United Nations "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

United Nations Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Mar 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
United Nations Secretary General António Guterres (no image)
António Guterres
212 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "unpaid internship unless you have a university grant(in 59 reviews)

  • "No full-time return offer after the internship(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Internship, But Unpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Nations

    Pros

    - Lovely work culture, international colleagues, helpful environment - Learnt a lot of new stuff related to the peace keeping missions around the world - Interaction with a network of diplomats and higher officials - Very understanding Supervisors, extremely helpful and friendly

    Cons

    - Unpaid internship - No scope to extend after 6 months in the same department - Cannot be converted to full time. Separate procedure through common pool

    United Nations2018-09-20
  2. "Permanent v Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Contractor 

    I worked at United Nations

    Pros

    Relaxed pace, great benefits for full-time permanent employees

    Cons

    If you are a full-time permanent employee you are golden - great benefits and very little actual work to do. While I was there one person decided to extend their sick leave for a few extra months to, apparently, bop around Europe. Eventually their manager mused aloud, during a team meeting, whether a contractor should be brought in to fill in until such time as the employee felt like returning to the job. I never actually figured out what that employee did to fill in 35 hours a week even after they came back. If you are a full-time permanent employee you are set for life. If you are a contractor you are nothing.

    Continue reading
    United Nations2020-02-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good experience, but unpaid and up to you to make the most of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Political Affairs 

    I worked at United Nations for less than a year

    Pros

    - Treated as part of the team - Trusted with a real workload - Still flexible with what you need - Kind supervisors

    Cons

    - There is no real intern community, despite what you are told beforehand - Must consistently seek out further learning opportunities, you really decide what you will get out of this internship. - UNPAID & full-time. No opportunity for scholarships. Therefore deeply elitist.

    United Nations2020-01-06
  5. "Full-time working experience while still being in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Finance Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Nations for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and friendly colleagues Good for international students who want to stay in the US for a job opportunity, because it does not do an H1-B visa, but G4 visa. Colleagues are experienced professionals in the non-profit field and political science field, they can give very constructive advice in job and life experience. Work like balance is great (no one should be at office after 5 pm, said by high level manager haha)

    Cons

    the intern selection process took very long to hear a response back from them after submitting an online application if entered right after school, I will be a general staff, and the process and selection to be a professional staff from a general staff are long and complicated. So I recommend joining the UN after having at least five years of outside working experience. Very relaxing working environment, long process and waiting time to get signatures approval between departments. No full-time return offer after the internship.

    United Nations2019-02-26
  6. "Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at United Nations

    Pros

    Very good environment and staff.

    Cons

    No pay, no full-time positions

    United Nations2018-09-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Nations for less than a year

    Pros

    The UN takes its interns very seriously, we were actually making valuable contributions and given a lot of responsibility. There was so much potential for growth, great experience overall.

    Cons

    No chance of being offered a full time position after.

    United Nations2018-01-22
  8. "Public Information Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at United Nations

    Pros

    Nice and diverse team of staff at the news monitoring unit

    Cons

    unpaid Little chance of full-time employment very bureaucratic

    Continue reading
    United Nations2017-05-07
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at United Nations

    Pros

    Network with people from different background; knowledge of the international organization system

    Cons

    It is impossible to be a full time employee

    United Nations2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Program Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Nations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get work at the United Nations doing really interesting work with interesting people.

    Cons

    Very difficult to get full time employment and they will take advantage of your contract status as long as you allow them to.

    Continue reading
    United Nations2017-03-02
  11. Helpful (1)

    "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at United Nations

    Pros

    great atmosphere, nice and friendly people, great place........................

    Cons

    hard to get a full-time position. ...............................

    Continue reading
    United Nations2017-01-10
Found 34 reviews