United Way Reviews | Glassdoor

United Way Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 804 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
United Way CEO Brian A. Gallagher
Brian A. Gallagher
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to work with a low key vibe and a great work life balance(in 49 reviews)

  • "It's an established non-profit and it shows(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "The non-profit culture isn't a fit for everyone(in 71 reviews)

  • "As all nonprofit organization does(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mission Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Way full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very focused on mission and goals to help the community.

    Cons

    So focused on how to be better and often not enough time to celebrate victories.

    United Way2019-08-16
  2. "Organization full of smart, committed folks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Lots of smart, committed folks.

    Cons

    -Pay -Lack of opportunities for promotion -No clear path to advancement -Siloed work structure leads to organizational confusion

    Advice to Management

    -Provide many more opportunities for professional development -Have organizational processes in place so people know how to achieve a promotion

    United Way2019-08-17
  3. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Clerical Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Way part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You truly help the community with this company. I worked more directly with individuals, which I thought I might of not.

    Cons

    I really do not see a negative about this company. In my position not much changes, so its the same type of work.

    United Way2019-08-12
  4. "Great for Nonprofit Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and leave time Management open to new ideas Top-down transparency

    Cons

    Staff engagement could be improved

    United Way2019-08-10
  5. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Human Resources in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mission; staff that really cares; progressive; open collaborative environment;

    Cons

    Decrease in local donors which makes furthering the mission difficult

    Advice to Management

    Instill in your teams that we are all fundraisers

    United Way2019-08-06
  6. "Improvements Needed - Potential for HFUW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at United Way full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good benefits - some good and caring people (like anywhere) - good location

    Cons

    - hierarchical - poor salaries (when compared to other local nonprofits and cost of living) - hard to move up or around - poor HR service - culture required major changes at time of departure

    Advice to Management

    Flexible working hours and increased pay for lower and middle management. Listen from the bottom up. New senior management is an absolute necessity.

    United Way2019-08-20
  7. "Impactful work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance and Administration in Midland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Impactful work with great coworkers and management.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons for this employer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    United Way2019-07-30
  8. "A Friendly and Nurturing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Benefits Specialist in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at United Way full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent management, Understanding of life circumstances, Overall great work environment

    Cons

    Pay is a little low

    Advice to Management

    None to offer

    United Way2019-07-31
  9. "Great Benefits and Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay, and work-life balance

    Cons

    Each department can feel like an island.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care about your employees and the cause- it shows.

    United Way2019-07-17
  10. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Way full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job. Decent pay. Positive environment

    Cons

    I had to use my personal vehicle, so I gained a lot of miles

    United Way2019-07-10
Found 804 reviews