful conservative politics disproportionately represented by management. "Courage To Care" company culture promoting safety, yet forcing employees to return to Headquarters office building during the COVID-19 Pandemic in September 2020, when cases in Omaha remain steady and are already spiking with schools reopening.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Toxic

    Dec 30, 2020 - Associate Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I thought UP was a great place to work when I first started I learned real fast that management will drain the life out of you and then slam the door in your face.

    Cons

    Management is a bunch of arrogant kool aid drinkers that are straight from college and have no idea what they are doing.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Meh

    Aug 27, 2020 - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work was interesting for the most part

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. Under paid/ over worked. Terrible moral all the time due to layoffs.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Senior Project Engineer

    Feb 15, 2020 - Senior Engineering Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits but really no difference than other companies in the industry.

    Cons

    No work life balance, no integrity in the company anymore. Just remember you're just a number. I would recommend to run away from this company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Evil Empire

    Jul 30, 2019 - Associate Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is nothing positive about working here.

    Cons

    I can guarantee you that any 5 star ratings of this place are not written by employees. This is the absolute worst company you could ever get involved with. Management is horrible at this place. You will be treated like dirt and in the end they will get rid of you, that's a promise. Management is so top heavy with 6 managers to 2 workers and they have to justify their existence by micromanaging you.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Culture, Poor Leadership.

    Feb 20, 2019 - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had a wonderful working team, and saw lots of room for advancement. There was great cooperation between departments. Was very happy here for several years.

    Cons

    Present executives have placed shareholders over employees. No clear strategy in place, their only instinct is to cut heads. If the workforce had morale, it would be low.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Antiquated perception, doesn't comprehend Midwest vs Silicon Valley

    Sep 7, 2018 - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work at UPC (the headquarters) in Omaha, and the work environment here is truly wonderful. I'm in a group that has a feel like a genuine family, although I've been told that it is, by a VAST margin, the minority (possibly literally the only). There also is an incredible plethora of career paths a person can transition to.

    Cons

    We are underpaid, and undervalued. I realize everyone says that...however, I have one friend who was poached by another company who provides the exact same IT development services *TO THE RAILROAD* that this guy was already working on...and immediately went from $75k to $110k with guaranteed 10% bonus, minimum. I know multiple others who have been in the company for 20+ years who have been offered ~50% increase in salary elsewhere...they didn't take it only because they are in my same group that has a wonderful family feel (so do you want do be treated like a human being? or do you want to be paid properly? that seems to be the question.) This company, at least those in upper management, do(es) not comprehend the value of IT, programmed intelligence, or literally anything other than physical man-power on the ground and *management*. It disgusts me, because the few middle managers who brought me to the company, because of their brilliance, vision, and kindness, are the painful minority and don't actually represent the current state of upper management.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Used to be a secure career, now it's cutthroat corporate like all the rest

    Mar 15, 2019 - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some great people there. Omaha is a great city for headquarters.

    Cons

    Environment lends itself to corruption and office politics. If you can play the game well this may be a good place to be.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

Popular Careers with Union Pacific Job Seekers

Locomotive Engineer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Train Crew (Conductor)/Locomotive Engineer
Learn About the Job

Work at Union Pacific? Share Your Experiences

or