UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
864 Ratings

Reviews by divisions

  1. Helpful (1)

    "I learned many ways of accessing a network both internally and externally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people and team work was the best.

    Cons

    Training and ability to grow

    Advice to Management

    None

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-21
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Comumunications in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, great people and environment

    Cons

    Too political although nice people

    Advice to Management

    Improve on training of young staff

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-07
  3. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is good, no complaints

    Cons

    Nothing at all great job

    Advice to Management

    None

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-07
  4. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good Company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing much about cons .

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-05
  5. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (4)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salaries are good for roles

    Cons

    No compassion for employees. Mass layoffs in a group meeting no matter how long you have worked for company. Out sourcing jobs over seas to improve their bottom line

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate Core values Look at top executive’s salaries and the # of top executives and make cuts there.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-07
  6. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (2)

    "Always keep an eye out for a new job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PA/UM Reviewer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved my job, hated my bosses! Bunch of vicious back stabbing lying women who will throw you under the bus to make themselves look better. Will write you up for following their instructions to save face with the customer!

    Cons

    No loyalty to hard working employees. I worked there for 2.5 years and was laid off despite there being HUNDREDS of jobs in similar fields I could be moved to. I was laid off because the big boss didn't like me, period. My productivity was well above metrics, this layoff was all about a popularity contest.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent in your instructions. Don't let go those who built you up!

    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, needs better Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Provider Relations Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, good people, PTO accrual,

    Cons

    Management, micromanage, disorganized, Manager favoritism

    Advice to Management

    Managers are not available when needed, not supportive even though they state they will not let you fail.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "MEH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits except health insurance, flexibility

    Cons

    poor work life balance, 60-70hr work weeks, documentation requirements are strangling

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong company, good leadership. Innovative

    Cons

    Too big. Don't compensate internal promotions well.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in North Bergen, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    writing functional specifications and also participate in test scripts.

    Cons

    Ability to work both independently and in cross-functional team environments manages and prioritizes multiple projects, quick learner.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-30
Found 10436 reviews