KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Universal Protection Service

Is this your company?

Universal Protection Service

Add a Review

Universal Protection Service Public Safety Officer Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 795 reviews

3.2
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Universal Protection Service CEO Steve Jones (no image)
Steve Jones
1 Rating

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Universal Protection Service and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Site Supervisor Bloomington MN

    May 3, 2016 - Public Safety Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent wage, good continuing education program. Exciting work environment. You defiantly get out of it what you put into it.

    Cons

    Shift work can be logistically challenging when time off is needed. Some less than desirable shifts Not company related cons. .Just stuff that comes with the industry

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Public Safety Security Officer

    Sep 15, 2016 - Public Safety Security Officer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free training. can pick up more shifts.

    Cons

    one sick day per 3 months of work. no vacation, personal days

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Public Safety Officer

    Sep 8, 2016 - Public Safety Dispatcher in Arlington, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They work with school schedules if you provide it in advance or early on. Switching days is a fairly smooth process if you need a specific day off. Pay is not bad starting out. They provide training for your security license.

    Cons

    The training is lacking, but they expect you to know how to do all the tasks at hand. The employee turn around time is high.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Supervisor

    Aug 31, 2016 - Public Safety Officer Supervisor in Westmoreland, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a lot of intervention with a variety of different people.

    Cons

    Many duties and responsibilities to perform for the little amount we receive in our salaries

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Dsipatcher

    Aug 4, 2016 - Public Safety Dispatcher in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff is friendly. And pay is the first highest in Security.

    Cons

    working on Friday and Saturday is mandatory.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    No good or bad

    Aug 17, 2016 - Public Safety Supervisor in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy job, nice location to work and good people at my location

    Cons

    My managers on my sight

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good for starters.

    Apr 6, 2016 - Public Safety Officer in Lakewood, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great foot in the door to start a job in security. The diverse choices they give in where you'd like to work (mall, roving...etc) really adds dimension to the job.

    Cons

    They don't pay for experience. No paid vacations; they give you a lump sum at the end of the year instead. Benefits are expensive!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Okay job

    Mar 19, 2016 - Public Safety Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent location to work at. The mall I worked was high end and (mostly) nice people, but more on that later. The other security guards were great to work with, they were professional and supportive when you needed them, this also comes from a good hiring manager. They also have flexible hours. You can work either mornings/afternoons, evenings, and overnights. The breaks are paid too. The training was adequate and there was rarely a moment where I didn't know how to do something. The nature of the job is very, as is most security jobs, walk around a mall and clear stores out. There is also discounts at certain restaurants in the mall that security officers can use. This is a good job to start a security career in.

    Cons

    The first downside to this is that it is low pay. I started at $10 an hour and got a one dollar raise 2 years later. Second, there are mandatory holidays. The 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Black Friday are blackout days, on the plus side, there mandatory holiday pay. Security guards have to stand on their feet from anywhere between 8-12 hours, so there are long shifts. As I mentioned earlier, while most of the mall employees are pretty good to work with, some of them are not. The mall employees can be very dishonest about your conduct as a security officer and the management does not have the best in house investigations. I got a number of false reports against me, which is what ultimately made me decide to quit this job. This created trust issues with my managers and other mall employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Security

    Jan 6, 2016 - Public Safety Dispatcher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The post I work has decent pay for security and the benefits are decent as well.

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not the company to work for

    Sep 19, 2014 - Public Safety Officer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can get lots of overtime because people always call out

    Cons

    They are very unorganized and you can be fired very easily. There main headquarters is in one state and the payroll is in another state so there is no human resources to go to. They mess up on your check often. They operate on favortism

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Universal Protection Service Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Universal Protection Service? Share Your Experiences

or