United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

United Airlines Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2532 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 59 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication/care by upper management(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (130)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  2. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you love people, have a great attitude and live for spontaneity.. this is the job for you! You get the opportunity to see places you’ve never seen, move to cities you never thought you would and meet some of the greatest people. This job will change your life. The benefits are great too.

    Cons

    If you have responsibilities on the ground it can be very challenging. We have a straight reserve system currently (meaning you’re “on call”) so when you’re just starting out you need to be prepared to leave at any moment. Also, it’s very likely you will have to move to one of the bases so be prepared to move. I started this job single, no kids and ready for an adventure so it was all very exciting for me.

    United Airlines2019-06-15
  3. "Best Airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A Great Airline in customer service to all ethnicity's

    Cons

    Weather related issues make or break your days

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    United Airlines2019-06-13
  4. "Fun and Creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    not micro-managed, get to be creative and learn about the company

    Cons

    Not given much direction, given very few hours

    United Airlines2019-06-13
  5. "New adventures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I think working for United Airlines would be amazing it's a chance to see the world and meet new people

    Cons

    The max amount of money I can make with the hours I would be working

    United Airlines2019-06-13
  6. "Great Environment/Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Payroll Administrator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and hiring process. Wonderful culture and leadership

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    United Airlines2019-06-11
  7. "Best Airline and Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful support system and training not to mention benefits

    Cons

    long flying days but you can opt for more days off if wanted

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work! I love this airline and training program. I've worked for another airline and am happy to be at United where I feel as though I am a part of the family!

    United Airlines2019-06-10
  8. "Working for United Airlines was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel the world. Pay is good. Fly for free. flexible hours, meet people

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful, lack of sleep, away from home, commuting

    United Airlines2019-06-10
  9. "Enjoying the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits and pay are great. the ability to work overtime.

    Cons

    training in San Francisco

    United Airlines2019-06-07
  10. "Career taking flight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Ability to see the world - United flies anywhere - Everyone here is family - Headquarters is very convenient (near Union, Ogilvie, CTA lines, Divvy) - large company so room for growth - Very career oriented - once you're here you'll want to stay

    Cons

    - Upward mobility can sometimes be difficult within your own department so sometimes you may have to look at other areas for growth and promotion

    Advice to Management

    Love our leadership - keep doing what you're doing to make this the world's best airline!

    United Airlines2019-06-05
Found 2532 reviews