United States Steel Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
United States Steel CEO David Burritt (no image)
David Burritt
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedules, good pay and benefits(in 109 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and severance package(in 94 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "My experience was rewarding and challenging. They pushed me hard to deliver results."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United States Steel

    Pros

    Benefits and compensation were in line, flexibility depending on your manager, bonus even though it rarely pays out, history rich company that built America. Location was a plus as well.

    Cons

    Cyclical industry and the transformation of the company seems to be never ending, old school mentality at times, accomplishments sometimes went unnoticed

    United States Steel2017-02-27
  2. "Great exposure short-term, long-term concerns"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United States Steel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people that I worked with were incredibly high functioning and competent at their role. Most everyone was willing and wanting to help you, and I personally grew an immeasurable amount of time in my years here. My time at USS has set me up on a long term success path in terms of mental state, ambition, and perspective on life. Truly one of the best experiences of my life was working here.

    Cons

    I would say the inter-organizational culture is very territorial. Procurement is very protective of their data / suspicious of Accounting data (and vice versa), and there just always seemed to be efforts to make certain sub-organizations shine over others. Plus there seemed to be a massive priority on hitting deliverables/metrics, even at the expense of employee work-life / moral / long-term opportunity. In summary, I loved my experience at USS-- easily top 3 life changing experiences for the better, easily-- but I would take caution if looking at USS. Look at the individuals you'd work with / for and do some homework from current/ex employees. For example, I worked in my latest organization for about 18 months, and in that time I saw at least 10 people leave for other opportunities outside the company. Almost half of those people were under 30. Consider these vastly differing points if looking at USS, both are true.

    Continue reading
    United States Steel2020-05-25
  3. "You will earn a challenging and rewarding career at US Steel"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United States Steel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Daily environment of teamwork and continuous improvement

    Cons

    Limited availability of resources to fully execute

    Continue reading
    United States Steel2020-04-28
  4. "Steel Process Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Process Manufacturing Engineer in Granite City, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United States Steel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and great pay

    Cons

    This industry is very flaky and work is not guaranteed or secure

    United States Steel2020-04-22
  5. "Work Hard Pay Hard"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Shift Manager in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United States Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You make a lot of money You can avoid seeing family you don't like.

    Cons

    You don't see many weekends off. Schedules change constantly. Work hard for your money.

    United States Steel2020-04-13
  6. "Depends"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Pittsburgh, PA

    I have been working at United States Steel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are some really great people who work there.

    Cons

    Company not always in the best financial shape. You never know when a round of layoffs will come.

    United States Steel2020-04-23
  7. "Would not recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Ecorse, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at United States Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary was good till they stopped paying overtime. Good benefits and severance package

    Cons

    Upper managements concern with short term goals resulted in plant closure. Verbal abuse from upper management on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    United States Steel2020-04-08
  8. "us steel job review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United States Steel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it was good for a little while

    Cons

    work life balance was sketch

    United States Steel2020-03-16
  9. "Steel"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Electrician in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United States Steel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good money and benefits package

    Cons

    No life, Too much favoritism

    Continue reading
    United States Steel2020-03-27
  10. "GEN3 STEEL"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Applications Engineer 

    I worked at United States Steel full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with. There is more to learn than time in your life. Never stop learning.

    Cons

    Production downtime is the biggest hurdle.

    United States Steel2020-03-11
Found 760 reviews