Universal Forest Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Universal Forest Products Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Universal Forest Products CEO Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours, some bad choices by management(in 9 reviews)

  • "be ready to eat, sleep and breath UFP when you sign on(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunites are here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, and good pay

    Cons

    in order to advance your career, chances are you have to move; and not everyone wants to live that lifestyle.

    Universal Forest Products2019-03-08
  2. "Old company with outdated culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most people are very nice

    Cons

    Systems, pay, benefits, and culture is very outdated with no signs of changing

    Advice to Management

    Change

    Universal Forest Products2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience - not so great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain work experience.

    Cons

    Small minded company that doesn't look out for the little people. Not very open innovation or change. Most people aside from administration, aren't kept in check and do as they please. A very outdated company that needs to be more open to change. Even for entry level positions like most companies they want prior work experience that outweighs the current job.

    Universal Forest Products2019-06-06
  4. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Bonuses, co workers are great.

      Cons

      Not many cons working here.

      Universal Forest Products2019-05-01
    • "Great opportunity for advancement and overtime"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Quality Control in Moultrie, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great team unity, lots of overtime

      Cons

      Outdoor work, rain, cold, hot. You will get dirty

      Universal Forest Products2019-04-26
    • "Ok Minimum"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Coordinator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time

      Pros

      It's ok I guess minimum

      Cons

      I have minimum to type here

      Universal Forest Products2019-05-18
    • "Diversity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Universal Forest Products

        Pros

        Freedom to do your job

        Cons

        Babysitting and being talked down to

        Advice to Management

        Cesar isn't a good choice

        Universal Forest Products2019-04-10
      • "Sales Trainee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Trainee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        casual atmosphere, close knit culture

        Cons

        long hours, hard work conditions

        Universal Forest Products2019-02-14
      • "Good boss"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Office Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I am able to work offsite if needed, and as a salaried employee my hours are somewhat flexible. In my department, responsible employees are given more freedoms and are not micromanaged. My supervisor has been an advocate for me, and is the primary reason I look favorably on this company. Corporate employees dress business casual, but in most other offices, jeans are the norm.

        Cons

        Tension can get high due to heavy workloads, and it sometimes leads to unprofessional behavior. Workaholism is complained about but expected and respected. Health insurance isn't the best.

        Universal Forest Products2019-01-08
      • "Good pay but watch your back."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Saw Operator in White Bear Lake, MN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Hours available with overtime every week. health care benefits were as good as union and decently priced. Revolving door for hiring dont get to comfortable with the guys you work with.

        Cons

        overtime is mantitory. super fast pace if you can't keep up production start looking for another job. training was real fast in less than a day you could be operating milling saws and have the whole production on your shoulders. labor intensive. Managment was always hovering like a hawk. They have a glass window in there office and sit up stairs all day watching. production orders come in last minute and your stuck rushing...

        Show More
        Universal Forest Products2018-09-28
      Found 102 reviews