United Capital Financial Advisers Reviews | Glassdoor

United Capital Financial Advisers Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
United Capital Financial Advisers CEO  Joseph J. Duran  (no image)
Joseph J. Duran
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work here if you desperately need a job, but you will suffer through low pay and you will be around a lot of fake people(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    Setting a new standard for financial life management.

    Cons

    Growing fast and lots of change.

    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-05-30

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    June 5, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback. I agree with both your pros and cons. We are changing the industry and to do this, we deal with lots of change! There are many exciting things happening at our company so get ready for the ride! I’m available for any other thoughts you’d like to discuss at glassdoor@unitedcp.com. Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  2. "All depends on office culture and manage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good planning process and client deliverables

    Cons

    Very political and upper management is very disconnected from regional offices

    United Capital Financial Advisers2020-02-07
  3. "“The Joe Duran Show”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    GS will probably clean house.

    Cons

    The CEO was great at charming the media but clueless at leading the company. I witnessed senior management lie multiple times to execs at Schwab and Fidelity. The acquisition felt like a shotgun wedding while upper management promised the world. There was more turnover in the investment department then in Trump’s cabinet.

    United Capital Financial Advisers2020-02-16
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    The company needs more direction.

    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-08-30

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    September 3, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to complete a Glassdoor review. I agree, we are fortunate to have such a great team that is passionate about what we do. You mention the need for more direction. With all the change happening right now due to transition, everyone is working towards integrating new processes and solutions. We’re getting there! If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me at glassdoor@unitedcp.com. Thanks, Tara SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  5. "overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at United Capital Financial Advisers part-time

    Pros

    kind people, lots of resources in dhub

    Cons

    goldman transition was hard, slow paced

    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-07-31

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    September 3, 2019

    We're so glad you could spend your internship at United Capital! We hope it was a positive learning experience. As you noted, we are in the middle of a large transition, but we are making progress and excited about the opportunities that come with the discomfort of change! Please let me know if there are further questions or comments that you'd like to discuss. I can be reached at glassdoor@unitedcp.com. Thanks, Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  6. "Great for Starting Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn a lot in a short amount of time by being exposed to many areas of the financial advising industry, so it is easy to find out what you do and don't like doing. You also get to meet a lot of great people and gain contacts throughout the industry. Overall, I learned more than I ever expected to and had the great fortune to meet some outstanding people. United Capital was able to launch my career in ways that would be impossible at a lot of financial services companies.

    Cons

    My experience comes only from the Centralized Services department, and is therefore not necessarily applicable to other departments or regional offices in the company. First and foremost, the pay is not competitive with the rest of the financial services industry, but they are aware of this and have been trying to raise it. If you are a Relationship Manager in their Centralized Services department, you won't get the benefit of being physically present in client meetings, which is important experience that anyone trying to become an advisor will want. You do get to sit in on meetings virtually or over the phone, but even that is not always guaranteed because it depends on which regional offices you are servicing. Finally, there is not as much of a focus on the financial planning side of the industry within Centralized Services any more. It is more operationally-focused (which is important and you will learn the operations side extremely well), but there is not much encouragement or career-pathing for someone that wants to focus on the planning side of the business.

    Continue reading
    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-08-11

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    September 3, 2019

    We appreciate your detailed feedback about the pros and cons of working at United Capital. We strive to create a positive employee experience and are happy to hear that it was a valuable learning experience that has set you up for success in the financial services industry. We are always looking for employees’ thoughts and suggestions and try to remedy any concerns when possible. While some of the needs you note, such as attending client meetings in person as a Centralized Services RM, are not doable in that department’s business model, we do have opportunities across the country for face-to-face client experience as a viable alternative. I've shared your feedback with the department as we look for ways to incorporate more face-to-face opportunities. While the financial planning function is no longer a separate department within Centralized Services, we do have other departments and offices that offer growth opportunity in this area. If you’d like to discuss any of these topics further, please contact me at glassdoor@unitedcp.com. Thanks, Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  7. "Client Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    Agency, and freedom. Offers opportunities for personal growth with personal initiatives.

    Cons

    Sometime can lack direction and guidance.

    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-07-19

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    September 3, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a glassdoor review. We always appreciate receiving employee feedback! As our company evolves, we should see more structure and clearer direction. In the meantime, I'm happy to hear that you feel you have been able to grow personally. Let me know if there is anything else you would like to share or discuss by reaching out to me at glassdoor@unitedcp.com Thanks, Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  8. "The best there is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    United Capital has built a team of some of the best Advisors in the business and has armed them with industry-leading technology. The independent advisory business is generally comprised of firms who are independent but lack sophistication and capability OR who have sophistication and capability but lack independence. United Capital has created a unicorn that has both.

    Cons

    This firm is staffed with people who LOVE their work and are very committed to its clients. If you are looking for an easy job without challenges where little is expected of you, this is not a good spot for you.

    Continue reading
    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-05-17

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    June 5, 2019

    I appreciate your viewpoint and taking the time to share with us! You are right – we look for people who are comfortable operating at a fast pace, able to think autonomously and make decisions in the best interest of our clients and our teams. There are also great rewards for being a part of United Capital but you have to be nimble, quick and comfortable with change! If you’d like to discuss further, you can reach me at glassdoor@unitedcp.com. Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  9. "Innovative Company in a somewhat boring indsutry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO is inspiring. Good work culture.

    Cons

    Lots of moving parts. Seems like corporate always has some new initiative they are pushing.

    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-03-27

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    April 10, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to give us a review! I’m happy to hear that your UC employee experience was so positive. We work hard to create a great culture where people enjoy working at UC. In fact, we just received our latest Employee Engagement scores telling us that company-wide, our employees feel engaged and connected! You are right that there is always a system or process or client tool that is being improved to create a better client experience. If you would like to share your more of your thoughts about this, please contact me at glassdoor@unitedcp.com Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Capital Financial Advisers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    business casual environment, great employees, a lot of growth

    Cons

    medical benefits, ambiguity in a growing company

    United Capital Financial Advisers2019-03-12

    United Capital Financial Advisers Response

    March 26, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! I agree, we do have great employees and a sense of everyone working together to serve our clients! We are in an environment of constant growth and change which can lead to ambiguity, as you state. As we work through the changes, remember that we definitely value your feedback and would welcome an opportunity to discuss additional changes that can continue to make UC great. If you’d like to discuss further, please contact me at glassdoor@unitedcp.com. Tara Weaver SVP, People & Organization

    Continue reading
Found 73 reviews