Universal Music UK Reviews | Glassdoor

Universal Music UK Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Universal Music UK CEO David Joseph
David Joseph
4 Ratings
  1. "Sr. Program Manager_ ASPEN repository for Capital Records (USA and UK) audio and and video files."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Music UK for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are motivated to get projects/products completed on time, under budget, and with little or no drama. They listen...

    Cons

    Some UMG execs neeed an IT trainiing course or two. .. Too many projects/products in the pipeline, but not enough programmers to support the deliverables and schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Train IT execs and slow down the SDLC... Bring in more programmers....

    Universal Music UK2015-05-05
  2. "Great (if young) for the first year, afterwards everything goes flat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Music UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free gig tickets Best work people Music constantly on blast Lovely rooftop All your fave artists will be at Universal

    Cons

    Middle management are fully of people who refuse to leave and so you end up stuck in your role They have no idea how to progress or reward you for your work HR is truly awful, they are on the side of the business expect no help from them They are ruthless in terminating employees People of seniority are not of the new world and do not understand that the old business model no longer works A LOT of big male egos...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to reward your employees in a way that shows they are valued. Get all management on yearly courses, keep them topped up. Stop underpaying people in the roles they are in - there's a reason why people are running to your competitors and be more diverse in management!

    Universal Music UK2019-04-10
  3. "Label Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Music UK full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Corporate culture can't often be unavoidable

    Universal Music UK2019-02-23
  4. "Great place to work in general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Music UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, generous pension, mostly nice people. Work/life balance is good, priorities placed on health and well being. Friendly culture. Approachable management.

    Cons

    As is the case with the music industry in general, Senior management could be much better balanced in terms of gender. Would like to see more opportunity to advance beyond middle management.

    Advice to Management

    Consider setting a target date for reducing the gender pay gap. Universal Music isn’t the worst in the industry on this issue according to the recently published figures, but why not be the best? Also consider raising starting salaries for junior staff.

    Universal Music UK2018-09-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kensington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Music UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally nice people Good Benefits Exciting Industry

    Cons

    Overlooked if working in a commercial role All focus is on marketing No real career development Poor Training

    Universal Music UK2018-02-19
  6. "Assistant Management Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Management Accountant in Kensington, England

    I worked at Universal Music UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free ticket allocation for shows

    Cons

    Dis-organised and unstructured environment to work in

    Universal Music UK2018-02-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great on CV, but be aware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Music UK full-time

    Pros

    great benefits personally and access to music events

    Cons

    negative competitive environment has created an atmosphere of mistrust

    Advice to Management

    communication is key!

    Universal Music UK2017-09-05
  8. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Universal Music UK full-time

    Pros

    Spent quite a few years working for the biggest record label in the world, had lots of good times and some great people and achieved a lot

    Cons

    The politics but I guess you get that everywhere. Each label is a separate business with different styles

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really to add, I learnt a lot in my time that I have been able to put to use

    Universal Music UK2017-06-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Applications developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Music UK

    Pros

    Great work environment, interesting work in data analysis, cool benefits (free products, concert tickets, parties)

    Cons

    Location of office was a bit remote

    Advice to Management

    None that I can think of, the department I worked at was great and the management listened whenever we had concerns

    Universal Music UK2017-03-22
  10. "Really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Music UK

    Pros

    Good salary ,great paraplegic to work with

    Cons

    Really enjoyed working there .No cons at all

    Advice to Management

    None

    Universal Music UK2016-10-28
Found 15 reviews