United Rentals Reviews | Glassdoor

United Rentals Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 655 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
United Rentals CEO Matthew Flannery
Matthew Flannery
50 Ratings
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Odessa, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked for a company that cared about their employees as much as they do their customers. All management works well with the employees that are going through life changing events and I love the customers I get to work with on a daily bases.

    Cons

    Downside would be the lack of communication between employees concerning every day situations

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    United Rentals2019-06-10
  2. "Great place to build a career with good people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support from peers and mgmt. Career development - career maps, internal talent profiles, and development training programs. Not only do we have external customer service we have great internal customer service with "1UR" Employee Resource Groups - Women United, Veteran United, Together United. These are are great relationship building internal and giving back to a variety of communities/groups Good... benefits with lots of great savings i.e. Wellness Event $600 savings and more.

    Show More

    Cons

    None at this time. The positives out way any cons. If I have and any cons they were small and no longer a con.

    United Rentals2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company to drive for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What ever u do is not enough

    Cons

    U call there customers and they could care less that u do

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to facilitate your employees

    United Rentals2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company Review for United Rentals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are comparable to the industry, Bonuses offered, Networking opportunities, lots of charitable work to assist with for the community. Company pays for training and travel. Networking throughout the branches for equipment and needs. Company has several growth opportunities for individual aspiration.

    Cons

    Numerous meetings that bottleneck progress at the customer service level. Innumerable metrics to meet. Augmented micromanagement through emails and phone calls. High stress becomes an everyday factor. As with any job, if one is looking to be promoted it's all in connections not necessary personal ability to do a job to be able to excel above entry level. Must also be willing to transfer to have opportunity above... entry level.

    Show More
    United Rentals2019-06-05
  5. "Work Satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Hours of operation are respectable. Safety education is mandatory and practiced everyday. UR is an elite club and they don't just hire anyone, so you're surrounded by great employees throughout. Quality, family, and safety are preached and practiced here and that was one of the deciding factors of joining the team.

    Cons

    Learning curve coming from another industry was a little intimidating, but everyone was there to help and still is. Learning everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Bosses are doing great. They are always busy, but still manage to notice your good work and make sure you're taken care of.

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company looks out for my best interest. Feels like a family more than just a group of workers.

    Cons

    Have not found any cons while working for this company

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing.

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sst in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, Great room for growth

    Cons

    Can we too corporate at times but family based

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a company who cares about their employees.

    Cons

    We are growing bigger and need more employees.

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  9. "Best Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, constant innovation, awesome industry

    Cons

    long hours, deadlines to meet customer demands

    Advice to Management

    We need to do more hiring of techs, despite what the metrics say. We have to get more lower level techs in this industry and train them up.

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  10. "Outstanding Company to Work For!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company Cares about it's employees, Company Strives for Customer Service Excellence, Offers Stability

    Cons

    Long hours but that comes with Company offering Superior Customer Service

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    United Rentals2019-06-05
Found 655 reviews