Universal Forest Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Universal Forest Products Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Universal Forest Products CEO Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
50 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunites are here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, and good pay

    Cons

    in order to advance your career, chances are you have to move; and not everyone wants to live that lifestyle.

    Universal Forest Products2019-03-08
  2. "Sales Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trainee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    casual atmosphere, close knit culture

    Cons

    long hours, hard work conditions

    Universal Forest Products2019-02-14
  3. "Good boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am able to work offsite if needed, and as a salaried employee my hours are somewhat flexible. In my department, responsible employees are given more freedoms and are not micromanaged. My supervisor has been an advocate for me, and is the primary reason I look favorably on this company. Corporate employees dress business casual, but in most other offices, jeans are the norm.

    Cons

    Tension can get high due to heavy workloads, and it sometimes leads to unprofessional behavior. Workaholism is complained about but expected and respected. Health insurance isn't the best.

    Universal Forest Products2019-01-08
  4. "Good pay but watch your back."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Saw Operator in White Bear Lake, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours available with overtime every week. health care benefits were as good as union and decently priced. Revolving door for hiring dont get to comfortable with the guys you work with.

    Cons

    overtime is mantitory. super fast pace if you can't keep up production start looking for another job. training was real fast in less than a day you could be operating milling saws and have the whole production on your shoulders. labor intensive. Managment was always hovering like a hawk. They have a glass window in there office and sit up stairs all day watching. production orders come in last minute and your stuck rushing...

    Show More
    Universal Forest Products2018-09-28
  5. "A small but up and coming plant nestled in Elizabeth City."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead in Elizabeth City, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job to have locally.

    Cons

    We work out in the weather year around.

    Universal Forest Products2018-08-31
  6. "Maintenance mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Granger, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Currently working in maintenance mechanic fabricating repair

    Cons

    Looking for new opportunities at another location

    Advice to Management

    Not interested in management

    Universal Forest Products2018-08-16
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    Co workers were amazing to work with

    Cons

    Only 1 Break for a 8 hour day doing constant moving

    Advice to Management

    Was a little slack

    Universal Forest Products2018-07-20
  8. "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Union City, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The yard personnel are a tight knit family. Corporate management is well organized.

    Cons

    Clear distinction between management and employees. Employees are not treated humanely. Room for advancement is a myth. New plant management out of touch with just about everything.

    Advice to Management

    Get some training. You can't treat people badly and expect performance.

    Universal Forest Products2018-07-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    ""PTO" UNFAIR ACROSS THE BOARD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Shipper/Inventory in Greene, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Production: 2hr per month for perfect attendance =24hrs. Office: 8hrs per month up to 5 mnths=40 hrs??

    Cons

    Office workers can get 40 hours in a year of PTO with only 5 months of perfect attendance, but production Warehouse needs to be perfect all 12 months just to receive 24 hours, this does not seem fair considering the elements that warehouse and production have to work in. Also office receives up to $35,000 company life insurance, Warehouse production only $5,000? Why is the family of some desk jobs entering data sitting...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This has always been a bit of a conflict and causes separation between office / production in feeling they are not an equal team.

    Universal Forest Products2018-07-15
  10. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Estimator in Elkwood, VA

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products

    Pros

    Great benefits, compensation. They care about their employees.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Universal Forest Products2018-06-22
Found 106 reviews