KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

United BioSource

Engaged Employer

United BioSource

Add a Review

United BioSource Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Oct 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 283 reviews

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
United BioSource CEO Patrick Lindsay
Patrick Lindsay
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hours are flexible and ability to work from home if nessary(in 23 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, decent benefits package, smart employees and fairly interesting work(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They are over whelmed due to senior management throwing too much work on them which in return causes them to neglect their employees(in 16 reviews)

  • "If guys work there they are usually a higher up supervisor or upper management(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of United BioSource and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Opportunity to Have a Lot of Responsibility/Ownership

      Jan 6, 2011 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're willing to work hard, it's easy to be recognized Fairly flat organization, so you're able to advance fairly rapidly based on performance Open door policy of managers Flexible work hours Good office environment (casual dress, smart & friendly people to work with) Solid team players If you're ambitious and smart, you'll go far

      Cons

      A lot of effort & energy is expected of employees, so it's not a place where everyone would be happy or succeed. Not a 9 - 5 environment. Senior management is involved in most decisions.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Data Entry/Call Associate

      Oct 4, 2020 - Coordinating Center Associate in Morgantown, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      9-5 job, M-F and weekends off, structured work schedule. Flexibility. Management CAN be helpful when they want to be. Depending on the program you're on you can learn a lot of different types of skills. Work from home is kind of nice...

      Cons

      Being a Contract employee is stressful, no PTO, contract employees tend to get in trouble easier for things than UBC employees can get away with. Favoritism by management. The work load can be a bit much. Contract companies are some of the worst management I've dealt with. I use to thoroughly enjoy this job. Now I have anxiety even thinking about logging in to work. Our program has so many updates that are never in the benefit of employees. Each "Update" causes worse technical issues than what was fixed. This program has started sinking pretty hard the moment we got sent to work from home. Communication in office was pretty decent, now it's nearly impossible. We're lucky if we have a manager even logged in until 8pm. Most log out by 6. They are over whelmed due to senior management throwing too much work on them which in return causes them to neglect their employees. This use to be once ever 2 weeks or once a week there would be small issues. Now there are a million new issues daily. Over Worked and Under Paid.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Please don't ever work for this company (if you'd even call it that)!

      Jul 15, 2019 - Clinical Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I would love to rate the company as a negative number but it forces me to select at least one star. However, it gets ZERO stars from me.

      Cons

      No room for advancement, management does not care about you/not valued, no raises, company is headed for bankruptcy and again, I cannot stress enough that they don't care about you. Horrible neighborhood the KC office is located in, they let Security go (horrible idea), liquor bottles in the parking lot daily from overnight guests from the bars nearby, HR complaints are not handled (oh that's because there isn't an HR department anymore), layoffs monthly/weekly, no promotions, short staffed, over-worked, not appreciated. The best advice that I can give is to do yourself a favor and DON'T go to work for this company. Oh and the CEO and Senior Management decided during the last week of Dec 2018 to send an e-mail to let the entire company know that the PTO policy was changing and you could no longer carry over ANY hours into the new year (previously it was unlimited hours for carry over). No advance notice, just sent an e-mail at the end of Dec 2018. You can tell they appreciate and value their employees huh? Just don't.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Stay as FAR away from UBC as you can

      Dec 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only PROs were most of the team members were professional and supportive. The pay was pretty good as well as the annual bonus. Pretzel day was a bonus.

      Cons

      I worked for UBC for over 10 years and dedicated many more hours to the clients and UBC than I should have. I believed in doing my best each day to satisfy our clients. The Executive Management team did not care. They are all part of the "Other CRO" club. If you did not work with them back in the day, you will get no where at UBC. A major cost cutting measure was 2 rounds of layoffs, where even the long tenured and dedicated employees got the ax. Within the 8 months after the latest round of layoffs, the best and most experienced employees starting jumping ship. Senior management will not tell the employees anything about how the company is doing. Everything is a secret. Unless you are right out of college and want to get some experience and then move on, stay away from UBC.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unscrupulous Practices

      Dec 12, 2019 - Senior Contract Administrator in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work from home options; self-motivated environment; close to a lot of great places to eat

      Cons

      Lack of management; poor business practices; retribution against mid-level employees; dishonest senior management

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst place I ever worked!

      Nov 5, 2019 - IT Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Compensation and benefits were good. nice bonus.

      Cons

      -Senior Management does not have a clue -No training -dubious business practices

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good potential. just hoping they don't get sucked up into Corporate culture of express scripts

      Jul 14, 2014 - Project Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Still has the small company feel, where people actually enjoy coming to work. Very social office in Kansas City compared to other CROs. They still do the monthly bday celebrations for the employees (ice cream truck, popcorn, cake, morning bagels, etc). Loved the environment there. The one thing I so appreciated at UBC was the simplicity of how they managed studies. I don't mean this in a bad way in any way, but they are about 5 years behind the rest of the so-called "big CROs". Meaning, they don't have 5000 systems to manage studies, budgets, resources, payments, milestones, etc. Yes there is definitely some room for improvement but they are working on that. As a Project Manager, I could actually focus on the management of my study versus managing all the various systems which I find incredibly frustrating at other bigger CROs. I went to a smaller CRO on purpose and was not disappointed.....until the non-compete (described below). I will definitely still be there if it had not been for that stupid non-compete. Salary was good and if you're willing to sign their non-compete the bonus plan is very generous. That is their justification actually for the non-compete. they want a return on investment. They give you a nice bonus and they want some reassurance you won't bail. I get it, but it's not for me.

      Cons

      (I actually left in 2014 but that wasn't an option.) Anyway, the primary reason I left was due to Express Scripts implementing their corporate nonsense with a non-compete contract required for senior PMs and above. I had many lengthy discussions with HR and senior management, including president of the company. He did go out of his way to call me on 3 occasions to discuss my concerns and really try to talk it through. I was very impressed by that, but it was just not an option for me to put my salary at risk for a year. Even though Express Scripts acquired UBC a few years ago, there are still many changes being made at UBC. UBC hasn't totally implemented electronic TMF, so they do have a lot of paper TMFs, which isn't necessarily a bad thing - again not a fun of a system that doesn't function the way it's supposed to anyway - or claims to be "efficient" but it is so far from being "efficient" it's laughable. So, the fact that UBC doesn't have a full eTMF wasn't a huge con for me but I know others have different opinions in this area. Another con from this Express Scripts merger (or whatever you want to call it) is the loss of some vacation days. From what I understand UBC lost 2-3 vacation days because they were required to now follow the vacation days that Express scripts has. I didn't experience this myself as I started and left in 2014 but I understand others were upset about this.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      No sense of work life balance here

      Mar 2, 2012 - Research Associate in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, opportunities to travel, budget and time allocated for staff to attend conferences, nice colleagues (aside from management), great support staff

      Cons

      Long hours, frequent cycles of staff turnover, lack of training for new hires, upper management without experience in management, lack of mentoring, unfairness in promotions - lack of consistency in promotions, emotionally unstable research leaders who curse at staff and send derogatory emails to the teams. Poor communication from senior management. Less generous benefits since MEDCO acquisition. Unrealistic utilization rates given work responsibilities.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Program Supervisor

      Sep 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I would says the most rewarding reasons of working at UBC were learning new information that has expanded my knowledge of the drug industry, new relations/network, and great salary.

      Cons

      Some of the downsides of working with UBC are poor communication skills from senior management, poor managing practices from senior management, senior managers in positions that wasn't due to much program knowledge on their part but nepotism. This has hurt and will continue to hurt this company. UBC has great potential but changes must take place starting with senior management/director.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Very dissatisfying place to work

      Sep 19, 2011 - Senior Project Manager in Blue Bell, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only positive is some nice coworkers

      Cons

      No feedback about job performance. They set you up for failure before you even begin with no support from upper management for what you need to get the job done. Position not as portrayed in interviews, management changed, job description changed, salary changed shortly after starting. Work not recognized. Senior management takes credit for the everyone's work internally and to client. Any effort to escalate issues or request support to get what need to do the job ends in direct retaliation from the upper management member not doing theirs. This feedback is consistent among all PMs and people in other departments as well. Advice to anyone looking at this company - don't. They misrepresent the job and company in interviews and will sabotage your career.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with United BioSource Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at United BioSource? Share Your Experiences

    or