KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Universal Protection Service

Is this your company?

Universal Protection Service

Add a Review

Universal Protection Service Field Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 795 reviews

1.5
9%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Universal Protection Service CEO Steve Jones (no image)
Steve Jones
3 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Universal Protection Service and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company, Needs Better Incentive Programs

    Apr 8, 2015 - Field Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As far as security companies go, Universal was the best I worked for. They offered fair wages for the skill levels needed at various client properties and - initially - had the best supervisory ratio of any security firm in the local market. Excellent client retention ratios.

    Cons

    As with most contract security firms, the emphasis was placed on enterprise growth rather than fostering its employees. Employees were typically pigeonholed once assigned with little opportunity for advancement, particularly in the supervisory and middle management levels. Site personnel were often more successful in rising from guard to supervisor, but usually only because of industry-typical high turnover rates.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Security guard and Field Training Manager

    Sep 14, 2017 - Security Guard/Field Training Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pro comments!

    Cons

    The worst company I have ever work for and I am a person in my fifties. Every paycheck was an adventure! Sometimes I would not even get paid. And I worked my you know what off. I had to go to the labor board. Then I decided to quit too much headache and heartache

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst company to work for

    Jan 11, 2017 - Field Training Officer in Kearney, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are not really any pros for Universal.

    Cons

    The company could care less about its employees. They are more apt to put unqualified people in management positions.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a great environment

    Sep 1, 2016 - Field Training Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to know the local police officers very well.

    Cons

    Shift hours are terrible Very little family time Huge turnover rate, so you're almost always short officers Very low pay Virtually no opportunities for advancement. I was a Field Training Officer but along with the extra training and responsibilities I had, I only received an unofficial title change, no pay increase at all. Annual 15 cent (Yes, that's in cents) pay raise is always months late.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad company to work for

    Jul 5, 2016 - Field Manager in Hoover, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None, none none none none

    Cons

    Everything the place is a wrecking ball

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Much Improvement Needed

    May 18, 2016 - Field Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They usually do not care what you do, so long as the client is unaware. Tons of hours available for work, if you are a workaholic. If you have a pulse, you will probably be hired.

    Cons

    As many have mentioned, Management is probably the worst in the industry. You just need to have an associates degree and a few years of relevant experience, to be in charge of thousands of employees. If you were not a police officer or in the military, education and/or experience does little to penetrate the deep cronyism that exists in the company. Discrimination runs rampant. As a manager, I have been personally informed to no longer hire any "really old people" because they are just a "workers' compensation claim waiting to happen." This reportedly came from a Regional VP. I personally know of Sexual Harassment complaints that went without investigation, and the paper trail specifically and intentionally destroyed. You cannot raise these issues with upper management because they will simply state they investigated the allegation and could not determine whether it was true or not. After complaining about such a thing, you will never move up in the company either. Bullying is also an issue inside the company. Not from a physical standpoint, but if you are not liked you will be excluded from any information and allowed to fail at your duties. They do this so they can get rid of you, and show how great they are. The best managers quit once they realize the amount of illogical decisions being made by the company. The worst management stay, because they probably cannot work anywhere else in the capacity they have attained. Site management is rarely consulted, and rather told what to do by the incompetent office management. If site management raises an issue with the directive they are generally blacklisted and extra attention is then placed on their site. Advice to employees, be kind to your site management, they are often dealing with impossible situations created by a paralyzed and incompetent office organization. Emails do not get replied to, even when you need time sensitive information. This makes management frustrating. Employees generally cannot get a hold of office personnel or receive timely resolution of complaints. Promises made to employees are rarely kept. Information/training provided about the company to clients is faked or just not completed, at least this is the case at my branch. In defense of office management, they are working with limited staff and doing impossible tasks at times to make things run. They do drop the ball on accident, but there are many times they just don't care.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Misrepresentation & fabricated reviews

    Apr 8, 2016 - Field Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no Pro's with this company. Any review that mentions one is fabricated.

    Cons

    The company misrepresents themselves to their employees. They want you to observe and report unless it's observing that it's documented in their employee handbook that they give performance evaluations and reporting that they in fact don't! What does that tell your employees? It says we don't care about how you perform. We're not obligated to compensate you accordingly.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Universal Protection Service Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Universal Protection Service? Share Your Experiences

or