United Airlines Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Scott Kirby (no image)
Scott Kirby
402 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight Benefits flexible fun outside(in 528 reviews)

  • "The airline industry has excellent travel benefits(in 347 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The salaries of flight attendants could be low as starting pay(in 83 reviews)

  • "upper management can be quite rude(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of United Airlines and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Great Company

      Dec 10, 2020 - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, ability to advance

      Cons

      No cons to share for the position

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I love my job <3

      May 15, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive Culture, Extremely Flexible, Well Paying, and Free Travel!

      Cons

      Work holidays, you may have to move, the first few years are tough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Friendly skies really are friendly

      Aug 21, 2018 - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

      Cons

      Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

      160 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great company with strong foundations.

      Apr 28, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Health/Dental/Eye Incentives and extra pay add up You can pretty much work whenever from wherever. Union representation saved our jobs during COVID, thanks to Sara Nelson. Great leadership

      Cons

      *Internal division due to merger of companies. *Very different standards in product. You may fly a brand new 787 Dreamliner with the latest technology one day, and then an obviously aging 737-700 the next. *As mentioned above, United does amazing in innovation such as their app, carbon footprint, and so forth, yet it’s still lagging their competitors in onboard product, wifi, entertainment, and connect-ability to the ground. *This job has the potential to change your life. You will experience things that most only dream of. It’s rewarding, freeing, spontaneous, and oh so fun. It is still a job though. They’ll be times of constant work, early wake-ups, drunk passengers, crying babies, difficult coworkers, and more. But it is honestly, the best job in the world and that’s why people don’t want to leave it. It’s a strong family.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Proud Employee

      Apr 12, 2021 - Supplier Performance Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      United has come a long way! Once upon a time we were embarrassed to say who we work for but it's now done with a lot of pride. Senior Leadership really cares for the employees. They made tough decisions during COVID and I do believe we're in a better place to come out of it because of it. I've been here over 30 years and love it!

      Cons

      Wish we had more visibility to salary structures. It used to be very transparent but it hasn't been since the merger. I think it's because there is such a huge variance. It was always something they said they're working on but we still don't see it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Company

      Apr 17, 2021 - IT Operations Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the best company that I have ever worked for. The pay is fair and competitive, The flight benefits are fantastic . Good health benefits, There is plenty of room for growth and there are opportunities for advancement if you want them. The work-life balance is good. The Willis Tower office is in a good location.. It's within walking distance of Metra and CTA stations as well as close to good restaurants and shopping. United invests in innovation and is dilligently working to recruit diverse talent while also working to increase advancement opportunities for women and minorities that are currently there. I'm proud to work for an industry leader.

      Cons

      It would be nice to see a tuition reimbursement plan introduced in the near future.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      33 Happy Years at United Airlines

      Apr 27, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my years at United. Inflight in Denver truly felt like my other family. I enjoyed the camaraderie, teamwork & friendships. I had a sense of belonging. The greatest joys were the positive comments made by passengers as they deplaned. It was nice knowing I was a positive light in someone's day.

      Cons

      Management made great strides in my years at United. Especially during COVID, they have been very transparent in their approach to keeping the company in survival mode. The Inflight management team in Denver was efficient, professional & a lot of fun. They were always helpful & supportive.I really don't have anything negative to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Exciting and challenging work. A company who wants to improve but doesn’t always seem to know how to get us there.

      Apr 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation structure is very fair. Challenging work. Decent growth opportunities and ability to change roles into areas of interest if you’re a high performer and well-networked. Ability to meaningfully contribute, if you’re in the right role with the right leaders.

      Cons

      Internal politics, sometimes to an exhausting degree. Competing priorities, and to some extent, factions within the company. Executive leaders share a similar leadership mentality / style, which results in a large population of similarly minded individuals being placed into positions of power, occasionally to the company’s detriment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Industry Leading Leadership with a Clear Vision

      May 9, 2021 - Pilot in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture of innovation and inclusion. Very good and frequent communication from upper management.

      Cons

      The airline industry can be very cyclical, sometimes you have to roll with the punches.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best job ever

      May 13, 2021 - International Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing health benefits, free flights, great co workers and flexibility

      Cons

      Unpredictable with the airlines Covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,909 Reviews

    Popular Careers with United Airlines Job Seekers

    Flight Attendant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Supervisor - Airport Operations
    Learn About the Job
    United Airlines Flight Attendant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at United Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    or