United Technologies "employee scholar program" Reviews | Glassdoor

United Technologies Employee Reviews about "employee scholar program"

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
United Technologies CEO Gregory J. Hayes
Gregory J. Hayes
199 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee scholar program"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company I've Worked for In a Long Time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tech, Inf Svc Supp in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent employee health incenstives. Outstanding education funding called Employee Scholar Program (pay tuition in advance). Great Support System. Believes in and support work/life balance.

    Cons

    Buyout integration is a nightmare for everyone. Health insurance could be more competitive. Eliminate PayFlex HSA as I'm limited as to what I can purchase with MY OWN MONEY!

    Advice to Management

    I think senior manager is listening and are doing a great job. Integration could take 18 to 36 months or longer. We need to be patient and let the dust settle.

    United Technologies2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not for the faint of heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent project portfolio Training opportunities Employee Scholar Program

    Cons

    Bottom line trumps everything else Don't expect your input to mean much if you're not in leadership Favoritism and/or nepotism are hard to avoid and overcome

    United Technologies2019-02-23
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Company looks good on resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Scholar Program and Paid Paternity Leave for fathers. Career opportunities if you can relocate. Company emphasizes hiring and promoting women and minorities.

    Cons

    Avoid the Climate Controls and Security Division where restructurings occur every year and top management is very into micromanagement.

    United Technologies2018-05-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best Employee Scholar Plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Employee Scholar Plan, Generous Pay, Promotion Opportunities

    Cons

    It is a big corporation, so all the cons usually associated with those.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology, which is funny since it is in our name, but we lag behind competitors all over the place with systems to manage our operations.

    United Technologies2018-01-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Extremely high expectations. The more you get done the more they expect of you. A lot of overtime is expected."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies

    Pros

    Good benefits: health insurance, employee scholar program, good peers, camadarie

    Cons

    Micromanaging boss, team leader who does not manage people well which causes department dissension

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your Ivory Tower and see what people are having to do to accomplish what they're being asked to do

    United Technologies2017-11-20
  6. "They take care of us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Leadership Program in East Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New policy of 15 days of paid time off. Employee scholar program. Job mobility within the company to gain valuable experience.

    Cons

    Still trying to appeal to millennials. A lot if potential, but still your stereotypical office job. However your job options within the company are endless and it is very common to change roles every few years within the enterprise to advance your own worth.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to challenge us.

    United Technologies2017-08-11
  7. "World Class Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UTC provides you with endless amounts of opportunities to advance your career -Fortune 50 company with 4 industry leading business units, world changing products/technology/innovation -Employee Scholar Program, pays for your education -Long-term business growth, great leadership -Many opportunities around internal promotions -Great benefits/ deal & discounts

    Cons

    Need to implement change to advance internal systems (solution: digital strategy which is beginning implementation)

    United Technologies2017-06-30
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great company, no room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Business Analyst in East Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, company is starting to promote work/life balance, employee scholar program. Great technology, company is on the forefront of innovation in Aerospace.

    Cons

    UTC has a very lean IT organization. The chances of moving up at this company are slim to none. You are better off leaving and coming back, rather than giving loyalty and expecting to move up. Not the right company if you want to go down the management track. Not the right company if you're technical, most IT is outsourced. Great company if you solely want to be a Project Manager.

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate how you hire from within. Sometimes the talent pool you have is better than finding hot resources outside.

    United Technologies2017-01-18
  9. "Overall, Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies

    Pros

    Employee Scholar Program (pays for most if not all education expenses) Good work life balance Good development opportunities

    Cons

    The pay is less competitive compared to other companies

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on retention, especially retaining younger people.

    United Technologies2016-03-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth the wonderful benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package. After a year of employment you are eligible to participate in the employee scholar program which covers 100% of education costs for many degree programs.

    Cons

    Rampant office politics. Limited career advancement opportunities between business units.

    Advice to Management

    Support a career track for your employees who have earned their advanced degrees through the scholar program. You are hemorrhaging valuable talent by not investing in their further advancement within the company.

    United Technologies2016-01-12
Found 36 reviews