United Talent Reviews | Glassdoor

United Talent Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Jeremy Zimmer
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The internship provided with me great insight into the entertainment industry and really pushed me to make connections and dive right in(in 8 reviews)

  • "Industry events, learn to grow thick skin and work in a fast paced environment(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, sometimes feels like not much room to grow(in 18 reviews)

  • "High pressure, low pay, promotions only available if you're related to the upper management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience as an Assistant (not Agent track)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at United Talent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, nice balance of corporate and casual atmosphere, interesting lunch and learn talks (and other employee perks), great office and company events

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to get a parking spot (if you're someone like me who doesn't quite like to valet) unless you get there really early

    United Talent2019-03-22
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator 

    I worked at United Talent full-time

    Pros

    Awesome atmosphere great place to work

    Cons

    Very competitive so hard to move up

    United Talent2019-08-13
  3. "Good company, could always be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent Trainee in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great connections. You will find lots of nice people and may make lifelong friends in the Training Program. Lots of learning and skill-building opportunities. Prestigious company name recognition. Lots of departments to choose from, both traditional (Talent, MP Lit) and new (Marketing, Branding, Digital/Innovation). Decent benefits and perks.

    Cons

    Terrible pay for the hours you put in. Lots of NOT so nice people. Very corporate environment and it is only getting bigger.

    United Talent2019-06-12
  4. "The best of times the worst of times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beverly Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Talent part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A beautiful office in the heart of Beverly Hills. The client roster is impressive and sometimes you get to work hands on with talent which is a fun perk. You are exposed to any type of industry you would like to get involved with, and most people are accessible for a sit down coffee chat. Some really genuine and hard working to be found which makes for great friendships outside of the office.

    Cons

    agents can be abusive. I do not say this lightly, people scream at eachother, blame fingers and there is a general string of tension that holds the place together. I felt like everyday I went in I was nervous for what would happen which eventually led to such bad anxiety. Also the hours are sort of ridiculous for what we are doing. It feels like the highschool cafeteria on steriods, and you are chum at the bottom.

    Advice to Management

    The shaming and public humiliation culture is counterproductive. Also lack of diversity! Wow what a shame there are almost NO people of color in executive roles, let alone women! It's 2019 folks!

    United Talent2019-05-20
  5. "Big Agency Wannabes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Talent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a few good agents at UTA. Little room for assistants to be promoted.

    Cons

    The CEO is a jerk.

    United Talent2019-06-05
  6. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaboration and networking with other assistants and agents

    Cons

    Long hours, sometimes feels like not much room to grow

    United Talent2019-03-21
  7. "Not as inclusive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Beverly Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food, access to the entertainment industry, nice office

    Cons

    Toxic environment that plays favoritism and lacks diversity.

    United Talent2019-04-02
  8. "Mailroom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at United Talent part-time

    Pros

    Great experience, was offered to stay and do the program

    Cons

    No cons working at this place

    United Talent2019-02-19
  9. "Typical Agency Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent Trainee 

    I worked at United Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Connections, boot-camp atmosphere, future job opportunities

    Cons

    Shark culture, extremely low retention rate of assistants/agent trainees

    United Talent2019-02-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Assistant in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -the training program is structured -they represent some of the best talent in Hollywood -the Beverly Hills office is beautiful with tons of artwork -Easy access to a ton of events and screenings

    Cons

    -long hours and some very difficult agents to work for -not a lot of wiggle room for salary and it can take a long time to get promoted

    United Talent2019-01-11
Found 76 reviews