Union Pacific Project Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Union Pacific Project Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.7
16%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
13 Ratings
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific for more than a year

    Pros

    laid back and very good people

    Cons

    very demanding and lots of work to be done

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2017-12-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits but really no difference than other companies in the industry.

    Cons

    No work life balance, no integrity in the company anymore. Just remember you're just a number. I would recommend to run away from this company.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2020-02-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Evil Empire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive about working here.

    Cons

    I can guarantee you that any 5 star ratings of this place are not written by employees. This is the absolute worst company you could ever get involved with. Management is horrible at this place. You will be treated like dirt and in the end they will get rid of you, that's a promise. Management is so top heavy with 6 managers to 2 workers and they have to justify their existence by micromanaging you.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-07-31
  4. "Very unstable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of projects to improve professional skills

    Cons

    Prepare to be laid off disregarding of performance

    Union Pacific2019-05-30
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great Culture, Poor Leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had a wonderful working team, and saw lots of room for advancement. There was great cooperation between departments. Was very happy here for several years.

    Cons

    Present executives have placed shareholders over employees. No clear strategy in place, their only instinct is to cut heads. If the workforce had morale, it would be low.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-02-20
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be a secure career, now it's cutthroat corporate like all the rest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some great people there. Omaha is a great city for headquarters.

    Cons

    Environment lends itself to corruption and office politics. If you can play the game well this may be a good place to be.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2019-03-15
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Professional Engineers, Structural Engineers, Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer, Structures Design in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Given the cons, none really. When the company is so screwed up, flexible hours and a company gym don't really matter. - They pay you a lot, but then fire you. I'd rather be paid less and keep my job.

    Cons

    - Mass layoffs in 2018 following mass layoffs in 2016 and others before that, including a layoff in 2002. - Miniscule to non-existent design group, whether in track, signal, or structural design. As an idea, only about 6 engineers handle all the track and terminal design for a 32,000 mile track network. They can barely shuffle the paperwork to get the consultants paid...which is all they have time to do. - CEO and COO are heartless, ignorant, and short-sighted copy cats of Hunter Harrison. Operating ratio is only metric they care about, and even though it is already in the 60s...which is already unsustainable and unrealistic...they have gutted what was left of the actual engineers that the company employs to lower it. - Essentially no real engineering at UP, stay away if you are a PE who wants to combine field work and design experience. All they want are engineers to join their OMT program out of college and manage unionized workers. This makes no sense, because these folks are out of college and add little value to the field compared to an ex-union manager...nor do they have any jobs left in the office to develop their hard engineering skills and plow those skills back into the field. - If you weren't good at engineering or don't particularly like it, and want to do long hours of managing workers and projects, with a consultant providing all the actual engineering, join UP. You won't have a life, you'll hardly have vacations, you won't learn much engineering, and some day, UP will fire you when the Operating Ratio is too high. - Again, remember, they are firing people after several previous waves of layoffs, and gutted what was an already bare bones organization in a time of traffic congestion and service issues. How much worse can it get?

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2018-10-31
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Antiquated perception, doesn't comprehend Midwest vs Silicon Valley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work at UPC (the headquarters) in Omaha, and the work environment here is truly wonderful. I'm in a group that has a feel like a genuine family, although I've been told that it is, by a VAST margin, the minority (possibly literally the only). There also is an incredible plethora of career paths a person can transition to.

    Cons

    We are underpaid, and undervalued. I realize everyone says that...however, I have one friend who was poached by another company who provides the exact same IT development services *TO THE RAILROAD* that this guy was already working on...and immediately went from $75k to $110k with guaranteed 10% bonus, minimum. I know multiple others who have been in the company for 20+ years who have been offered ~50% increase in salary elsewhere...they didn't take it only because they are in my same group that has a wonderful family feel (so do you want do be treated like a human being? or do you want to be paid properly? that seems to be the question.) This company, at least those in upper management, do(es) not comprehend the value of IT, programmed intelligence, or literally anything other than physical man-power on the ground and *management*. It disgusts me, because the few middle managers who brought me to the company, because of their brilliance, vision, and kindness, are the painful minority and don't actually represent the current state of upper management.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2018-09-08
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Council Bluffs, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at Union Pacific. I enjoyed the work I did and the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Upper management makes poor management decisions.

    Union Pacific2017-10-19
  10. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New technology for software development

    Cons

    Uncertain future for IT jobs

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2017-09-17
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews