Union Pacific "call 24 7" Reviews | Glassdoor

Union Pacific Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
15%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Union Pacific President & CEO Lance Fritz
Lance Fritz
776 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "many trade offs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    can be a good company to work for, great pay for no college, lots of training to provide one with the skills they need to advance. The insurance is amazing, and the unions really stand up for their people to make sure people are not taken advantage of

    Cons

    If you work over the road there is no schedule you are literally on call 24/7 which can get a bit tricky with family life. Also, depending on the needs you can be laid off for short to long periods of time with little to no warning.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-12-31
  2. "Great pay, but dangerous working conditions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Dupo, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay is between 60k and 110k. Benefits are good, retirement is excellent and your wife gets $2000 while you get $4000 for retirement.

    Cons

    You're on call 24/7. You have to work in all kinds of weather and management discourages taking off work for any reason.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2016-02-03
  3. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great retirement benefits but you need to make it there first! Long hours and high expectations to come in on your own time.

    Cons

    Work life balance doesn't exist in operations. You are in call 24/7 in many instances and no relief if something comes up. There is no such thing as calling in or taking a random day off.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-12-29
  4. "Journeyman Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is very competitive and the job comes with exceptional benefits. I love the work environment and the people that I work with are very knowledgeable of the railroad industry. The safety record of my particular facility is unmatched by other industrial facilities and everyone is engaged in the safety process which is part of the reason for our success.

    Cons

    The job sometimes requires work in dirty environments and often in bad weather. The railroad is a 24/7 responsibility so therefore it may often require holidays and weekends based on seniority. Participation in the company sponsored 401k is mandated to employees who have worked for the company for a minimum of one year.

    Union Pacific2015-12-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Union Pacific

    Pros

    Good pay, decent benefits, medical, dental, prescription, 401k need to match though, tuition reimbursement, gym membership

    Cons

    Unstable work schedule/life, on call 24-7-365 with no set days off, they really do hide in the bushes while they watch you work! You're just a number.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-08-14
  6. Helpful (21)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Crew in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money is decent when the company has you working. The safety equipment they provide is pretty nice.

    Cons

    I read all the negative reviews before hiring out with UP for the "Train Crew" position, I wish I would have taken them seriously instead of thinking to myself, "well I'm a good employee, that won't happen to me, all I heard during the initial hiring session was 100K a year, they said there's no way I'll get furloughed, you get a lot of vacation, the retirement is amazing, the union is strong"... All lies. The insanely hectic schedule is worth 100K a year, but I've never made more that 40K in a year. You are 24/7/365 on - call, you never know your days off.... good luck scheduling anything. You can call out sick to schedule stuff, but do it too much and you're fired. That type of horrible schedule is worth 100K a year, but you won't be making that. You're not going to start off making a lot of money, It takes like 15 years to get to the 100K mark even though they'll tell you differently. Everyone you know will say that it's a great job and you should take it, but none of them have ever worked for the railroad. I was furloughed (no pay or benefits) four times my first year, I barely made 15K. Most people get a side job to keep them afloat during a furlough, but when the railroad calls you back, you need to start working for them within 30 days or you're fired. Hopefully you can get a decent side gig that won't mind you coming and going as you please, because you'll need it. There are guys with 10 years of seniority that are on the verge of being furloughed, so expect it for a third of your career. The union keeps selling out the new guys so the old guys continue getting hooked up, I seriously doubt it will even be possible to break 100K in the future with how much the union bends over for the company. I got two vacation days for my first year and a half, one week after that. You don't get to choose when you take your vacation, the union decides for you. I think the job is going to get reduced a lot in the future with the implementation of automated equipment. The retirement is okay, but they take out ~15 percent of every pay check, if you put that into an IRA for 30 years you're going to have a good retirement regardless of where you work. If the retirement was so awesome, the old guys would retire, but they don't. The company doesn't match a 401K. Do not make any major purchases for at least 10 years. I know so many guys that lost a house, had their commuter cars (civic, corolla, etc.) repossessed, and were out of health insurance when they needed it most. Basically I would only recommend this job for desperate individuals, train enthusiasts, and people that don't need a consistent pay check or health insurance. The company wants to own your entire life when they need you, and toss you to the curb when they don't. Remember that last statement, because you will be saying that a lot if you accept a job offer for them.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-08-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Easy, boring, rewarding, exhausting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Cheyenne, WY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, ease of work

    Cons

    On call 24/7, away from family, poor middle management

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-07-22
  8. "Good Company - Challenging work and work Schedules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman General in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They pay fair - are multicultural and have challenging work. You are part of something that is key to American economy if products do not move neither does the economy

    Cons

    24/7 365 - so this is not a good choice if you are hoping for M-F 9-5. Some folks get it but most are working varied and challenging schedules

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-07-24
  9. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific full-time

    Pros

    Steady employment with advancement opportunities and tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Expect the possibility of 24/7 requirement when service demands it - trains never stop moving. It's a large organization and you might not feel like your contribution is meaningful.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-07-20
  10. "Great company to work for with a multitude of opportunities for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Pacific

    Pros

    Great opportunity to provide a blessed life for your family. Great pay, benefits, and retirement package. How many companies pay your spouse a retirement check as well??

    Cons

    Work/life schedule is a bit challenging. It takes a strong and committed spouse to deal with the fluctuations of working on call 24/7.

    Continue reading
    Union Pacific2015-03-27
Found 81 reviews