United Technologies Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

United Technologies Intern Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
United Technologies President & CEO Gregory J. Hayes
Gregory J. Hayes
3 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    good leadership, team work and great environment. Breaks and healthy living are encouraged and outside of work happy hours and networking events are frequent.

    Cons

    very busy during month and quarter end, long decision making process, lots of meetings, small departments

    Advice to Management

    Sit more with their teams to ensure efficiency and achieving goals

    United Technologies2019-09-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Was good. Supervisors care a lot about development of intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Work was interesting, and was also there when we acquired another major company.

    Cons

    9-5 gig. Kind of calm. Work was repetitive

    United Technologies2019-06-24
  3. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing exposure to political processes

    Cons

    Occasionally a lot of downtime.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    United Technologies2019-04-09
  4. "Nice people, boring work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - SWE Intern in Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    People there are super nice and willing to help

    Cons

    Work is boring. Environment is dreary and depressing. No windows in buildings. Other companies I've interned for always tried to make the environment lively and entertaining, but UTC made no effort to even try. Typical drabby corporate environment.

    United Technologies2019-01-09
  5. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company and great internship program for engineers

    Cons

    Not as many social and networking events for interns compared to other big companies

    United Technologies2018-09-06
  6. "Great work, great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Real life experience, I got three new, useful projects on my resume. The pay is amazing (almost $30).

    Cons

    Slow days make life boring at times.

    Advice to Management

    Yell at me when I do things wrong. I know I messed up. I dont want to have to internalize my failure.

    United Technologies2017-11-10
  7. "Excellent Research Center with Remarkable People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    I interned at the Software Systems Lab. Excellent facilities for doing research. You get high-end systems and computing environment for performing massive computations. Most members have Ph.D. and cultivate good research habits. Lucrative salary and bonus.

    Cons

    Too many restrictions on the use of technology without approval, especially in the Systems Department. Limited access to UTRC facility for Non-US citizens.

    Advice to Management

    UTRC doesn't have open culture mainly because of the projects, however, some degree of openness can be practiced among the employees of a lab.

    United Technologies2017-10-08
  8. "Good company ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyable experiences. Ability to engage in company meetings with executives.

    Cons

    Work could get mundane sometimes.

    United Technologies2017-06-24
  9. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at United Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Flexible hours Big company Employee benefits

    Cons

    Black and white company Boring Old legacy systems

    United Technologies2016-06-22
  10. "Communications Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern - Hourly in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies

    Pros

    -Great people, -Lots of responsibility as an intern

    Cons

    -Boring at times -Difficult work/life balance

    United Technologies2016-02-09
Found 23 reviews