Universal Music Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Universal Music Group Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 440 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Universal Music Group CEO Sir Lucian Grainge
Sir Lucian Grainge
162 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "College Marketing and Lifestyle Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Music Group full-time

    Pros

    Access to shows, building connections with important figures within the music industry,

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons thus far.

    Universal Music Group2018-07-10
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Coordinator 

      I have been working at Universal Music Group full-time

      Pros

      Good place to start

      Cons

      No training, chaotic, disorganized, unfair

      Universal Music Group2019-06-12
    • "Great place for career growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - College and Lifestyle Marketing Representative in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Universal Music Group part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Universal has consistently treated me (and all the other reps) with a high degree of respect. They give us creative freedom, which I appreciate, as well as a large amount of responsibilities when it comes to completing assignments for certain artists or labels. As a result I've both grown and learned a lot about the industry and have been presented the opportunity to network myself with established industry heads.

      Cons

      Not really any cons to share, the management team really has all of their stuff in order. The one con I would add is that sometimes when you may have a creative pitch they won't really listen because they're so bogged down with emails and meetings with labels that they don't have the time to read through or give feedback.

      Universal Music Group2019-04-29
    • "Tough but rewarding atmosphere, high expectations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

      I worked at Universal Music Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great learning environment, opportunities for growth, exciting problems to work with

      Cons

      Very high expectations, low work-life balance, low pay

      Universal Music Group2019-04-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Company But Quite Dysfunctional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Head of Digital in New York, NY
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Universal Music Group full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      great people on the colleague level. fun work culture. fast-paced and obvious fun perks around music and live events. streaming business models are driving a lot of revenue and the music business is on the rise.

      Cons

      Senior leadership is tactical and not fully aware of the current digital best practices.

      Advice to Management

      Tale on the real-world challenge of being strategic and thoughtful about why your are relevant to audiences and artists, Value key employees and grow talent pool to transition to a modern company

      Universal Music Group2019-04-05
    • "Good place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Marketing Director 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Universal Music Group full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Good place to work. Good benefits

        Cons

        Could adopt a better PTO system

        Universal Music Group2019-03-15
      • Helpful (5)

        "MEH"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Universal Music Group full-time

        Pros

        fun work events like show cases

        Cons

        worst paying job I've ever had. mgmt doesn't really care about you...no good benefits no work life balance. great starter job but not good for long term. Extremely cheap company.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your employees better. Offer better mentoring

        Universal Music Group2019-02-26
      • "Turning a Corner"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Universal Music Group full-time

          Pros

          Friendly work environment, good benefits, customer-centric outlook, seeks employees with a genuine love of music

          Cons

          Salaries not at top of market

          Universal Music Group2019-02-18
        • "Great company! Good people."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Universal Music Group full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          For a kid out of college, they were great! They really took care of their employees and made you feel valued.

          Cons

          "Make it happen" mentality can be exhausting.

          Universal Music Group2019-02-01
        • Helpful (1)

          "Life changing experience!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Intern Marketing in New York, NY
          Recommends

          I have been working at Universal Music Group for less than a year

          Pros

          - Kind staff - Energetic, nurturing environment - Growth Opportunites

          Cons

          - I honestly have none.

          Universal Music Group2019-01-15
        Found 440 reviews