Unique Creations Reviews | Glassdoor

Unique Creations Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Unique Creations President Jinu Park  (no image)
Jinu Park
30 Ratings
  1. "artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unique Creations part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    always a variety of work

    Cons

    Not a solid routine of work coming in, hard to schedule work/life.

    Advice to Management

    always be learning new techniques

    Unique Creations2017-10-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "New Client, New Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unique Creations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was here during the transition from our old to our new client. It provided a way better opportunity with higher pay structure. I keep learning and growing and have also taken advantage of all the challenges so that I could be a top player and have travel opportunities.

    Cons

    To some, competition would be a con, so for me I can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for fighting for a new client

    Unique Creations2016-09-23
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Don't let anything fool you, it's door to door sales."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Jinu is great! Real cool guy if you love washed up boy band singers (now it wont let me leave a link but google search "Jinu Park The Launch" for a good understanding) but if you're a high school kid or college kid looking to make some extra cash go for it! However, this is no where to begin building a career.

    Cons

    After being treated like I was super special and going to change his company I got a second interview. I did the research on this site and the reviews are correct, it's just door to door sales. Don't let them fool you and say it's business to business because I don't think residential homes are true businesses. Also looking into the website Jinu says he doesn't want you to think of it as sales but that's exactly what it is. I'm sure he will respond to this review as he as others but I ask you Jinu to not waste your time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the name of your company, there is nothing about spitting out a script that is unique or creative.

    Unique Creations2016-07-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "An opportunity that opened doors for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    open and friendly environment friendly employees very cooperative, yet competitive team atmosphere always opportunities for personal and professional growth and development pet friendly office, business professional yet friendly, open door, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    performance based. you can't be lazy or slack off. you won't get paid, because your numbers and pay determine solely on how much work you're willing to put in business to business, so you have to get comfortable dealing with people and coming into businesses with a positive mindset and attitude

    Advice to Management

    working here as an account executive showed me the importance of hard work and a smile! definitely a great opportunity i am thankful for. :)

    Unique Creations2016-04-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time

    Pros

    Great Upper Mobility Hands on experience and great opportunity dealing with businesses directly. Develop/strengthen fundamental hard and soft skills

    Cons

    Performance based job, so your drive determines your paycheck. For those who are interested in a easy job with little effort, it is not the job for them. Longer hours but enables time for increased opportunity.

    Unique Creations2016-04-05
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Thumbs Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you get great experience working on full commission

    Cons

    The owner has bad integrity & bad character.

    Advice to Management

    Change industries to manual labor.

    Unique Creations2016-05-06
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time

    Pros

    Laid back and fun work environment, fun events outside of work, learned valuable skills that apply to future positions, determined personal strengths and weaknesses, experienced many forms of business in the field, nice coworkers, business trips provide great sales and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Cold calling (which is illegal when representatives are required by UCC to enter businesses that have "no soliciting" signs displayed), purely commission-based compensation totaling 28% of sales (which is harder to earn large amounts by selling office supplies) plus bonuses (based on meeting quotas), very long hours, must use personal vehicle (very difficult for people who commute via bus), must work outside in business attire regardless of weather, expected to attend events outside of work to remain in management's "good graces," business trips often don't come with much notice ahead of time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to advice from former employees. The amount of voluntary turnover should indicate more than just, "Well, we do the things that other people aren't willing to do." Voluntary turnover can indicate more serious and preventable issues like poor communication, neglect, absence of care from management, poor work/life balance, or poor compensation and benefits. Also, keep in mind that entering businesses with "no soliciting" signs with a solicitation pitch (regardless of the title the representative gives the business owner) IS illegal. This has been fact checked by multiple lawyers, since I often heard this concern voiced by employees when I worked for UCC. It would be sad for a company with as much potential as UCC to have a blemish on its record like the arrest of an employee. Ignorance of the law does not excuse breaking the law, and this means employees have little to no defense if arrested.

    Show More
    Unique Creations2016-03-21
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Pyramid Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was friendly and inviting and often did things outside of work together. Made me feel very welcome and made me want to work there. Seemed like a fun place to work. Bonuses offered regularly depending on your sales. Definitely room for advancement

    Cons

    Where do I begin I'm pretty sure everyone is offered a position in sales with this company, high employee turnover. The interview made it seem as if this is an office job- it is NOT. A typical day starts at 8am in the office, you have an hour or two of staff meetings, sales and training activities, and day planning. By 11am you are out of the office in your assigned zip code walking business to business in your "business professional" clothing and shoes. You pitch a sale to every business in your zip code. By 5pm you are back in the office doing paperwork and wrap up meetings sometimes until 7pm. You work every day M-F (no exceptions) Lots of walking in the rain/sun/cold/snow/heat Commission only, you're selling office supplies to businesses that usually have an Office Depot down the street.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible with hours Maybe offer a base or hourly pay Inform each interviewee what a typical day will look like

    Unique Creations2016-02-03
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Please stop lying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unique Creations full-time

    Pros

    None. Except maybe that the employees are pretty nice for the most part.

    Cons

    You say that the job interview is a chance to shadow... I nor anyone that I have talked to were actually given this opportunity. The hiring and recruiting tactics were extremely misleading. I was told I could get all kinds of benefits when I interviewed, and I asked tons of questions, and when I asked about them once I was hired I was laughed at and told they didn't exist.

    Advice to Management

    Offer base salary and benefits if you want people to stick around for more than two weeks

    Unique Creations2016-02-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to work with awesome people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unique Creations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently moved to St. Louis and UCC was the career path that I chose to take after interviewing with many sales firms. The environment here is very friendly and the team is very helpful. Considering I had past sales experience I did pick up on the sales concept rather quickly. For a person with very little sales experience it may take a few weeks to completely master the business to business sales portion. I love the client and the ability to gain residual pay on our sales. Building strong customer relationships really helps us in the long run and I have enjoyed building my personal book of business.

    Show More

    Cons

    You do have to work hard for your earnings. I love this! If you are looking for an easy position with little pay, I would look past this position. If you are looking to get compensated for your hard work, this is the place to be! I have really enjoyed seeing my hard work pay off in my earnings each week! I love that we get paid on a weekly basis and I have the ability to track all of my own sales and residuals.

    Advice to Management

    The management team has a very open door policy and I feel comfortable asking them anything.

    Unique Creations2015-09-01
Found 35 reviews