Union Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Union Public Schools Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Cathy Burden
6 Ratings
  1. "Union Public Schools Speech Path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Fellow - Speech Language Pathologist in Tulsa, OK

    I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great school district! Wonderful group of speech paths that meet frequently to provide resources and share insights and guidance. Manageable caseloads.

    Cons

    Possibly more lengthy paperwork process than other settings

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Union Public Schools2017-02-07
  2. "Content Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers and administration Free to teach how I want

      Cons

      Large class sizes and some student behavior issues

      Union Public Schools2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Tulsa, OK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There are some truly wonderful people at Union. This is the only school I've worked for, and I'm sad to say that I think I'll be leaving shortly. There are simply too many politics in play at the ESC and within upper management. It's all about who you know, instead of who's doing their job and teaching the kids. Sorry, I'm getting into the cons already. That escalated quickly. I've had the fortune of meeting some really...

      Show More

      Cons

      I guess mostly see above. A few bad apples spoil the bunch. There are more good than bad, but the few bad really ruin it for the rest of us.

      Advice to Management

      Stop letting the mean girls of all ages ruin our district. Put a stop to it. There are some really cruel women within our district and if we're going to bring awareness to bullying in schools, surely we can do the same for school administration, no?

      Union Public Schools2018-07-11
    • "Short but sweet"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Library Media Specialist in Tulsa, OK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Union Public Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People are lovely and very kind to work with. I enjoyed the multicultural community. Lots of parent help too. I was there just one school year but I enjoyed!

      Cons

      Income level is low. Population is transient and there are many languages to deal with. It’s awkward when you try to contact parents and they do not speak english at all.

      Union Public Schools2018-05-07
    • "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Tulsa, OK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      weekends, holidays, and summers off

      Cons

      teacher pay is not competitive with surrounding states

      Union Public Schools2018-03-02
    • "Educator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time

        Pros

        Leader in implementation of best practices

        Cons

        Financial resources and support are limited due to educational budget cuts

        Union Public Schools2017-11-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Going downhill fast"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Union Public Schools full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great colleagues to work with and learn from.

        Cons

        Management is too focused on maintaining an image that is no longer representative of the school district. Initiatives are developed to support the top 1% of students. A focus on the emerging demographics is in order.

        Advice to Management

        Start working to support the problems of your emerging demographics. You're no longer a school district for rich, white kiddos.

        Union Public Schools2017-09-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Appreciative Schools"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        They offer retainer stipends even when under budget cuts as well as consistent cost-of-living increases.

        Cons

        Administration is sometimes more focused on looking good in the community than actually solving long-term problems.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to all levels of employees and students.

        Union Public Schools2017-07-16
      • "3rd Grade Teacher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Union Public Schools full-time

        Pros

        The have a great insurance plan!

        Cons

        In general, just budget cuts of Oklahoma

        Union Public Schools2017-04-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "AMAZING Benefits, but No Room for Growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Union Public Schools for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Benefits are great, great culture, always something to do.

        Cons

        Very limited room for growth, even with a degree. Public schools in Oklahoma are going through a major budget crisis; workload is increasing and workforce is decreasing

        Advice to Management

        Try to tone down over-analyzing the simple things.

        Union Public Schools2016-05-23
      Found 23 reviews