United Shore Reviews | Glassdoor

United Shore Reviews

Updated November 22, 2017
361 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
United Shore President & CEO Mat Ishbia
Mat Ishbia
249 Ratings

361 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Continuous training; wellness focus; work/life balance (in 37 reviews)

  • 40 Hour Work Week that allows for true work life balance (in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • Everybody needs a work from home once in a while for work life balance (in 17 reviews)

  • There seems like there are some common threads about 'issues' at United Shore (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work, period!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I haven't even been here for a whole year yet and I'm ready to stay forever. I'm all in with this company and I'm blessed to work for such an awesome place! Everyone is super friendly and we have so many perks! We have a gym, Starbucks, escape room, a CEO that wants us all to succeed and promotes from within to encourage growth and so much more. This company makes you feel like you matter and encourages you to be yourself.

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons. I know there is always room for improvement, but this company is on the right path!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Our company goals are truly motivating and I could not ask to work for a better place, because I'm working for the best!

    United Shore Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Team Member Services

    We love hearing your feedback! It’s great to hear that you are happy here and that you have found your career! Thank you for being a part of our team!


  2. "United shore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone I have meet has been really nice. Teams seem to be very supportive and there is a willingness to learn from everyone. So far so good

    Cons

    Pay is not the best, but they only work 40 hours a week and you get to have a work life balance. hours are 10-7 which isnt ideal either

    Advice to Management

    provide flextime and have PTO roll over. continue what your doing and keep the workplace a comfortable place to be.

    United Shore Response

    Nov 21, 2017 – Team Member Services

    Thank you for writing us a review! Our team members are very supportive of one another. Our 40 hour work weeks allow for a healthy work/life balance for everyone because we know the importance of... More

  3. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great pay and opportunities
    Freedom to share ideas and Grow individually and professionally
    Exciting and engaging work environment
    CEO and VP's open door policy and individual attention
    Promote from within mentality
    On going training and improvement
    Freedom to be yourself on the phones

    Cons

    Takes time to build your business, but if your a hard worker and coach-able there is no limit to what position or income you could have working here!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Maybe more training for newer non sales / production team members.

    United Shore Response

    Nov 21, 2017 – Team Member Services

    Thank you for writing us a review! The growth potential is endless and we invest heavily in training to put our team members in the best position possible when internal opportunities open up so they... More


  4. "Information Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Architect
    Current Employee - IT Architect
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Daily deployment cycle
    Commitment to the best equipment, both server side and client side
    Great training and great opportunities for on the job training and learning
    New building move (to Pontiac) means the opportunity to build out from scratch
    Senior IT leadership genuinely cares about making IT the best

    Cons

    IT is growing VERY rapidly so it can seem chaotic at times.
    Lots of newer, inexperienced IT team members. They will be great in a year but are learning as they go right now.

    Advice to Management

    Talk all the time about the new opportunities available to all of us.


  5. "Opportunity to work hard and benefit in many ways."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at United Shore full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The culture encourages team members to get better every day by improving in all aspects of work/ life balance. Individuals who take ownership and initiative have virtually unlimited grow potential. Working a FIRM 40 allows team members to maintain a fantastic 'Work/ Life Balance.' Working with THE "Number ONE in their field" firm is amazing.

    Cons

    not a 'get rich quick' scheme. requires a positive attitude, strong work ethic & an openness to being coached.

    United Shore Response

    Nov 13, 2017 – Team Member Services

    Thank you for writing us a review! We take our firm 40 hour work weeks seriously to insure a healthy work/life balance for all team members. We appreciate your feedback!


  6. "Rewarding and challenging place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced and challenging environment
    Opportunity to grow your skill set
    Sense of community and team building activities

    Cons

    Limited flexibility on work schedules

    Advice to Management

    Continue to show the appreciation you have been to your employees for choosing to work at United Shore.

    United Shore Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Team Member Services

    Thank you for writing us a review! Our industry is ever-changing, which leads to a fast-paced environment allowing team members to grow their skill set and continuously stay excited about the work... More


  7. "Underwriter II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Shore full-time

    Pros

    Environment, Location, Company staff.

    Cons

    the pay, late work shift 10-7 , parking.

  8. "Legal & Compliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal & Compliance in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Legal & Compliance in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Firm 40
    The People & the Leadership
    Company goals are clear and your role within them

    Cons

    None other than the lack of parking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. It's not just bright colors and fun events, the work is rewarding, the people are great and Leadership truly wants you to succeed. As a father and husband the Firm 40 is amazing. I can get a full day's work in and still see my family every night.

    United Shore Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Team Member Services

    Thank you for writing us a review! Our team members and leadership team are reason behind our companies success. Our firm 40 hour work weeks help to maintain that work/life balance for all, and we... More


  9. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services
    Current Employee - Client Services
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time

    Pros

    The culture is amazing. The company focuses on relationship building not only with clients but internally as well. There is always something exciting going on.

    Cons

    The parking situation isn’t the greatest but will be better when we move to the new building.

    Advice to Management

    A merit raise system would be a great for areas that do not make commission or production bonuses.

    United Shore Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Team Member Services

    Thank you for your feedback! Our fun company culture helps set us apart from others. We try our very best with the parking by implementing the shuttle lot, and fortunately with the move to the new... More


  10. "Former team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Shore full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent training; tons of nice people; clean, attractive office; strong commitment to clients

    Cons

    Cloistered leadership on some teams; "the old guard" is shown favoritism not merited

    Advice to Management

    Write job requirements and qualifications for senior leadership positions and make all applicants meet those requirements rather than tailoring positions to favorites


Showing 361 of 376 reviews
Reset Filters