Unity Technologies Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Unity Technologies CEO John Riccitiello
John Riccitiello
248 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at Unity for a while now and I still feel the same now as I always have done. The recruitment process was like none I've ever experienced before - my recruiter was amazing, she was truly faultless and then everyone else I met along the way was (and still are) so welcoming, friendly and attentive. As for perks, the company provides more benefits than I know what to do with, honestly, I don't even know where to start there.... I was incredibly impressed with their response to the recent pandemic; which was to ensure employee's put themselves and their families first - while providing everything necessary to work from home comfortably for the foreseeable future, rather than jumping back into the office as soon as they could. They genuinely care, which is a first in my employment history and quite a rarity in general. I have nothing but good things to say about this company and those who work there. And everyone I talk to about my work, immediately want to work here too.

    Cons

    They're feeders and I don't know how to say no to food.

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    June 15, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback! We appreciate you sharing your experience on the recruitment, company culture during this difficult time, and of course the food. Have a great day!

  2. "Good experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Backend Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Free food, great experience, environment

    Cons

    Teams communication could be better


  3. "Energy and Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From Day 1, I felt welcome and a part of a team with a shared mission. I feel invigorated everyday to sign in and continue making some big contributions for the team. I feel my voice is heard, and just an awesome group of people to work with everyday. We continue to strive to refine and it feels good to work at a company that truly values employees (even if the hours can be long, it never feels that way).

    Cons

    The company is moving with an incredible amount of velocity, it can be exhausting trying to keep up, but again as a pro, it is invigorating and exciting at the same time.

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 27, 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and it's great to hear the positive words around your onboarding into Unity. The Unity Team

  4. COVID-19

    "Great culture, great people, great technology"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really wants to solve the hard problems. Jumped on the challenges of Covid-19 and worked to enable the entire company rapidly, rather than try and force people to stay at the office. Very engaged leadership, and a vision of the future of content development that I wish was around when I started my career.

    Cons

    Growing fast, so communication can be a challenge, and being spread over so many times zones can make some serious scheduling headaches. Despite that, people are genuinely accommodating and eager to try and compromise to make the complex schedules work so people can have the discussion, make the decisions, and get back to the business of making our product.

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 27, 2020

    Hearing from our employees is really important to us, so thank you for taking the time to leave such considered feedback. The Unity Team

  5. "An innovative, fast paced and exciting place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, exciting technology, relaxed and respectful culture. Focus on building the best in class solutions.

    Cons

    Employees who can take charge and work well from their own initiative will thrive here. Unity does not operate with the rigid constraints and processes you may find at other large organizations. This may be challenging to some people who look for a more structure.

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 29, 2020Global Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to have you on the team. - The Unity Team

  6. COVID-19

    "Couldn't have asked for a better company to work for! Great place to grow your career."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unity really cultivates a collaborative and supportive environment for all employees. The work is really interesting, management and leadership team is flexible (especially the way they dealt with COVID & WFH situation) and is very encouraging to their teams. The leadership team really lives the Unity values and is reflected is the way they lead & act. Everyone works hard but still maintains a level of work-life balance and is supportive of your personal situations. The company is growing so fast, and there are so many opportunities at the company. I am so glad and thankful to be with such a high potential company!

    Cons

    Really cannot think of anything negative!

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 29, 2020

    We really appreciate hearing from our employees so thank you very much for taking the time to share this with us! The Unity Team

  7. "A company honest with its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unity is the most diverse company I've worked with, and being a place with both global outreach and stability for its employees its an awesome place to work. I have opportunities to be creative, but I also know what my primary responsibilities are.

    Cons

    The company is very flat, which leads to a lot of confusion.

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 29, 2020

    Feedback is really important to us so thank you for sharing this with us The Unity Team

  8. "Great Company All Around"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Localization Project Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation Good company culture Holidays Flexibility for working parents

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance is tough to achieve in a company that is constantly growing

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 29, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. The Unity Team

  9. "Dream company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highly talented co-workers, learning a lot Great work-life balance Amazing company benefits Free lunch, snacks and drinks Awesome intern program This is my dream company and dream job!

    Cons

    Lower pay compared to other companies in my location

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 27, 2020

    It's great to hear such positive feedback, so thank you for taking the time to share this. The Unity Team

  10. "A Big Indie"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unity Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best work/life balance in the technology industry!

    Cons

    Processes needing to grow with the size of the company.

    Continue reading

    Unity Technologies Response

    July 27, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! The Unity Team

Found 354 reviews