UnitedHealth Group Senior Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Project Manager

UnitedHealth Group Senior Project Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive wages and good benefits. They are a very large company with unlimited opportunities. Excellent culture. Diverse employees. Strong ethics. Fortune 200 company.

    Cons

    For a health insurance company, it would be nice to have above average health benefits instead of market competitive benefits.

    Advice to Management

    For a health insurance company, it would be nice to have above average health benefits instead of market competitive benefits. All other benefits offered are excellent.

    UnitedHealth Group2018-03-21
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Large organization, slow process implementation

    UnitedHealth Group2019-08-06

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    August 7, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing! Although the organization is large and sometimes daunting at times, the impact that can be made is tremendous. But the bonus of all this? The flexibility and opportunity to grow as you mentioned! There's so many different paths and career "pivots" that can be made ...

    Show More
  3. "United HealthGroup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the best managers I've had the privilege of working with. Excellent work life balance.

    Cons

    Salary was not competitive with the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people, you have many good ones.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-06-09

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    June 11, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at UnitedHealth Group. We wish you the best! Sincerely, Amber H. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

  4. Helpful (11)

    "People disappearing are the norm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are what make it worthwhile. Stock options.

    Cons

    Constant layoffs. Benefits are terrible. No culture to speak of. People disappear almost every day. Company does small layoffs in order to stay under federal government WARN rules.

    Advice to Management

    They aren’t going to listen.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-01-29
  5. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work at Home; Flexibility with hours.

    Cons

    Salary increases for longer-term employees. Need to "boomerang" to receive compensation based on experience. New employees earn better salaries as pay for the Position NOT based on your current salary.

    Advice to Management

    Pay Equity based on the ROLE, not current status.

    UnitedHealth Group2018-09-11

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    September 13, 2018Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review. One thing to consider is that we are a pay for performance organization, so make sure you are having conversations with your manager on the initiatives you are working on that are driving the organization forward. Also networking with others outside ...

    Show More
  6. "Great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Optum is part of UHG, and given that it's a Fortune 6 company the company is massive, and experiences will vary based on management. For me, I've been very fortunate to work with management that instills confidence and trust in their team, and empowers us and does not micromanage. - Great work-life balance - telecommuting is big in this company - 401k match of 4.5% if you contribute 6% - Discounted UHG... stock - New as of 2018 - 4 weeks paid maternity leave!

    Show More

    Cons

    Health Insurance options are abysmal and not very good, especially for a health insurance company.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider improving your health insurance options.

    UnitedHealth Group2018-02-06
  7. "Very Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No age discrimination; Ample opportunity to move to other departments.

    Cons

    Rather expensive, high deductible health insurance

    Advice to Management

    You are a major health insurance company. Your top benefit to employees should be excellent, inexpensive, low deductible healthcare.

    UnitedHealth Group2017-10-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full time telecommuting for many positions. Company had software infrastructure that was 2nd to none - never had Outlook or WebEx issues, etc. Company had an amazing track record of growth, constantly expanding into growth industries and selling their software backends to other insurance carriers.

    Cons

    Raises and bonuses were fair but never great - basic 3% across the board raises were common.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    UnitedHealth Group2017-10-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people and training available

    Cons

    Large work loads mid level managament

    UnitedHealth Group2017-10-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "There is no work life balance here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employee stock purchase plan. It goes in 6 month periods. You can invest as little as 1% or up to 10% of your salary.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about your work/life balance after they convert you from a contractor to employee after 6 months. As a contractor, they make it seem great and that they are very accommodating. Day 1 after becoming an employee I was consistently working 60-70 hour work weeks and weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. You've hired us for our experience and knowledge, now get out of the way for me to do my job.

    UnitedHealth Group2017-05-22

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 25, 2017Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your perspective. I'm sorry you're finding issues as a full-time employee. I would suggest discussing this change in hours with your manager and also bringing this to HRDirect so they can determine the appropriate course of action. You can reach them at 800-561-0861, ...

    Show More
Found 51 reviews