United Stationers Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
United Stationers Interim President and Chief Executive Officer Robert B. Aiken Jr. (no image)
Robert B. Aiken Jr.
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service rep"

    5.0
    Customer Service Representative in Bensenville, IL

    I worked at United Stationers for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for

    Cons

    Very corporate...lots of red tape

    United Stationers2016-06-06
  2. "Great company, great people, bad senior management."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Department in Deerfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Stationers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great salary. Great benefits. Great culture. Great co-workers. Challenging job. Challenging and wonderful customer base. Wonderful facility and great location.

    Cons

    Senior management doesn’t listen to concerns. Good employees are discouraged from voicing concerns in fear of retaliation from management. HR is no help to employees who bring concerns to their attention as they do not investigate claims and allow retaliation to occur. This inactivity by HR tends to lower morale.

    Continue reading
    United Stationers2017-10-24
  3. "distribution"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Forklift Operator in Hialeah, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Stationers for more than a year

    Pros

    now 2015 laid off

    Cons

    united good company but the manager is discriminatoria

    Continue reading
    United Stationers2016-12-12
  4. "Great employer, well informed employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Box Assembler in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Stationers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, well informed employees, company meetings to inform company's direction and training is accurate to jobs, advancement opportunities within the company are very much attainable

    Cons

    Hours not consistent due to the fact that they ship around the start of school and then hours slow down significantly once that period has ended

    Continue reading
    United Stationers2016-05-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Pay ok, poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Stationers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work was monotonous but ok, could get into a flow and make the time pass quicker. Some hardworking folk there, some lazy.

    Cons

    Upper management was a good ol'boys club. They weren't concerned about efficiency or improvement, just meeting standards and making time to smoke cigars together outside. High employee turnover. Hard work not rewarded.

    Continue reading
    United Stationers2016-05-10
  6. "Good Company"

    4.0
     

    I worked at United Stationers

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    A lot of night work

    United Stationers2016-04-05
  7. "Solid work."

    5.0
     

    I worked at United Stationers

    Pros

    Reliable hours, excellent coworkers, good compensation, and excellent union benefits. All in all, it's a very positive experience.

    Cons

    Graveyard shifts were lengthy, working with certain drivers can also be a pain.

    United Stationers2016-03-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A/R Credit"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Stationers

    Pros

    Generally a stable work environment

    Cons

    Extremely "Clicky". Company continues to acquire smaller companies, more work, same pay.

    Continue reading
    United Stationers2016-02-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at United Stationers

    Pros

    During my interview I began to love this company even more. They care about their employees

    Cons

    I do not have anything bad to say about the company although I have only began working there a bit ago.

    United Stationers2016-01-13
  10. "Operations Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Stationers for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Associate Engagement at all levels

    Cons

    Work/Life balance could use some improvement

    United Stationers2016-01-04
Found 105 reviews