Universal Forest Products Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

Universal Forest Products Sales Reviews

Updated May 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Universal Forest Products CEO Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
3 Ratings
  1. "Sales Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Trainee in Union City, GA

    I worked at Universal Forest Products for more than a year

    Pros

    They really take the time to invest in you and everyone is willing to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Older employee demographic in some offices.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Universal Forest Products2018-01-07
  2. "Ok Minimum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    It's ok I guess minimum

    Cons

    I have minimum to type here

    Universal Forest Products2019-05-18
  3. "Sales Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trainee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    casual atmosphere, close knit culture

    Cons

    long hours, hard work conditions

    Universal Forest Products2019-02-14
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere job with ease of collaboration with colleagues. Always someone available to bounce ideas on and get input on ideas.

    Cons

    Extremely competitive market and is difficult to make customers loyal. Best advice is to sell service over price to industrial customers.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within

    Universal Forest Products2016-02-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Dont walk, Run away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in White Bear Lake, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I suppose it is a job if you have no other options.

    Cons

    Bad pay, false promises. Even after promotion, you may never be fairly compensated. minimum 50 hours per week required for salary; MINIMUM.... If you arrive early, it is still considered unacceptable to leave early. Culture; which is their pride, is terrible for 99% of employees. Bad moral among poorly paid builders.

    Advice to Management

    Consider properly compensating your team instead of just dangling a carrot. They really don't get any benefit from your bonus.

    Universal Forest Products2015-12-19
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities for training and growth. Flexibility with hours. Encourage focusing on family. Work hard play hard mentality. Great travel.

    Cons

    Many long days. Underpaid. There is some drama but every company has that. Sometimes do not invest in opportunities or equipment.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people what they're worth.

    Universal Forest Products2015-09-22
  7. "Sales Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Trainee in Schertz, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, benefits, car reimbursement and cell phone.

    Cons

    They hire sales trainee's to come in and hopefully move their way up, but then use them for "b.s. work". I was in the program for 8 months learning the ins and out of UFP and how day to day sales works, but was ultimately let go due to lack of profit at the plant. I would recommend going into an interview asking them a lot of questions on what you will be doing and for how long. The sales trainee program is so unorganized...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't bring in people to set them up for failure! I would never recommend someone without any experience in this industry to work for UFP!

    Universal Forest Products2014-07-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Its not what you know, its who you know."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products

    Pros

    Pay was good for the work that I was asked to do. They had a good flexible work schedule, if you needed the time off they are accommadating.

    Cons

    If you are in the in crowd, you are well taken care of throughout your career. Company does not train new people to the business, you had better have prior experience or be a quick learner, which I was.

    Advice to Management

    Universal Forest Products needs to put the right people into the right positions based on their skill set, not based on who are they are friends with in the company.

    Universal Forest Products2010-12-19
Found 8 reviews