UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
1,452 Ratings
Pros
  • "Telecommuting is great and it feels amazing to work from home(in 1341 reviews)

  • "Flexible work timings good work life balance chance to learn cutting edge technologies(in 939 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance is beyond terrible, this is NOT an org to work 40 hours in(in 380 reviews)

  • "poor health insurance and limited flexibility on administrative matters given corporate bureaucracy(in 363 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of UnitedHealth Group

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of UnitedHealth Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job until the lay off...

      Dec 27, 2019 - Care Advocate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working from home, great salary and benefits clinical support

      Cons

      I got laid off after working a little over a year due to reduction in workforce. Last in, first out.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      UnitedHealth Group Response

      Enterprise Talent Community Manager

      I'm sorry to hear this was your experience. Overall I've had a great experience in growing my career at UnitedHealth Group. It can be difficult when there are transitions with the organization. We wish you the best! -Toni

    2. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very heads-down

      Aug 13, 2015 - IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area." This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading. Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review. The positives: Great work/life balance: I never have to stay late, work on weekends, etc. I get 23 vacation days and my manager encourages me to use them AND completely unplug while away. Beautiful office: I work at the new Optum office in Eden Prairie. Building is modern and comfortable. Full size gym and locker room, and workout classes. Great parking ramp with a skyway so you never need to go outside in the rain or snow! Work from home: VERY progressive with WFH! I can work from wherever I want. if I want to WFH one day, I can. If I want to WFH the whole week, I can do that, too. No one questions you. Total autonomy No drama: This is a very heads down place! I can't stress that enough. No one socializes with each other -- most of the time, you never even talk to your cube neighbors (because they're probably working from home). This is a positive for me though -- after working in some high drama offices, this is a refreshing change. All meetings are over webex: Great news if you hate in-person meetings like I do -- because there are very few! In the 6 months I've been here, I've had 4 in person meetings. This is also a con because you never meet your coworkers - read the con list for more info. 30 minute "best practice" meeting times: You will not get invited to 2+ hour meetings, ever. Nearly all meetings are only 30 minutes. You might have the one-off meeting that's an hour, but it's rare. Good, standardized PM practices. But some of the documentation requirements are too rigid and can slow progress down. Our group is trying to move to 100% agile. Slowly.... All of my projects so far have been waterfall SDLC. Although as a new person, it would help to have a PM to shadow on some of these documentation/audit practices. I've had to learn as I go. - Great cafeteria with cheap prices. I can get a lunch here cheaper than I can bring it from home. -Very engaging training classes!!! All training classes are over LearnSource (i.e. your computer) but the videos are well done and entertaining.

      Cons

      -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there. -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer. -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is very heads-down and focused on work -- no one chit chats about football or True Detective! You will not have coworkers stopping by your desk (to chat about a TV show OR to even chat about work). Most of my days, I don't talk to anyone in person. It's kind of depressing -- and I'm an introvert! There are no happy hours, social events outside of work, etc (this is a positive for me because I hate that stuff). -Lots of contractors. Not that it's a bad thing - I've had great experiences with the PM contractors. They obviously don't last as long as the employees, and there's more contractor PMs than employee PMs. -Difficult, as a new person, to know "who's who." There is no face-to-face meetings, so as a PM, it's tough to know who does what, since there's no face to put with the name. I struggle with this a lot, as I'm not used to this extreme of a "remote" workforce! -No wifi for your phone. Wifi is only available for visitors and you must have a user name and password. -Nearly all social media websites are blocked. Not really a con, but something you might want to know. You won't be browsing facebook at work! -LOTS of meetings. Sure, the meetings aren't in person, they're over Webex, but you will have a LOT of them. -Some "know-it-all" ego-driven coworkers, especially on the tech side. But this is typical of IT in general. I've witnessed this at every org in which I've worked.

      Continue reading
      775 people found this review helpful

      UnitedHealth Group Response

      Enterprise Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm happy to hear you enjoy working at the company. Judy Cater, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    3. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      In chaos lies job security...if you can deal with it.

      Dec 26, 2014 - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Definitely the big kid on the block - which has pros and cons. Rapid growth through M&A in the last decade. Economies of scale are offset by integration challenges. Still - tons of opportunity here.

      Cons

      Benefits are awesome as long as you don't need them. Worst benefit package of any major matrix org I've been employed by. It's a slap in the face because their salaries are on the low side on top of it. Retention is a constant problem and it's not hard to understand why.

      Continue reading
      390 people found this review helpful

      UnitedHealth Group Response

      Enterprise Talent Community Manager

      I appreciate your honest feed back about working at UnitedHealth Group. Yes, it is true, our company has experience growth at a rapid pace. This growth fuels the need for high-performing employees that can keep up with the changes. As you said, there is a lot of opportunity of employees who like the rapid pace. We strive to keep our benefits and compensation in line with industry standards. I apologize if you have not had this experience. Judy Carter, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    4. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      There are worse places to work

      Feb 20, 2021 - Director, Operations Management in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at UnitedHealth Group does not mean you'll just be paying insurance claims. Its fairly easy to get exposure and experience in a variety of fields. I have noticed a large difference in pay from one group to the next; some areas --- and by area I don't mean job title I mean the division--pays really well and others under pay and over work their staff. Hard work is recognized and rewarded in most divisions. The company offers a lot in the way of personal/career development opportunities.

      Cons

      Although the workforce is majority female it is still a male dominated company. As you move to the top of the hierarchy. For example: the CEO has 13 direct reports 10 are male 3 are female; one of which is the executive assistant. Another con is that the company has discovered its easier to lay off people than it is to have meaningful conversations about performance issues, and allow a person to fix their issues. The result is 2 things...others without performance issues are required to pick up the slack of the person falling down until that person is "layed-off" and then its another 6 months before an adequate replacement can be found. The other issue is that people sometimes simply don't know they are falling down. Give them a chance to change.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      United HealthGroup

      Mar 27, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for growth. The pay isn’t terrible. Overtime offered frequently.

      Cons

      The work/life balance is terrible. They would add overtime the same day and then tell you, “this is a call center, you need to be able to be added to any shift at any time.” Which would be fine with some notice, but I can’t get to work and then notice I have to stay until 8pm and try to scramble to find a babysitter or reschedule things. In training we were told there was a department we could call to assist us when we couldn’t find an answer or needed help, once we were out of training we were told to not call them and that calls to them were tracked, which impacted performance. The day I got out of training, we were cross trained for only 3 hours to another department, then basically left to fail at that department. It was overwhelming and when we raised concerns that we were unprepared they said, “Just sound confident. This is a call center.” I just felt like it was more than a “call center” when your dealing with someone’s healthcare and insurance. It was frustrating to feel like my concerns were not addressed. Management didn’t care if we were drowning and unprepared, they only cared about how many calls we could take, whether we gave correct information or not. I was told to “just sound confident, so members don’t call back within the next two days to impact our numbers and stats.” It was frustrating to feel like I couldn’t help our members. Insurance was terrible, only high deductible plans offered. I just left this company feeling like they care more about profit and call stats, than MEMBERS and employee knowledge and confidence.

      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 30, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UHG is a great company to work for with a lot of potential for career growth

      Cons

      Must be In your current position for 12 months. Was not informed that I would be working for a company acquired by UHG. This came with a lot of issues that made it almost impossible to do the job effectively. Little to no support from management- depending on your supervisor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A place where talented individuals thrive and are pushed for further growth and advancement

      Dec 2, 2017 - Financial Underwriter in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professionalism amongst peers Beautiful work atmosphere and environment Feeling that the work you do is making a difference Driven people are rewarded and recognized Ample room for growth and career development Learning opportunities Huge company with tons of different business areas Unbelievable benefits High compensation

      Cons

      Long interview process—but makes sense as they are looking for certain people Lots of change—great for those who can handle it and like change

      185 people found this review helpful

      UnitedHealth Group Response

      Enterprise Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad that you have found growth and development within your roles. Sincerely, Erika Cassidy, Sr. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great corporation

      Apr 5, 2021 - Floor Supervisor &Amp; Customer Service in Oldsmar, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are tons of opportunities for employees to let their voice be heard UHG really believes in supporting their communities and encouraging employees to lead healthier lives Potential to move around or up Can be a long term career for anyone interested in longevity in health insurance Competitive pay HR is fair and for the employee

      Cons

      As with any job the main cons are the direct people you work with. If you get in with a bad bunch or a group of people that are not supportive the job really sucks It can be hard knowing when to go to you manager versus HR In recent years sporadic layoffs have become a norm Health insurance packages for employees are subpar

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      high salary and good leadership

      May 5, 2021 - Principal Research Scientist in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      salary is relatively high compared to other roles

      Cons

      unclear strategy and goals make it hard to align

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
      4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job

      May 5, 2021 - Product Advisor in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits for everyone

      Cons

      Staffing is very strict now

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11,205 Reviews

    Popular Careers with UnitedHealth Group Job Seekers

    Business Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Consulting Development Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at UnitedHealth Group? Share Your Experiences

    or