United Technologies Manufacturing Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

United Technologies Manufacturing Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
United Technologies President & CEO Gregory J. Hayes
Gregory J. Hayes
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "People are great. Company okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manufacturing Engineer in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good teams and committed people Understanding of family commitments Fun bonding events Bosses are interested in you as a person Recognize results

    Cons

    Tough to get career advice and development Some stuck in their ways Not sure corporate really cares

    United Technologies2018-12-14
  2. "UTC review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Manufacturing Engineer in Windsor Locks, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at United Technologies for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good People, Decent Pay, Reasonable Hours

    Cons

    Incompetence at many levels, including slow moving due to bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    slim down many processes

    United Technologies2015-07-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Confusing Decisions/Directions now that UTC is running the show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Good benefits in terms of sick time and culture. - Good schooling benefits - Work life balance is good

    Cons

    - No communication - Pay is average - No direction from Management - Broken processes - Low morale - Bonus structure isn't great, payouts are poor - Many managers, no leaders. Very focused on bottom line, no eyes on the horizon - Many managers have no manufacturing experience, They love data, which I do as well, but they don't do much with it. - Technical people aren't valued as much, managers seem more valued (perception) - Always changing direction - The vision is 15% earnings growth, and it ends there. so I ask, How are we going to do it? What are the plans, what are our core competencies? What is being outsourced? What equipment are we buying? What are we getting rid of? - Very old equipment - No training job training, skills enhancing. -

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your head out of your butt. Understand the current situation, fix the problems, redo bad processes, stop looking at the bottom line the whole time and start looking at the big picture. Stop chasing dimes with dollars when dollars can be saved with redoing major processes. It seems to me that they try to force things through the processes because the processes are horrid. Bad processes encourage people to go around them or figure out ways to not go through them, like changing procedures for bad prints because the eco process takes months to get through. Fix the bad processes so people won't have to think around them. Also, don't flow down processes and force people to adhere to them when they don't exist or when no training is done on how to perform them. Train people on SAP, FIX SAP, train people on how to do their job. The quality of a product comes from the design, people, equipment, you have old equipment, no training of the people, and the designs are very old. I fail to see how you can improve the quality of the product strictly through minor changes in procedural changes. Figure out the core compentencies, develop them, buy equipment for them, train the people on how to use the equipment, advance the processes for those, and design for the use of your core compentencies, design out the stuff you don't want to use.

    Show More
    United Technologies2014-04-05
  4. "Lots of opportunities if you are living in Connecticut."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manufacturing Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UTC offers lots of growth opportunities if you are living in CT area. Anywhere else growth opportunities are slim pickings especially since they are trying to centralize all departments at their global HQ in CT. Educational reimbursement - one of the best in the industry

    Cons

    Pay not comparable to industry standards. High turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Make pay more comparable with market standards.

    United Technologies2012-07-20
  5. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very interesting challenging work. Good variety.

    Cons

    Very challenging at times.

    United Technologies2019-12-03
  6. "Working at UTC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Manufacturing Engineer in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at United Technologies for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People you work with, good friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    No direction from senior management don't involve staff in knowing the company strategic direction. Run by bean counters

    United Technologies2015-10-09
  7. "Lots of Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly Ethical, Great People, Great Workforce

    Cons

    I didn`t face any issues

    United Technologies2014-01-20
Found 7 reviews