UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
134 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work and be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, advancement in company.

    Cons

    No cons that can think of

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-22
  2. "Top of the Food Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Quality Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is tremendous!

    Cons

    Lateral and/or promotions are tedious

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-12
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Worked independently so lack of comraderie

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-08
  4. "Decent Benefits-Horrible Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is a large insurance company and therefore can offer lower cost insurance options. ``

    Cons

    The atmosphere is mostly older, fat, lazy workers. Petty gossip is pervasive and most people skate by doing as little as possible. The pay is low and there is little opportunity for growth. Even after stellar performance reviews all year long, I received a .35/hour raise.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-22
  5. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, nice coworkers.

    Cons

    A lot of travel within your territory.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, great place to work.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great job until the lay off..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Advocate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working from home, great salary and benefits clinical support

    Cons

    I got laid off after working a little over a year due to reduction in workforce. Last in, first out.

    Advice to Management

    If you keep the people who have started more recently, you are probably paying them less and they have less vacation time. The people who have been there for years are the people that need to be laid off. They have high salaries and are off work more than they are at work due to the amount of PTO they get. Doesn't make any sense.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great start, weak finish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor Pharmacy Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities and potential.

    Cons

    Opportunities are restricted and blocked.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-16
  8. "Internal Sales Representative Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Work Environment and fitness center for health and wellness

    Cons

    Low pay compared to pressure on the job

    Advice to Management

    Check on granting Compensation commensurate with responsibility of the job

    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Program Director in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UHG provides several opportunities for growth and pays for education.

    Cons

    The culture has changed in that the company re-organizes so often that people often don't know who to go to and people feel nervous about their job security. Rules are not the same across the organization such as some areas expect their staff to be in the office every day even though they don't meet with people and they are just as efficient working from home.

    Advice to Management

    Provide opportunities for staff to work from home 2-3 days a week as this is better on the economy and also provides trust between leadership and employees.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager/Scrum Master in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Co-workers who shared the same frustrations, we could vent to each other.

    Cons

    They continue to cut jobs monthly, in small batches so that it doesn't hit the news, and at the same time report $5 billion in profits. The majority of resources do not receive merit increases or bonuses yet the execs line their pockets with all the profits. The job cuts seem to be focused on the seasoned professionals, years of experience are getting walked out the door. And work continues to move offshore for cheaper, less skilled resources who cannot communicate properly. I had to leave after 12 years, I couldn't tolerate the way management treats their employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer the early retirement option again, I bet at least 50% of the resources will take it, then you don't have to continue to cut jobs.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-17
Found 709 reviews