UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated June 22, 2017
795 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group President, CEO, and Director Steve Hemsley
Steve Hemsley
396 Ratings

795 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • A colleague once shared 25% of the organization employees work from home (in 735 reviews)

  • You will have an excellent work life balance working here (in 413 reviews)

Cons
  • Little lagging in work life balance (in 228 reviews)

  • They offer the worse health insurance package I've ever had in my working career to their own employees (in 249 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (17)

    "Excellent Company With Great Benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Billing Analyst in Harlingen, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Billing Analyst in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great schedule, exciting work, great people, good place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Honestly, I enjoyed the experience so much, I'd go back again forever if my position still existed, I would be there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Every manager I ever encountered was awesome.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad to hear that your experience at UnitedHealth Group was enjoyable! Sincerely, Erika Cassidy, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  2. Helpful (16)

    "Run!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Benefits Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you get in early, you'll get an okay schedule
    Good teamwork and rewards given
    Okay facility
    Pays the bills

    Cons

    Micro managing
    Worst employee benefits ever
    Tell you one thing but will mean another
    Expect an occurrence for everything
    Core value is compassion but upper management lacks this

    Advice to Management

    Show the same compassion to your employees that you want your employees to show to the members.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 11, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your perspective. I'm sorry you feel your management is not showing you compassion. I suggest discussing this issue with HRDirect so they can appropriately handle the situation. You can ... More

  3. "Patient Account Repre"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Account Representative in Franklin, TN
    Former Employee - Patient Account Representative in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work and good place to grow

    Cons

    Ever changing environment good place to work


  4. "Claims Clerk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Wausau, WI
    Current Employee - Clerk in Wausau, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good starting pay and can work at home after a year.

    Cons

    They make you go through a lot of interviews before getting hired.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback about your experience working at UnitedHealth Group. We appreciate hearing your perspective. Alyssa Haak, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Satisfaction, growth, positive culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior RN Case Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Senior RN Case Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company culture, benefits, supportive environment, work-life balance, tuition reimbursement, resources, diversity, opportunities to work from home. On-site fitness center, parking garage, and cafeteria with healthy choices. Opportunity for advancement, bonuses, and raises.

    Cons

    No cons to report. Large company with many divisions, so if one prefers a smaller and close-knit environment, it may be easy to "get lost in the mix".

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your review, I agree, we are a large corporation, however, I have found that my team finds ways to connect, even though we are across the globe! Sometimes an im just reminding people that ... More


  6. "Claims Examiner"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Examiner in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Claims Examiner in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, Upward mobility, Health benefits, PTO. they pay for education. Lots of room for career paths. Local offices and abroad.

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now.

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience, I agree with these pros - our teams/relationships make the job rewarding. Good luck in growing on your career path. Sarah M. Sr. Talent Community Manager ... More


  7. "Corporate employee - great environment and benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Minnetonka, MN
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -- My department has a great corporate culture and management definitely takes an interest in the employees' lives outside of work.
    -- PTO accrual of 23 days for corporate entry-level positions. 28 days for corporate manager-level positions.
    -- After full medical insurance incentives are earned, I pay less than $15 per paycheck (bi-weekly) for a well-balanced medical insurance plan. (This will vary based on plan that you choose)

    Cons

    -- Some times of the year can be very busy and 50 hour work weeks are not uncommon. (This may be only for certain departments, such as Finance/Accounting)
    -- In a company of over 200,000 employees, you will hear many differing experiences from employees at all levels of the enterprise.

    Advice to Management

    -- Keep striving to be the best in the industry! Identify what is working well and continue to highlight and implement those strategies throughout all areas of the company.

  8. "Broker recruitment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great job worked there 12 years. Good management

    Cons

    Better recognition for hard work and dedication


  9. Helpful (1)

    "My journey"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advocate in Hooksett, NH
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advocate in Hooksett, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great office setting, friendly faces everywhere. Great company to work for with decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Wish I had my cubicle to myself but that is the only not great thing I have to say about my employer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you're enjoying a few of the benefits of UnitedHealth Group. Sincerely, Amber Smith, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HCC Risk Adjustment Cocet in Remote, OR
    Current Employee - HCC Risk Adjustment Cocet in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Best company I have ever worked for and awesome management they are always there for you.work with you always. They want you to succeed

    Cons

    None everyone works together and everyone wants you to succeed so I have nothing negative to say about this company as they are always there for you

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Wow, great positive review, glad to see you are enjoying your employment with UnitedHealth Group. Sarah M. Sr. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group


Showing 795 of 6,128 reviews
Reset Filters