Cover image for United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)
Logo
See All Photos

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)

Engaged Employer

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)

Add a Review

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,876 of over 2K reviews
2.8
36% Recommend to a Friend
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) President & CEO Mat Ishbia
47% Approve of CEO

Found 1,878 of over 2K reviews

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) President & CEO Mat Ishbia
Mat Ishbia
1,209 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

5d

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

26

7 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great but that is really the only good thing I have to say(in 154 reviews)
  • "The people and culture are great(in 108 reviews)
  • "There are many pros about UWM; lots of learning and great training to get into this underwriting field(in 102 reviews)
  • "Great team members to work with(in 73 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good(in 73 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company

    Nov 6, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, money and the brokers

    Cons

    None, I loved it here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Was great. Now I cant feed my family.

    Nov 19, 2022 - Underwriter in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the job and the culture. Previously I could earn based on my performance which i loved.

    Cons

    Bonus was eliminated. Supposed to hang in until available again. I would love to as I love my job but I need to take care of my family. I will end the year at 60% of what I made last year even though I hit or exceeded commitment through this slower time.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great opportunities

    Nov 24, 2022 - Database Developer in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities here to grow your skillsets.

    Cons

    The pay is kind of low and there is no remote option

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Training Team

    Nov 19, 2022 - Senior Trainer in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Access to learn training and design tools.

    Cons

    Professional growth is stifled and conversations shut down by leadership.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Promised something, received something else

    Nov 20, 2022 - Underwriter in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Melting pot of all types of people. Easily can ask questions if you feel lost.

    Cons

    Hard to receive any bonuses for going above and beyond. There just a few underwriters in the company that cherry pick easier loans and you are left with the messed up hard ones.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company but bad experience working their

    Nov 18, 2022 - Account Executive in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company, training was great

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity in sales. I was given a lot of accounts that weren't active and expected to get business from them, some where retired brokers and some only did loans for friends/family but didn't care to grow their business. A few refused to do business because a deal in the past didn't go through and they blamed AE and company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Coach for all things mortgage related

    Nov 8, 2022 - Account Executive in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You decide how to run your business

    Cons

    No remote options and a lot of micromanaging

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    They make it sound much better than it is

    Nov 18, 2022 -  in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The campus is nice, and there are good amenities when you can use them.

    Cons

    Abusive clients who throw tantrums, cult-like atmosphere, unrealistic expectations, promises for advancement that do not materialize, lower-than-average pay compared to other jobs in the industry,

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible

    Oct 25, 2022 - Underwriter 2 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free coffee was pretty good

    Cons

    Literally everything else. Long hours, horrible management.

    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to begin your career

    Nov 4, 2022 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth with plenty of opportunity, good benefits

    Cons

    Some middle leadership is weaker and micro manages

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,878 Reviews
</>Embed

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Reviews FAQs

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) has an overall rating of 2.8 out of 5, based on over 1,950 reviews left anonymously by employees. 36% of employees would recommend working at United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) to a friend and 35% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM). This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

36% of United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) 2.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) to be culture, benefits, career development and the cons to be management, senior leadership, compensation.

Popular Careers with United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)? Share Your Experiences

or

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Careers

Cover image for United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)

As the #1 mortgage lender in the nation, UWM provides our mortgage broker partners with unparalleled client service, exclusive tools, and...More

  • Our Culture
  • Our Campus
  • Our Community
  • Our Pillars
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)

6 days ago

Careers
For the last four weeks, we opened our doors every Saturday to local area high school students to immerse themselves in the world of artificial intelligence. These bright young minds will be the future of technological revolutions and innovation in the AI world thanks to the Mark Cuban Foundation.
Logo

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)

16 days ago

Careers
On this Veterans Day, we showed gratitude and respect for our team member resource group, Veterans United, with a special ceremony and luncheon. For our united hero's and all service members, we thank you for serving our county.
Shared image
See all

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Photos

+ Add Photo
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Shop Til You Drop 2021
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Shop Til You Drop 2021
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Shop Til You Drop 2021
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Shop Til You Drop 2021
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Holiday Party 2021
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Holiday Party 2021
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) photo of: Holiday Party 2021
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Job Seekers Also Viewed

Rocket Companies Logo
Rocket Companies

3.9

4,198 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,950 United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) reviews submitted anonymously by United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) is right for you.