United Rentals Reviews | Glassdoor

United Rentals Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 655 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
United Rentals CEO Matthew Flannery
Matthew Flannery
51 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class B CDL Delivery Driver in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    company phone,paid lunch,time off,company discounts, small crew

    Cons

    unpredictable work loads , routes change at last moment,poor management, work outside of title

    Advice to Management

    better management

    United Rentals2019-08-21
  2. "Good long term company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Rental Manager in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent Benefits and Pay. Good Corporate communication.

    Cons

    Hard to move up without moving.

    United Rentals2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Company was great, Boss was horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive Assistant in Pleasant Hill, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For the most part, the people I worked with and around were awesome.

    Cons

    My boss was the worst boss I've ever had in my life, which made every day challenging. Thankfully, he traveled most of the time so I didn't have to deal with him in person very often.

    Advice to Management

    It would have been great to have someone to make complaints to when the person you're complaining about is from the executive corporate office. I'm sure it's easy to forget about something like this, however, if this had been done, the details with my own employment there may have turned out differently & you may not have lost a dedicated, 10+ year employee that simply decided she didn't want to play her bosses... ridiculous games anymore. I am nearing 50 years old & would rather not play high school mind games during my work day. But, I also didn't necessarily want to be looking for a new job at 50 years old, either. Everyone in corporate knows how my boss acts, and while I worked there, they all expressed their sympathies for having to report to him. I just can't wrap my mind around how he keeps climbing the corporate ladder & is never given any type of guidance in how to be a better boss. It's a real shame.

    Show More
    United Rentals2019-09-08

    United Rentals Response

    September 16, 2019Talent Acquisition Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We regret to hear and disagree with your characterization of the Company, particularly as it relates to your description of raising a workplace concern. At United Rentals, passion for people is a core value and we take great pride in empowering ...

    Show More
  4. "United Rentals is a good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Tech III 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, family environment, friendly atmosphere, pay is good

    Cons

    Some bad management bad communication

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key, don't just constantly drop bombs on your employees for a certain timeline that you know can't be met

    United Rentals2019-08-10
  5. "Best company to work for in any industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager IV in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Company Cares about there employees.

    Cons

    Sicks days are not PTO

    Advice to Management

    Change sick days for salary employees to PTO with there vacation days.

    United Rentals2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wild ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits as well as vehicle insurance and fuel

    Cons

    Lowest paid commission rep in the industry

    Advice to Management

    Lay off micro management

    United Rentals2019-07-18
  7. "Career Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consistently growing with advancement opportunities anywhere in the US/Canada.

    Cons

    Moderate diversity within Upper Management

    United Rentals2019-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "ISR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Rentals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a lousy paycheck.

    Cons

    The ISR Role is not a Sales Role. It's more of a Sales Assistant position

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent during the interview process

    United Rentals2019-08-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Large Employer with a Small Town feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Project Manager - National Accounts in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The visibility of leadership creates a comfortable work environment. Their investment in their employees & communities shows how much they care. With constant goals of capturing future opportunities in specialty markets, our fleet stays extremely diverse and gives us the tools we need to reach multiple customer profiles and markets.

    Cons

    With an ever changing business model, there creates a lot of movement in management and sales teams. Can sometimes be hard for customers to maintain a warm trusting relationship

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in our people, communities and fleet. This provides a positive environment to take care of OUR CUSTOMER

    United Rentals2019-07-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great First Sales Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time

    Pros

    Great sales Training, benefit packages, company vehicle, cell phone and lap top.

    Cons

    Not a lot of positive reinforcement from management, have to be on call during your assigned week and were responsible for managing all service calls in the entire metro area 24/7. You could end up with 10 service calls by 8am on Saturday morning when they start at 3AM or you could end up with zero the entire week if you are lucky.

    United Rentals2019-07-03
Found 655 reviews