Cover image for United Way
Logo

United Way

Engaged Employer

United Way

Add a Review

United Way Employee Reviews about "united way"

Updated Sep 9, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,721 of over 2K reviews
3.8
66% Recommend to a Friend
United Way CEO and President Angela F. Williams
66% Approve of CEO

Found 46 of over 2K reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
United Way CEO and President Angela F. Williams
Angela F. Williams
60 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "the people are great and welcoming.(in 150 reviews)
  • "Great Benefits and very rewarding.(in 85 reviews)
  • "Staff is friendly and can network very easily within the non(in 44 reviews)
  • "Great culture and an interesting place to work.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers and atmosphere.(in 30 reviews)
Cons
  • "The pay is low but its non(in 95 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership is petty and can be remarkably immature and unprofessional when someone disagrees with them(in 53 reviews)
  • "Very demanding and low salaries.(in 49 reviews)
  • "Poor management and a hapless CEO who is leaving after inflicting deep organizational damage.(in 38 reviews)
  • "However, opportunities for further employment with them were not offered, and my attempts to reach out to my former managers have been received unenthusiastically.(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of United Way and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "united way"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Pros and Cons

    Mar 3, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff is welcoming and kind. You can tell that leaders are incredibly passionate about the work they do in the community.

    Cons

    When I started at United Way there seemed to be a rift between upper management and lower levels. In the last few months that I worked there it seemed to improve but there was incredibly high turnover while I was there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great organization, great people

    Jan 16, 2015 - Loaned Executive in Spokane, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love what United Way stands for and the people that work here believe in the organization's mission. Like any non-profit, it's all hands on deck to make things happen and it takes a great team to do just that.

    Cons

    As a young professional I experienced a generational gap between me and other older employees. Some times it was hard to convey my innovative ideas to others.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the United Way team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Work in Progress

    Apr 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The United Way is great at staying focused on their work for the community and raising money. They are conveners who bring the community together. One gets great satisfaction working here, because you feel you are making a difference in people's lives.

    Cons

    Leadership is so focused on their work of the community, they forget about their own employees...one had better be a self-starter and work independently, don't count on being mentored, or having help.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Account Manager

    Oct 4, 2022 - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working at United Way! Everyone is friendly and they truly care about you

    Cons

    The pay could be better but that is how it is in nonprofits

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Work dynamics At United Way

    Feb 15, 2018 - Marketing Volunteer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    united Way of Lake County has good work culture

    Cons

    frequent change in the management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good workplace but challenging times

    May 23, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    United Way has a good mission in empowering people to participate in their families and community. The organization has targeted areas of service which gives it more focus than it had traditionally.

    Cons

    Like in many nonprofits, if you want to earn a big salary you shouldn't be working here. Nonprofits need to keep overhead low so donated funds go to services.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    D

    Oct 16, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many colleagues were truly passionate about helping their communities, and were caring and devoted to their work. I met people I am proud to have as lifelong friends.

    Cons

    I believe the experience comes down to the Senior Management of the local United Way where one is employed. The head of UW where I worked had no idea how to treat, motivate or respect employees. Also, new initiaitves were constantly being started with no regard as to the resources available to make those initiatives successful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It can be a hell. They are not really United Way.

    Jun 21, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Ciudad de Mexico
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    professional staff. Because they are a branch of United Way there is a lot of opportunities with other Non Profits or Bussiness.

    Cons

    Bureocratic, hierarchical and Very slow. A lot of micromanaging.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people but leadership is lacking - Salt Lake office

    Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the best people work at United Way which makes the job very enjoyable. A lot of hardworking individuals ready to make social change. They offer competitive benefits and have a great 401(k) match. Flexible schedules as well.

    Cons

    In my years at the SLC United Way the leadership lacked the whole time. They do not want you to grow professionally. I've had former coworkers hired for one position, and years into that position express interest in moving up or changing positions only to be pushed out by management. The top protects the top, and only the top gets those big promotions. They aren't transparent with the work they are doing and how much money they are actually spending on 'big projects.' Sometimes they need to slow down and figure out how to fix a problem with the tools they have rather than jump into the next multi-million dollar project to fix another problem.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Nonprofit Experience

    May 30, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The atmosphere is very good for entry level professionals looking to develop their skills. The employees at Lake Area United Way are all very friendly and genuinely want to help each other succeed. I wasn't afraid to ask questions about the various responsibilities I had, which made for a comfortable environment to learn.

    Cons

    If you're looking for a fast paced working environment, then this is not the company for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with United Way Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at United Way? Share Your Experiences

United Way logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

United Way Photos

+ Add Photo
United Way photo of: Volunteers Placing 211 Posters in Shop Windows
United Way photo of: Community Schools Help Children and Families Succeed - Marilyn Avenue Elementary Lives United.
United Way photo of: Women's History Month Staff Postcard Party - Tea, cookies, conversation...and kudos for our heroines. What could be better?
United Way photo of: United Way advocates from around the system gather to lobby congress
United Way photo of: Volunteers Setting Out on 211 Poster Campaign
United Way photo of: Beating the heat, thanks to a surprise visit from Snackman!
United Way photo of: First Lady Michelle Obama at a United Way event in Los Angeles.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

United Way Job Seekers Also Viewed

The Volunteer Center Logo
The Volunteer Center

4.6

7 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,723 United Way reviews submitted anonymously by United Way employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if United Way is right for you.