UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated March 24, 2017
5,604 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group President, CEO, and Director Steve Hemsley
Steve Hemsley
1,949 Ratings

5,604 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Little lagging in work life balance (in 216 reviews)

  • The health benefits (considering it's a health insurance company) are not that great (in 238 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (9)

    "Excellent Company With Great Benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Billing Analyst in Harlingen, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Billing Analyst in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great schedule, exciting work, great people, good place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Honestly, I enjoyed the experience so much, I'd go back again forever if my position still existed, I would be there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Every manager I ever encountered was awesome.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad to hear that your experience at UnitedHealth Group was enjoyable! Sincerely, Erika Cassidy, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  2. Helpful (375)

    "Very heads-down"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area."

    This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading.

    Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review.

    The positives:
    Great work/life balance: I never have to stay late, work on weekends, etc. I get 23 vacation days and my manager encourages me to use them AND completely unplug while away.

    Beautiful office: I work at the new Optum office in Eden Prairie. Building is modern and comfortable. Full size gym and locker room, and workout classes. Great parking ramp with a skyway so you never need to go outside in the rain or snow!

    Work from home: VERY progressive with WFH! I can work from wherever I want. if I want to WFH one day, I can. If I want to WFH the whole week, I can do that, too. No one questions you.

    Total autonomy

    No drama: This is a very heads down place! I can't stress that enough. No one socializes with each other -- most of the time, you never even talk to your cube neighbors (because they're probably working from home). This is a positive for me though -- after working in some high drama offices, this is a refreshing change.

    All meetings are over webex: Great news if you hate in-person meetings like I do -- because there are very few! In the 6 months I've been here, I've had 4 in person meetings. This is also a con because you never meet your coworkers - read the con list for more info.

    30 minute "best practice" meeting times: You will not get invited to 2+ hour meetings, ever. Nearly all meetings are only 30 minutes. You might have the one-off meeting that's an hour, but it's rare.

    Good, standardized PM practices. But some of the documentation requirements are too rigid and can slow progress down. Our group is trying to move to 100% agile. Slowly.... All of my projects so far have been waterfall SDLC. Although as a new person, it would help to have a PM to shadow on some of these documentation/audit practices. I've had to learn as I go.

    - Great cafeteria with cheap prices. I can get a lunch here cheaper than I can bring it from home.

    -Very engaging training classes!!! All training classes are over LearnSource (i.e. your computer) but the videos are well done and entertaining.

    Cons

    -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there.

    -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer.

    -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is very heads-down and focused on work -- no one chit chats about football or True Detective! You will not have coworkers stopping by your desk (to chat about a TV show OR to even chat about work). Most of my days, I don't talk to anyone in person. It's kind of depressing -- and I'm an introvert! There are no happy hours, social events outside of work, etc (this is a positive for me because I hate that stuff).

    -Lots of contractors. Not that it's a bad thing - I've had great experiences with the PM contractors. They obviously don't last as long as the employees, and there's more contractor PMs than employee PMs.

    -Difficult, as a new person, to know "who's who." There is no face-to-face meetings, so as a PM, it's tough to know who does what, since there's no face to put with the name. I struggle with this a lot, as I'm not used to this extreme of a "remote" workforce!

    -No wifi for your phone. Wifi is only available for visitors and you must have a user name and password.

    -Nearly all social media websites are blocked. Not really a con, but something you might want to know. You won't be browsing facebook at work!

    -LOTS of meetings. Sure, the meetings aren't in person, they're over Webex, but you will have a LOT of them.

    -Some "know-it-all" ego-driven coworkers, especially on the tech side. But this is typical of IT in general. I've witnessed this at every org in which I've worked.

    Advice to Management

    Get some org charts!

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm ... More


  3. "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Edina, MN
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Intelligent people, high standards, respect.

    Cons

    Salaries could be higher for job requirements.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for the review and your time spent at UnitedHealth Group. We agree that surrouding yourself with a respectful team and high performers makes for a great work environement. Best, Ashley ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Great place. Great people. Competitive pay and incentives.

    Cons

    Big company lots of bureaucracy

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you're enjoying a few benefits UnitedHealth Group offers. This is a large organization and I would suggest discussing any issues you have with your manager in ... More


  6. "Good overall"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good Benefit Good Way of thinking

    Cons

    Stressing but interesting in the value

    Advice to Management

    Improve

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your perspective. Sincerely, Amber Smith, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  7. "Good place to work, poor benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great environment, learning opportunities, ability to move within the corporation.

    Cons

    Poor insurance options, hard to move up

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your perspective. I'm glad you're enjoying several of the benefits UnitedHealth Group offers. Advancement is based on the employee's hard work and performance. To increase your ... More


  8. "Client Service Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Exposure on current available software and ensures employees are knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Difficult to move within the company.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, have you gone to our internal careers website? There is lots of information on how to further your career journey, from classes/training to ensuring you apply for roles ... More


  9. "ScrumMaster"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent people. Good work-life balance. Some wfh allowed.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement, low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Improve pay

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you felt there was little advancement as there are many online opportunities to grow and advance your career online. We wish you the best. Sincerely, Amber Smith ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company with lots of professional potential"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I'm going on 18 years at UHG. The benefits are good, I take part in the employee stock purchase option, I'm socking away as best I can into my 401k with employer matching, I got a college degree using the tuition reimbursement program, I take advantage of the Health Savings Account and the opportunities available to lower my premiums. There is a a great deal of emphasis from the top down on values - knowing them, living them. Volunteerism is encouraged, as are team building opportunities outside work (e.g., Polar Plunge, National Volunteering Day). The CEO and his knights of the round table are committed to improving healthcare for everyone and finding ways to be proactive in getting people the healthcare they need.

    Cons

    Like any other business, there are some bad apples. I've had a couple of terrible managers (micro-managers, ego trippers). Thankfully, there are a lot of directions to go once you're in the door and I was able to exit those teams where I was destined to quit or be brow-beaten to death.

    Advice to Management

    Guys at the top - keep on fighting the good fight! As we make our way down into middle management, watch the Vital Signs and other signs that your managers are allowing really valuable people to leave the company because of team politics.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Wow, what a great reflection! I agree, the executive staff is really good about modeling the leadership we need within the complicated health care system. And yes, there are departments and managers ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great oppurtunities."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, always opportunities to grow, they promote from within.

    Cons

    Starting out can be in a call center. Strict schedules and attendance expectation.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your perspective. I'm glad you're enjoying several of the benefits UnitedHealth Group has to offer. Sincerely, Amber Smith, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group



Showing 5,604 of 5,799 reviews
Reset Filters