KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Union Pacific

Engaged Employer

Union Pacific

Add a Review

Union Pacific Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,444 of over 2,625 reviews

2.1
18%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
1,385 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good company pay is good once you are done with training and working on your own.(in 385 reviews)
  • "Good benefits (although insurance is going downhill in recent years by getting more expensive and having higher deductibles.)(in 381 reviews)
  • "Retirement is good and that's it.(in 112 reviews)
  • "Great people and potential for life long associates(in 99 reviews)
  • "Good money and fun work(in 62 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management make too many knee jerk decisions at the expense of employee satisfaction and long term employment(in 154 reviews)
  • "must return all call regardless if they leave a message all hours .. no work life balance.(in 123 reviews)
  • "constant layoffs are hard for family budget.(in 79 reviews)
  • "Another manager accused my foreman of me of not crossing track correctly even after he said he was to far away to really see us.(in 69 reviews)
  • "work Very long hours and over time(in 68 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Union Pacific and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The railroad is a 24 hrs a day, 365 day’s a year job do not think of it otherwise or you will be disappointed.

    Aug 6, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment good pay

    Cons

    Long day’s job is consuming

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Zero chance I’d recommend working here in-spite of attractive start offers

    Aug 12, 2022 - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great salary, decent benefits, days present varied tasks, unique work environment, cross-functional latitude for newer employees , if you make it to the end-good retirement, and if you are “diverse” - the company will stop at nothing to hire, promote, and retain you

    Cons

    Woke beyond the current norm, deplorable senior leadership, instability, gestapo terminations, childish attempts to retain - like trinkets and overused recognition, non-agreement senior department leaders who know very little about the work they direct, “leaders” who think telling people what to do is leadership, no more discretionary effort-management is just clocking in and clocking out like the rest, and the very top position in the company is the worst leader I have worked for in the several organizations I have worked, bar none.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Terrible Company

    Sep 16, 2022 - Senior Project Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Work environment can be relaxed depending on which team/org you're in. 2. Pay is better than average. Good super long-term benefits, retirement, 401k, pension etc.. (Although pension was removed now)

    Cons

    1. If you are a go-getter at Union Pacific expect to stay stuck at your title until yo meet a certain YoE threshold. No matter how hard I tried, or how much I excelled HR would prevent me from getting a promotion because I did not have enough years of experience under my belt. 2. When it comes to software engineering the pay is no longer competitive. 3. People at the company tend to be cynical. The amount of meetings I've been in where people blatantly and unprofessionally cussed at one another is jaw-dropping. The worst about it is that they don't take action against such individuals. Overall this causes the work culture to be toxic. 4. The Tech strategy at UP is bizzare. They start a bunch of projects, some of which are redundant. 80% of them fail, 20% succeed. The 20% that succeed get praised, and new bad projects start.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice people

    Sep 20, 2022 - Law Clerk/Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was good work experience. It was a part time temporary position. Everyone was supportive.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is less guidance as the attorneys are all very busy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great employee

    Sep 21, 2022 - Locksmith 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Take care of employees and are looking out for ways to improve.

    Cons

    Get better equipment to help with the job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    No work life balance

    Aug 19, 2022 - Machinist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee stock purchase plan. Set schedule with two consecutive days off. Agreement medical healthcare plans are fair. Everyone is treated equally poorly

    Cons

    Working off shifts with weekdays off. No shift differential, work all holidays unless they fall on your scheduled day off. Some holidays you will not be paid overtime if you work because they are recognized on a different day. No 401K match, the rules state you cannot come to work sick, but you will be in violation of the attendance policy if you miss work for any reason without a vacation or personal day pre-arranged 24-48 hours in advance. If you test positive for covid you cannot use vacation time to cover lost time and you are not allowed to work. You will work 2nd or 3rd shift for 15-20 years before you can work 1st shift. It may be 20-30 years before you can work 1st shift with weekends off.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bridge Foreman

    Sep 26, 2022 - Railroad Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pros as you are surrounded by pathological liars in Management. If you are honest then you will have problems

    Cons

    I used to make money until PSR and horrible leadership

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Just a Job

    May 10, 2022 - Maintenance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Used to have a pension ESPP Pay

    Cons

    Work life balance No Trust Railroad is life I was on the management side for 8 years, working in the field. If the job is in Omaha at headquarters it's like working for a completely different company. I managed union employees. I would not recommend working for UP. The pay sounds attractive at first put it's not worth it for the hours and demands of the job. You will have no work life balance. I was on call 24-7 X365 including on my vacations. It is not uncommon for a single person to be the only manager responsible for a busy 24-7 operation. Upper level management forces you to treat the Union Employees like garbage. To be promoted at the company you have to be a very aggressive alpha male type. To get a union employee fired for breaking stupid little rules is the goal of a lot of managers, if you don't get your subordinates in trouble often for breaking rules then it affects your job performance, bonus potential and upward mobility. I worked there as long as I could take it, but eventually decided that it wasn't worth my mental and physical health. PS. A lot of people are retiring so if you want to be abused, are a workaholic and don't care about people then you can be a Senior Manager or Director level in just a few years straight out of college.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good company - poor leadership in lower management

    Sep 9, 2022 - Project Coordinator in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay Good benefits Awesome Co Workers

    Cons

    Low level management tries to fire you the moment you get hired

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    It’s not the worst

    Sep 15, 2022 - Manager Locomotive Maintenance in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval