United Airlines "travel benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

United Airlines Employee Reviews about "travel benefits"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,183 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 64 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication/care by upper management(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "travel benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great people place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Loyalty in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive team Travel benefits Learn a lot about the airline industry

    Cons

    lower pay felt behind Delta Airlines in a lot of key areas

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees better and invest in better technological infrastructure

    United Airlines2019-10-10
  2. "Great industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    travel benefits, company culture, community involvement

    Cons

    work schedule flexibility, career path

    United Airlines2019-11-21
  3. "SUMMER TEMP FUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GREAT TEAM SPIRIT . Everyone is really helpful and encouraging . Worked here in the summer as a temp and got rehired as a permanent part time employee . In the summer got to work at the gates and really enjoyed the experience . One can choose the department that one wants to work in and with many areas we get the exposure to all the departments . Fast paced environment and time flies by . This year we had a very... challenging and interesting summer and bad weather days but we persevered , and i feel if I could get through this then I can face any challenge . At United there is a great feeling of camaraderie . The perks of working at United is that we can get the travel benefits to send our family to any part of the world for free when space is available. One gets to meet a lot of people from different cultures and backgrounds . Would certainly recommend United as a good place to work .

    Show More

    Cons

    Very strict about attendance .Can have a lot of mandatory overtime on bad weather days. Sometimes one has to deal with customers who are rude and abusive . This year with so many bad weather days had to work extra hours . To enjoy the travel benefits one has to sometimes wait till the end or get transferred to the next available flight ,so kind of frustrating at times . Have to stand for long hours and deal with... crowds .

    Show More
    United Airlines2019-11-06
  4. "Customer Service Executive Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    working from home (remote) and travel benefits

    Cons

    difficult technical problems merging from Continental to United Airlines

    Advice to Management

    restore 24-hour Customer Service

    United Airlines2019-10-28
  5. "United aground Express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel benefits Are the best and so is the team aspect .

    Cons

    Pay is low and understaffed

    United Airlines2019-10-18
  6. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance plan Travel benefits Number of destinations

    Cons

    Let’s face it, in this big corporate airline industry, you’re just another number and replaceable

    United Airlines2019-10-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good, but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health, dental, life, vision, 401K, travel benefits

    Cons

    Corporate company cultur. Needs to listen to front line employees more.

    United Airlines2019-10-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Moving in the right direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing travel benefits, great skill development, decent healthcare, good office location, great work culture, great coworkers, actually interesting work.

    Cons

    Constant and very public fails and missed opportunities impact morale. Management promotes idiots out of the way which decreases promotion potential. Actual merit based promotions do not exist, every position is publicly posted and must be applied for. Pay is mediocre. Raises are very low.

    Advice to Management

    Try harder to get rid of the "good ol' boys club" mentality that is still present in some areas. Focus much harder on merit based promotions instead of connection based ones.

    United Airlines2019-09-20
  9. "Great team spirit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits, time off, fun people

    Cons

    being on call is hard

    United Airlines2019-09-06
  10. "Best Airline to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits, internship, LGBTQ workplace equality, and corporate life.

    Cons

    Commute from suburbs can be a hassle.

    United Airlines2019-09-04
Found 279 reviews