United Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

United Technologies Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
United Technologies President & CEO Gregory J. Hayes
Gregory J. Hayes
188 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work and they take the time to care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They really care about their employees and are always looking to improve their work environment. They value their employees opinions.

    Cons

    None at this time. I have had nothing but a great and awesome experience working for this company and I wish their were more companies like this one to improve the lives of millions.

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-10-04
  2. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in East Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ♣ Top performer who makes decisions to reflect positively on globally based operations success in alignment with a company’s vision, value, and goals, and showcases an ability to see the “big picture” within diverse industries while leading by example to drive multimillion-dollar business and a strong history of core growth and profits.

    Cons

    I do not make my desire to move up known to my superiors, no challenge and slow move

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-08-30
  3. "They take care of us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Leadership Program in East Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New policy of 15 days of paid time off. Employee scholar program. Job mobility within the company to gain valuable experience.

    Cons

    Still trying to appeal to millennials. A lot if potential, but still your stereotypical office job. However your job options within the company are endless and it is very common to change roles every few years within the enterprise to advance your own worth.

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-08-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "UTC Operations Leadership Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Leadership Program in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The UTC Operations Leadership Program (OLP) is a premier leadership program offering 3 rotations; associates take on three roles within manufacturing, quality, and supply chain of three different businesses over two years. The OLP presents excellent functional challenges. Early career leaders are stretched in manufacturing, quality, and supply chain challenges that have direct, significant impact to the businesses. The OLP Associates have full exposure to the business in their roles and through networking and mentoring. You will not find better access to executives throughout the company. The exposure to solving tough problems, strategic leadership guidance, and the future direction of the company is also key to the program’s attractiveness. The responsibility and position of the OLPs leads to enormous leadership growth over the two years. OLPs regularly evaluate their skills and the program strategic places OLPs to stretch their skill gaps. OLPs have to work hard to grow in those areas but leave the role much stronger. OLPs have the support of the program and business to facilitate the moves between businesses, as well. Roles are screened for impact to the business and the business supports the OLPs logistic and financial needs with a comprehensive moving package. The OLPs have numerous opportunities to network in and outside their teams and businesses. The name of the program itself opens doors to supportive executives that give mentoring, both formally through assigned executive mentors, and informally, as OLPs reach out to mentors per their career interests and development needs. At the end of the two years, OLPs are not short on job opportunities. The program is a two year interview with countless opportunities to present to executives and hiring managers. Taking full advantage of the company’s leadership development review boards, the program puts OLPs at the forefront of key hiring needs. OLPs go on to direct their interests and often have multiple opportunities to choose from. The program is overall a great environment to grow operations talent. The OLPs themselves develop a wide support network within their cohort of fellow associates as well as the larger employee network. The program recognizes the challenges OLPs take on, even more than the company’s already strong reward for performance culture. The overall benefits of the program are incalculable. As a former OLP, just recently graduated in 2017 I have no regrets to the challenges and adventures that the program offered me. I would not have been able to springboard my career with the amazing experiences, supportive network, and leadership insights it provided.

    Cons

    The program stretches across all businesses and dozens of sites within the company, each with their own local culture. Some roles, despite the screening, do not fully give the OLPs support initially. Still, a strong OLP finds there’s always work to be done and quickly motivates the site to support them by loading them up with added responsibility by exceeding expectations of performance over and over.

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-08-07
  5. "Prodcution Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Planner in Hodges, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    competitive wages, flexible working hours, excellent benefits

    Cons

    management, not eager to give certain people to opportunity to move up within the company, need more diverse group in salary positions

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "UTC is the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Leadership Program Associate in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product, the locations, and the senior leadership

    Cons

    The size of the conglomerate

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-07-07
  7. "World Class Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UTC provides you with endless amounts of opportunities to advance your career -Fortune 50 company with 4 industry leading business units, world changing products/technology/innovation -Employee Scholar Program, pays for your education -Long-term business growth, great leadership -Many opportunities around internal promotions -Great benefits/ deal & discounts

    Cons

    Need to implement change to advance internal systems (solution: digital strategy which is beginning implementation)

    United Technologies2017-06-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great projects, bright future

    Cons

    Need to reduce bureaucracy and move faster

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-06-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "OLP alum 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Leadership Program Associate in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I just completed my two-year stint in the Operations Leadership Program with rotations at the Carrier and UTC Aerospace Systems businesses. AMAZING perspective on the workings of a multinational industrial manufacturer. UTC corporate invests significantly in the OLP program and it met every expectation that I had of it. OLP associates are truly set up for success.

    Cons

    Some days/weeks/months are more fulfilling than others. From day one, you are coached to be "adaptable" and embrace change. However, even when you don't get exactly what you expected in a rotation, being able to compare/contrast it with other roles is a unique and important perspective. There is also a learning curve to UTC--you will need guidance to thrive in a "matrix" environment if that is new for you. Fortunately the support system is there, and the OLP sets you up for success.

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-06-29
  10. "Working UTC..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAP PM/Senior Analyst in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Frequent reorganizations happen within and department names and teams get rearranged

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2017-06-20
Found 709 reviews