United Technologies Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

United Technologies Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
United Technologies President & CEO Gregory J. Hayes
Gregory J. Hayes
26 Ratings
  1. "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Methods Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Company Culture, Attentive Leadership, Strong Support Systems, Employee Engagement

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything, this internship program was the strongest one that I was a part of!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in employees, from what I saw, it was doing wonderfully!

    United Technologies2019-09-10
  2. "Pretty Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing I can really think of.

    United Technologies2020-01-18
  3. "Inability to retain talent will lead company down a rough path in the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stock is currently doing okay due to spin-offs and mergers.... but I imagine it will drop once investors realize the company is unable to retain talent.

    Cons

    - Company culture is very much "make stakeholders richer at the expense of employees." - If your department isn't in the business of quick profits (ie. Fly-By-Wire), the company leaders don't really care if the department sinks. - Pretty average/meh benefits and compensation

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees

    United Technologies2020-01-07
  4. "Benefits better than other defense companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great. Compared to other defense companies, UTC has overall better benefits.

    Cons

    As expected, the upper management is very old and very conservative. Hard to get the needed changes across.

    United Technologies2019-11-20
  5. "Good Employee Focus for a Big Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer 

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Education program, although benefits have been reduced in past 10 years or so

    Cons

    It is a huge company

    United Technologies2019-09-12
  6. "Management goes against company policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and friendly HR

    Cons

    Internal politics and management clicks

    United Technologies2019-06-01
  7. "Good company to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good processes, training programs. Education assistance was good

    Cons

    Not a good place for career advancement. Could be very political as you grow in the career. Not an empowered culture.

    Advice to Management

    Drive for some values among the top leadership.

    United Technologies2019-05-18
  8. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Company benefits are great !

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    NA

    United Technologies2019-03-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Comfortable place to work but difficult to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Hartford, CT

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Fairly competitive PTO and family leave -Opportunities to move around a lot if you'd like -Plenty of leadership programs -Depending on the department you work for, training opportunities -Additional degrees are paid in full if approved by manager

    Cons

    -Difficult to rise up the ranks due to 1) age gap and 2) extremely saturated management hierarchy -Way too many layers of management, susceptible to turning work into "updating the charts" -IT is antiquated (I'm not talking about IT support, I'm talking about tools to do your job) -Note to those who heard UTC has a good education reimbursement program: as of 2019, it has changed so you need to stay with the company for a couple years or pay the tuition back (I still encourage you to do it because you'll probably be there for several years anyways but just an FYI)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I like the new CTO, he brings a fresh perspective that caters to the younger generation that is needed to keep the company afloat. A lot of engineers are taking the retirement packages offered so pulling in young talent is super important. I'd also encourage flatter organizations.

    United Technologies2019-02-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "None, NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time

    Pros

    PTO, Sick leave, flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Bad Management, terrible healthcare etc..

    United Technologies2019-01-17
Found 103 reviews