United Natural Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

United Natural Foods Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 361 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
United Natural Foods CEO Steven L. (Steve) Spinner
Steven L. (Steve) Spinner
174 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Anywhere else would have a better work life balance and treat their employees with respect(in 19 reviews)

  • "They work you very long hours mostly between 10 to 17 a day so if you have kids this place is a no go(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Assistant in Rocklin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was the assistant to the GM and really enjoyed my position. I was there for 11 years. The company was great; very good to the associates.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on communication; it was always a focus and should continue to be!

    United Natural Foods2017-12-11
  2. "Good people, bad home- work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transportation Supervisor in Montgomery, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Most people are very nice.

    Cons

    Split shifts, schedule constantly changing

    Advice to Management

    Try a more normal schedule

    United Natural Foods2019-06-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer I in Rocklin, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and buying system

    Cons

    Overload of work and two old buying systems feeding one good system

    Advice to Management

    Better work balance across buying desks

    United Natural Foods2019-05-14
  4. "UNFI Good I.T. Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COBOL PL/I Programmee in Auburn, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, knowledgeable I.T. Dept., good perks

    Cons

    Mergers occur every few years

    United Natural Foods2019-05-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sketchy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United Natural Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really isn't any good things to say about them

    Cons

    They are union busting. They treat their employees crappy and they don't care about them while the ceo is one of the highest paid in the industry

    United Natural Foods2019-06-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I didn’t give up on them, but they didn’t value my working ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at United Natural Foods

      Pros

      If you searched for your queen she was guaranteed to be there

      Cons

      My heart hurts and I can’t suffer another round

      United Natural Foods2019-04-29
    • "The company will have long term success"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Game plan and vision will pay off in the future.

      Cons

      Will face substantial in the next few years.

      United Natural Foods2019-05-02
    • "Decent employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Warehouse Order Selector 

        I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Productivity bonuses, lots of overtime

        Cons

        monthly changes to work start times

        United Natural Foods2019-04-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "No Direction"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at United Natural Foods full-time

        Pros

        Employees at Commerce Ca were great.

        Cons

        After our second acquisition UNFI gave no direction no communication or purpose.

        Advice to Management

        Talk to the veterans of the company not just management.

        United Natural Foods2019-04-16
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good company but non motivating work environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at United Natural Foods full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The people in the department.

        Cons

        The atmosphere is quiet and dull. There are minimal perks or motivation factors such as bonuses or incentives.

        United Natural Foods2019-04-10
      Found 361 reviews