Universal Forest Products "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Universal Forest Products Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Universal Forest Products CEO Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
Matthew J. (Matt) Missad
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours, some bad choices by management(in 9 reviews)

  • "be ready to eat, sleep and breath UFP when you sign on(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production/Manager Trainee in Windsor, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, really good knowledgeable managers who help their employees, decent health benefits, and easy going atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay could be better especially for the general laborers, long hours expect to work at least 60hrs a week and Saturdays during the busy season, high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    General laborers should make more for the amount of physical work they do.

    Universal Forest Products2017-12-02
  2. "Inside Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schertz, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    Great Work Environment with great people!

    Cons

    None that I have experienced yet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going strong!

    Universal Forest Products2017-01-17
  3. "Universal Forest Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Custodian/Office Assistant in New London, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I didn't have a set schedule that was great I traveled I worked with a few great people.

    Cons

    Unorganized if you had to be out one day they truly hold it against you make you do harder jobs obviously their not worried if you do drugs I've seen alot definitely not a place to work they don't care about their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to be friends with your employees your the Manager do your job you can be friendly but people are there to do a job not be your buddy work needs to be done.

    Universal Forest Products2016-11-06
  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    Good company with great people to work. UFP is growing fast and is acquiring a lot of other companys

    Cons

    not great pay with an OK commission plan

    Universal Forest Products2016-04-06
  5. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Fun work environment. Very entrepreneurial environment encourages risk taking and profit seeking opportunities.

    Cons

    This is a cyclical business driven by macro market conditions. Decisions tend to be made on a very short term basis.

    Universal Forest Products2016-02-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good atmosphere. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Salary is low. Quality of products are somewhat low. Unstable markets (Housing, Industrial).

    Universal Forest Products2015-08-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products full-time

    Pros

    Great people and good opportunities to move around the country to advance your career. The culture is very strong in working hard and doing what it takes to get the job done.

    Cons

    Little to no formal training and career development, your future is entirely in your own hands. The bonus structure was often vague or difficult to fully own based off of you specific performance. If the company is doing well you will do well, if the company is struggling, you are struggling.

    Universal Forest Products2014-11-27
  8. "love working at UFP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Forest Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great pay, Great Benifits!

    Cons

    hours, days off per year,

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Universal Forest Products2014-03-05
  9. "I learned a lot working at UFP--but I didn't always enjoy the experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Forest Products

    Pros

    Great people--Very dedicated to the company and they tend to stay for a long time Dynamic environment--new projects and opportunities pop up frequently

    Cons

    Main focus is on sales--operational improvements play second fiddle Most people at UFP have limited experience outside of UFP--improvements and innovations from other industries aren't embraced Company strategy and direction seem to be missing

    Advice to Management

    Bring in some new blood--hire individuals with experience selling to other retailers Operations and cost control need to be as much of a focus as sales

    Universal Forest Products2011-07-06
Found 109 reviews