Find jobs for Unarmed Security Officer

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Universal Protection Service

Is this your company?

Universal Protection Service

Add a Review

Universal Protection Service Unarmed Security Officer Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 795 reviews

2.2
28%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Universal Protection Service CEO Steve Jones (no image)
Steve Jones
14 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Universal Protection Service and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Apr 2, 2021 - Unarmed Security Guard 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule that was good

    Cons

    Rover position made finding shifts difficult

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A company that could care less about there workers..

    Mar 5, 2020 - Unarmed Security Officer in Vero Beach, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You were glad when it was time to go home. There were no Pros..

    Cons

    They don't care about you. At the site I worked at you were not Security you ran around passing out towels and trying to fix things and putting the pool in order and passing out newspapers.. Yes sometimes 104 newspapers to pass out in the am... This was not a Security job... We lost the site because of another worker. They never even got in contact with me for another site. The so called office monkey came by and said this is your last night here. What???? Some flunky that I never saw before.. The former guy quit. A real good guy.. But they worked him to death. The former company ABM was a much better to work for.. Universal promised us a weeks pay after a year of work when they took over.. Never saw a penny.. A bunch of lies. My advice to everybody is to not work for this company.. Run the other way.. I am 66 now and work for a small outfit run by retired cops in my town.. Thank god they know what the hell they are doing and they care about you the worker..

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent Security Company

    Jan 16, 2019 - Unarmed Security Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Professional security environment with access to accounts at prestigious locations. Positive experience with central office personnel.

    Cons

    Not exclusive to this company, but I did experience a tendency for some people to shift blame or liability for their own errors to others.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible

    Aug 20, 2017 - Unarmed Security Guard in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Weekly pay is always great. Being apart of the union.

    Cons

    They hire anyone. Working overtime and not getting paid on time. Horrible office staff. Ghetto workers. Careless Post commanders.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Used To Be Better

    May 6, 2017 - Unarmed Security Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's fairly easy to get hired and is a good job to have to supplement a full-time job. If you do get hired and wish to make your career in this industry, the potential for advancement is good if you stick around long enough because turnover is high.

    Cons

    The company continues to purchase smaller security companies. This should be a good. However, growth is at such a pace that the staff is overworked and the quality of security officers has gone down. I also experienced errors in my paycheck on more occasions than would be normal.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't work here

    Mar 26, 2017 - Unarmed Security Officer in Kennewick, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing worth mentioning. The worst management I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    The very worst in micromanagement. Supervisors have no idea what they're doing.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Security officer

    Dec 30, 2016 - Unarmed Security Officer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was very easy to get hired

    Cons

    This company loses contracts very often so you have to move around a lot in the office does not have good communication with their employees our branch office to corporate office

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unarmed security officer

    Dec 7, 2016 - Unarmed Security Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have never done security. I like it it different

    Cons

    The pay 9hr.......we could use more pay and a little more on our raises.20 cents......

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good people, bad company. Quitting in two weeks.

    Nov 6, 2016 - Unarmed Security Officer in Richmond, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid weekly, free uniforms, holiday/overtime, opportunities for events that give higher pay. 10/hr for me to sit at a desk and do homework all night.

    Cons

    No communication (managers won't tell you what you don't ask), I've had 4 supervisors and only one actually supervised, you can be sitting at a desk for 8 hours or standing in 50-110 degrees. No benefits for a year. Year bonus is $200-400. No PTO or vacation days. Only people that were supervisors had been with company for 3+ years. A newbie is paid same as an officer that's been with company for 10 years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Security Guard unarmed

    Oct 25, 2016 - Unarmed Security Officer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My hours 5 am- 1 pm Monday-Friday. Like my job. Where I work is close to home. My boss is someon you work with not for. i have the best boss.

    Cons

    No benefits-no vacation time ( can take off at any time but not paid), this Company took over ABM who I started with had good benefits) nothing matched for retirement. Offers medical.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Universal Protection Service Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Universal Protection Service? Share Your Experiences

or