UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated May 24, 2017
5,806 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group President, CEO, and Director Steve Hemsley
Steve Hemsley
2,048 Ratings

5,806 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (12)

    "Excellent Company With Great Benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Billing Analyst in Harlingen, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Billing Analyst in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great schedule, exciting work, great people, good place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Honestly, I enjoyed the experience so much, I'd go back again forever if my position still existed, I would be there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Every manager I ever encountered was awesome.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad to hear that your experience at UnitedHealth Group was enjoyable! Sincerely, Erika Cassidy, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  2. Helpful (386)

    "Very heads-down"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area."

    This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading.

    Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review.

    The positives:
    Great work/life balance: I never have to stay late, work on weekends, etc. I get 23 vacation days and my manager encourages me to use them AND completely unplug while away.

    Beautiful office: I work at the new Optum office in Eden Prairie. Building is modern and comfortable. Full size gym and locker room, and workout classes. Great parking ramp with a skyway so you never need to go outside in the rain or snow!

    Work from home: VERY progressive with WFH! I can work from wherever I want. if I want to WFH one day, I can. If I want to WFH the whole week, I can do that, too. No one questions you.

    Total autonomy

    No drama: This is a very heads down place! I can't stress that enough. No one socializes with each other -- most of the time, you never even talk to your cube neighbors (because they're probably working from home). This is a positive for me though -- after working in some high drama offices, this is a refreshing change.

    All meetings are over webex: Great news if you hate in-person meetings like I do -- because there are very few! In the 6 months I've been here, I've had 4 in person meetings. This is also a con because you never meet your coworkers - read the con list for more info.

    30 minute "best practice" meeting times: You will not get invited to 2+ hour meetings, ever. Nearly all meetings are only 30 minutes. You might have the one-off meeting that's an hour, but it's rare.

    Good, standardized PM practices. But some of the documentation requirements are too rigid and can slow progress down. Our group is trying to move to 100% agile. Slowly.... All of my projects so far have been waterfall SDLC. Although as a new person, it would help to have a PM to shadow on some of these documentation/audit practices. I've had to learn as I go.

    - Great cafeteria with cheap prices. I can get a lunch here cheaper than I can bring it from home.

    -Very engaging training classes!!! All training classes are over LearnSource (i.e. your computer) but the videos are well done and entertaining.

    Cons

    -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there.

    -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer.

    -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is very heads-down and focused on work -- no one chit chats about football or True Detective! You will not have coworkers stopping by your desk (to chat about a TV show OR to even chat about work). Most of my days, I don't talk to anyone in person. It's kind of depressing -- and I'm an introvert! There are no happy hours, social events outside of work, etc (this is a positive for me because I hate that stuff).

    -Lots of contractors. Not that it's a bad thing - I've had great experiences with the PM contractors. They obviously don't last as long as the employees, and there's more contractor PMs than employee PMs.

    -Difficult, as a new person, to know "who's who." There is no face-to-face meetings, so as a PM, it's tough to know who does what, since there's no face to put with the name. I struggle with this a lot, as I'm not used to this extreme of a "remote" workforce!

    -No wifi for your phone. Wifi is only available for visitors and you must have a user name and password.

    -Nearly all social media websites are blocked. Not really a con, but something you might want to know. You won't be browsing facebook at work!

    -LOTS of meetings. Sure, the meetings aren't in person, they're over Webex, but you will have a LOT of them.

    -Some "know-it-all" ego-driven coworkers, especially on the tech side. But this is typical of IT in general. I've witnessed this at every org in which I've worked.

    Advice to Management

    Get some org charts!

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm ... More


  3. Helpful (7)

    "Run!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Benefits Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you get in early, you'll get an okay schedule
    Good teamwork and rewards given
    Okay facility
    Pays the bills

    Cons

    Micro managing
    Worst employee benefits ever
    Tell you one thing but will mean another
    Expect an occurrence for everything
    Core value is compassion but upper management lacks this

    Advice to Management

    Show the same compassion to your employees that you want your employees to show to the members.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 11, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your perspective. I'm sorry you feel your management is not showing you compassion. I suggest discussing this issue with HRDirect so they can appropriately handle the situation. You can ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Strong organization with ample opportunities and excellent growth!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medicare Risk Adjustment and Quality Consultant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Medicare Risk Adjustment and Quality Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I've been with the company for 5.5 years and this is my 4th position. Tremendous opportunities and flexibility to move among departments and business units. I've reported to 3 directors who had shown strong leadership, communication and provided constructive criticism at times to help me move forward. I intent to stay with the company for many years to come.
    Many pros:
    1. Telecommute. A colleague once shared 25% of the organization employees work from home. All my positions with the company have been telecommuting.
    2. Excellent ESPP (15% discount of lower trading price at either beginning or ending of the 6-month-trading period). Maximum 10% auto debit from paychecks, managed by Fidelity.
    3. Have passed my 5 year tenure and received 28 PTO days plus 8 national holidays. I started with 23 PTO days plus 8 national holidays.
    4. Decent tuition reimbursement. Finished my masters a couple of years ago and if my memory serves me right, the company reimbursed $5,500/year for non clinical programs.

    Cons

    Just as any large organization, UHG is highly matrix and complex. It was very frustrating at the beginning of my employment with the company - being a telecommuter, lived in Houston, TX reported to NY but territory was northern CA. Didn't know who to turn to for questions and resources. It took me a couple years and lots of research to be able to successfully perform my job. For telecommute positions, self-started and self-motivators tend to do very well.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency and communication from corporate leadership. I anticipate constant change in direction, goals and organizational structure due to the nature of our business. However, it would be nice to have information as FYI.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 25, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your great review of our organization. I'm glad you were able to experience many opportunities to grow and develop at UnitedHealth Group. There are some great resources online to help ... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Business Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - OptumInsight, Business Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - OptumInsight, Business Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    data-driven decision making; great coaching

    Cons

    few data scientist, few entry level employees


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall positive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior HRIS Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Current Employee - Senior HRIS Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements, decent pay. Good team support. On site clinic

    Cons

    Some managers are not as good as others. Org is so big it can be hard to determine impacts to all teams.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within the role to have subject matter experts leading versus managers that don't understand the role.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 25, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you're enjoying a flexible work schedule and team support. If you have issues with management you can reach out to HRDirect so they can properly handle the ... More


  8. "SME"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice place to work .. management is very concern about the employees

    Cons

    Mobility is difficult from one line of business to another line of business


  9. Helpful (1)

    "I heard positive feed back about the company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Data Rate Analyst in Irving, TX
    Current Employee - Data Rate Analyst in Irving, TX

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have 20 + years experience in managed care from provider relations. Data management and contracting. Loading Cms and Rbrvs fee schedule and loading hospital line item schedule with and without auto filters. And physician contracting also.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of at the moment

    Advice to Management

    I am a people person great customer svc. No supervision needed. I am a true team player.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 25, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    I am glad you are enjoying your employee experience at UnitedHealth Group! Sarah M. Sr. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Top ranked"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telephonic Acute Inpatient Care Manager in Minnetonka, MN
    Former Employee - Telephonic Acute Inpatient Care Manager in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive salary
    Approachable managers
    Good workflow
    Forbes 500
    Flexible than bedside work

    Cons

    Understaff
    Frequent shuffle of work assignments

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 25, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our organization. I'm glad you were able to enjoy several benefits of UnitedHealth Group during your time here. We wish you the best. Sincerely ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Analyst in Duluth, MN
    Current Employee - Billing Analyst in Duluth, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    PTO, Benefits , pay , management , locations

    Cons

    no cons good company to work for


Showing 5,806 of 6,021 reviews
Reset Filters