UnitedHealth Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
955 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance, great tools and resources available, supportive environment

    Cons

    Employee benefits, salary range slightly lower than competitors

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Work from Home options 2. Work Life Balance 3. New Projects 4. New Technologies 5. Peaceful Environment 6. Good Collaboration 7. Great Bonuses 8. Good Benefits and many more

    Cons

    Salary increments most of the time is 1%.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "MEH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits except health insurance, flexibility

    Cons

    poor work life balance, 60-70hr work weeks, documentation requirements are strangling

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Account Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance for working professionals.

    Cons

    Challenging industry to be in. Comes with pressure and lots of stress.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-25

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 28, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your continued contributions to the team. Cheers, Lily S., Candidate Engagement Strategist, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not the Best, Not the Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Competitive salary and benefits I felt that salary offers on initial hiring ($55k-$65k range) were competitive with the broader market. PTO benefit of 23 days for <5 years of service (28 afterwards) is fantastic. Company also offers 15% discounted stock purchase plan. + Good work life balance I hardly ever worked over 40 hours during non-peak times such (However, this is entirely dependent on your team/function -- your experience will vary.) 50 hour weeks are normal during close periods for finance functions as well as the occasional working Saturday/holiday during quarter closes. Never had issues taking PTO here and there but extended PTO (around 5+ days) during busy times is at the discretion of your manager. Working from home on occasion (whether with purpose or just to save a day of commuting) was never a problem for me but this will very much be team dependent. +Challenging work and plenty of opportunity This organization is so enormous with so many moving parts that there is always a new problem to solve and a better way to do things. Additionally, the internal job board always has an abundance of postings. There is an incredible amount of internal movement within the organization which can help keep things fresh if you feel you've grown bored with your current day-to-day and are ready to accomplish something new without leaving UHG entirely.

    Cons

    -- Budget targets are king Raises during good years for top performers staying within the same salary grade will be in the 2% range, and the bonus pool is typically funded between 50% - 70% of the maximum payout (again, during good times). If you want your pay to beat inflation you will generally need to be aggressive and shop yourself around the org or look elsewhere. If your team goes to happy hour or has a working lunch session you will be paying for it yourself unless your manager is feeling generous that day. -- Lack of attachment to broader organization Due to the sheer size of the organization and a derth of little things (pizza parties, happy hours, mixers, company swag etc.) I did not develop an attachment to the organization as a whole. I did feel very much just like an employee id number. If you are looking for an organization where you will have company outings, events, or unique perks that will give you the warm fuzzies, look elsewhere. There is no real culture in this company for FP&A -- mostly just heads down, get-in get-out, with the occasional water cooler conversation. Some will care about this more than others depending on your personality type. If you can live with the above, UHG is a fine place to work. If not, you will be miserable here -- look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good, flexible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Based Community Health Worker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The flexibility is the best thing about this role! It creates a great work-life balance. This role also provides mileage and gas reimbursement, amazing benefits, and great health insurance. Lots of travel involved.

    Cons

    The pay isn’t as competitive as I’d like. The role can become a bit tedious/monotonous at times.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-15

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 15, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing -- a lot of our employees enjoy the perks of the traveling and telecommuting roles. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the cons too: I highly suggest that you have an open and candid conversation with your manager at your next review concerning pay. And as for your role, I encourage you to think about the opportunities for innovation and how you can make a positive impact on your patients and peers! Annie W., Sr. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is good, work from home, competitive compensation

    Cons

    High healthcare benefits cost, lay offs possible, multiple managers over a short period of time, unreachable goals and expectations not clear on what to do to advance

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-28
  9. "Wonderful work family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group

    Pros

    Great health benefits, work/life balance.

    Cons

    Fast paced, ever changing environment.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-11

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 14, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience and your continued contributions to the organization. Cheers, Lily S., Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outreach Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay Growth opportunities Culture Remote

    Cons

    Work life balance Ambiguity

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-17
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Only as a last resort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in Kingston, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work from home Good managers (upper management is a different story)

    Cons

    High deductible health insurance Work life balance Too much overtime Difficult to advance Employees are treated like numbers Micromanagement

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-12

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 14, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your perspective and for your many years of contributions. I'm sorry to hear that you had this experience. I encourage you to speak with your manager and HR if you experience a situation like this and be part of the solution to make the work environment better for everyone, including the people we serve. Wish you the best of luck in your career. Cheers, Lily S., Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
Found 1198 reviews