UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealthcare Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
14 Ratings

Reviews by divisions

  1. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Great company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair pay, great culture, leaders are very involved and visible

    Cons

    Budget/financials resulting in downsizing

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-22
  2. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (1)

    "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Performance Specialist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Working for a large Corp. definitely depends on your team or department. My manager is wonderful. Doesn’t micro manage, although most of my work is based on metrics, so I have to do work or it shows. Which I love

    Cons

    Large corporation and has sometimes said things regarding healthcare I don’t a agree with

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (2)

    "Eligibility Enrollment Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Eligibility 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay work environment

    Cons

    Job stability Lack of training

    Advice to Management

    No

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-09
  5. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great company to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    • Work from Home • Decent Benefits • Moderately Fair Compensation • Peers and Direct managers/supervisors were great

    Cons

    • Lack of time to built into schedule to advance skills sets/knowledge • Senior Leadership (VP's and above) had NO CLUE about: What we did, What skills we possessed, What value each employee brought to the table. We were just a number with a salary/compensation value attached. • Common reviews were a joke and, in many cases, the managers were instructed to modify reviews (downscore) to meet a financial objectives (reduced merit/bonus), feedback to get to the next level was non-existent or inconsistent with feedback received in one on ones

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try living the core values of integrity, compassion, relationships, innovation and performance you advertise to the outside world. Many of the employees you laid off like myself (20+ years) had been with the company for years, we were dedicated and trusted employees with a ton of knowledge, vast experience in a number of different areas of the company and many of us gave the company personal sacrifices over the years to benefit the company expecting to be treated fairly, rather we were rewarded by being replaced by younger, less knowledgeable people or jobs moved offshore, while I understand UHG is a "for profit" company, it would serve the leadership team well to remember who actually made and kept you profitable

    Show More
    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-22
  6. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Representative 

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a great team

    Cons

    It can be very hard to advance

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-08
  7. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Great place 2 work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome health benefits, starting pay is good, management and trainers are caring. Closed on major holidays and overtime available once out of training. The company focuses on work/ life balance.

    Cons

    I thought I could go from retail to a call center environment but it's not for me. If you don't mind sitting at a desk for 8 hours on a computer with minimal physical movement then by all means this would be a great company to work for.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-08
  8. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coomunity Health Worker 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working from home and travel

    Cons

    management needs to be more understanding and open to listening

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-08
  9. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Health Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Advisor in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you learn alot in regards to the healthcare industry. good benefits and clean facility.

    Cons

    but the workload is too much.. although you only get around 30 calls a day. the process is very difficult and the nature of the job is very stressful but manageable

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-07
  10. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "No complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advocate 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Good training, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    no complaints at all here

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-05
  11. UnitedHealthcare | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elite Advocate in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, benefits, promotion opportunities

    Cons

    Attendance points last 1 year, can be stressful, Some management

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging!!

    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-18
Found 49 reviews