United Rentals District Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

United Rentals District Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
United Rentals CEO Matthew Flannery
Matthew Flannery
7 Ratings
  1. "Best Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, constant innovation, awesome industry

    Cons

    long hours, deadlines to meet customer demands

    Advice to Management

    We need to do more hiring of techs, despite what the metrics say. We have to get more lower level techs in this industry and train them up.

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company offers some of the best benefits not only in our space, but anywhere. Aggressively recruit diverse and educated workforce with unlimited potential for career growth

    Cons

    Don’t join if you aren’t passionate about solving customer problems!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on!

    United Rentals2019-06-03
  3. "Leadership matters!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company has the best senior leadership team that keeps us focused on continuous improvement, staying innovative, and most importantly customer and employee centric.

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to our team in the field about how we can improve our customers’ experience.

    United Rentals2019-06-03
  4. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Genuine care for team and talent development

    Cons

    No down sides to think of

    United Rentals2019-06-03
  5. "20+ years with the company and wouldn't choose another."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team environment even in such a large corporation. Field level decision making empowerment.

    Cons

    Size sometimes slows maneuverability.

    Advice to Management

    Stay on the track you are on. Great leadership from the top down who knows the industry and keeps its people first.

    United Rentals2019-06-04
  6. "A Company Built for the People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Odessa, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am a big sports guy. The Chicago Bulls of the 90s had Phil Jackson, the San Antonio Spurs have Greg Popovich, and the New England Patriots have Bill Belichick. All were/are arguably the best teams with the best coach in their time and sport. United Rentals has Matt Flannery coaching the best team in the industry. I have been fortunate to hear Matt tell many stories of opportunities for leadership. None better... than his coaching experience with his daughter in basketball. Any person should join this team just to hear that story. It was very moving and very inspirational. This company continues to make great strides at placing strong, humble leaders in strategic areas. Leaders that are focused on your family, community, and your career. As great as this company is, I really believe that even better days are still ahead of us. I have been with United Rentals since 2001 and have a large family to support. Regardless of the trials we will face, I feel very secure in United’s future and mine and my families.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any family, there can be disagreements and this is a large family (Currently 19,000 strong). However, the executive leadership team travels the country many times throughout the year to hear the voice of the people. Most if not all of the solutions come from those meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hear the voice of the people. It has been the most defining characteristic of this company.

    United Rentals2019-06-04
  7. "Great Company, Great Focus on People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Empowerment, Collaboration, Caring, People Oriented,

    Cons

    Balance with initiatives and roll out objectives.

    Advice to Management

    Balance and Focus on Customers

    United Rentals2019-06-04
  8. "Great company; employee and family oriented; one of the best organization in Corporate America!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great organization with solid leadership and vision; solid support for people development and diversity. The company has excellent benefits, and the management, sales, and operations teams have a clear mission: safety, customer satisfaction, and employee development...

    Cons

    It's always a challenge to manage change and programs; but the company goal is to be "best-in-class"; so it's up to us to prioritize all the company initiatives at the local level to deliver in all KPI's

    Advice to Management

    Continue driving the growth strategy and empowering people; we will be not just the leader in the Equipment Rental market, but a force in the Service Industry

    United Rentals2014-04-01
  9. "What a Fantastic company to work for. You can learn and grow what working hard and having fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is aggressive, drive with clear direction on what we want and how to get there. We work hard, have fun and get the job done.

    Cons

    The is not enough hours in the day to get everything done in the manner we would like it done in.

    Advice to Management

    We all need time management training and we need to kaisen every position.

    United Rentals2014-03-28
  10. "Great company that keeps all employees trained and keeps pushing for employee development for future opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Flowood, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company has action plan in place for future growth. United Rentals is an Leader with employees and their customers.

    Cons

    At times it's seems to be more about the metrics.

    Advice to Management

    At times there's too many training on going at one time.

    United Rentals2014-03-14
Found 18 reviews